Caractéristiques de Saint Andrew

apostle simon

Caractéristiques de l'apôtre André

Certaines des caractéristiques intéressantes de l'apôtre André sont que,comme beaucoup d'entre nous, Andrew a vécu dans l'ombre de son frère plus célèbre, Simon Peter.

Les quatre évangiles identifient André comme le frère de Pierre. Le couple était originaire de Bethsaïda, une ville au nord de la mer de Galilée.
 
Andrew a conduit Pierre à Christ, puis est passé à l'arrière-plan alors que son frère bruyant est devenu un leader parmi les apôtres et l'église primitive.

Les Evangiles ne nous disent pas grand-chose sur Andrew, mais lire entre les lignes sur leCaractéristiques des 12 Apôtresrévèle l'apôtre André comme une personne qui avait soif de vérité et l'a trouvée dans l'eau vive de Jésus.

Dans la vie d'Andrew, on découvre comment un simple pêcheur a jeté ses filets sur le rivage et est devenu un remarquable pêcheur d'hommes.

Qui était Saint-André ?

Il était le frère deSaint-Pierre, également connu sous le nom de Simon bar-Jonas. Lui et Andrew partageaient le même père, donc ce dernier aurait été connu sous le nom d'Andrew bar-Jonah.

Saint Andréest régulièrement mentionné après Simon Peter, ce qui suggère qu'il était le frère cadet de Peter. Comme son frère Peter et leurs partenaires James et John, Andrew était initialement pêcheur sur la mer de Galilée.

La première caractéristique frappante d'Andrew est son nom : il n'est pas hébreu, comme on aurait pu s'y attendre, mais grec, signe d'une certaine ouverture culturelle dans sa famille qui ne peut être ignorée. Nous sommes en Galilée, où la langue et la culture grecques sont bien présentes.

Pêcheur

André était le frère de Simon Pierre et un membre de la communauté de pêcheurs dont Jésus a tiré plusieurs de ses disciples. Avec leurs partenaires, James et John, ils ont exercé leur métier de pêcheur sur le lac de Galilée avec un certain succès.

Les fouilles de Capharnaüm, le principal village de pêcheurs sur le lac de Galilée à l'époque biblique, révèlent que certaines des maisons étaient grandes, ce qui implique que certains pêcheurs pouvaient bien vivre de leur activité de pêche. La tâche d'un pêcheur à l'époque de la Bible était ardue et exigeait un engagement total. Les pêcheurs qui réussissaient étaient connus pour être des hommes fiables et diligents - de bonnes qualités pour les disciples aussi.

characteristics of apostle andrew
characteristics of apostle andrew 4

Une nouvelle vocation

Alors que Jésus marche le long du rivage de Galilée, il aperçoit André et Pierre au travail dans leur barque, jetant leur filet de pêche. Le Maître leur parle et les informe qu'il veut qu'ils changent de vocation et deviennent ses disciples.

Sans aucun doute, ils savaient tout de suite ce qu'impliquait ce défi - un mode de vie différent, des déplacements constants, des heures d'instruction - mais ils semblaient ne pas hésiter.

L'appel du Christ leur est venu dans des mots auxquels ils pouvaient facilement s'identifier : « Suivez-moi… et je vous ferai pêcheurs d'hommes. Le mot « faire » en grec est fort, indiquant que Christ leur transmettrait sa force et sa puissance spirituelles.

Un changement de chef

Avant son appel à rejoindre les disciples du Christ,Andrew était un disciple dévoué de Jean le Baptistet. Un jour, alors qu'il était en compagnie de Jean et d'un autre groupe de disciples, un charpentier de Galilée passa, et Jean le désigna comme "l'Agneau de Dieu". André et l'autre disciple ont immédiatement quitté Jean et sont allés après Jésus pour mieux le connaître.

On ne nous dit pas qui était l'autre disciple, mais nous savons que quelque chose a commencé dans le cœur d'André qui l'a préparé à l'appel direct du Christ. Il y avait eu beaucoup de grands chefs spirituels en Israël, mais aucun n'était aussi grand que Jésus : d'autres pouvaient le proclamer, mais aucun ne pouvait l'égaler.

Une aide volontaire

Alors que Jésus prêche et enseigne le peuple sur les rives de la Galilée, de grandes foules sont attirées vers lui. A cette occasion, étant éloignés de la ville la plus proche et parce que les gens ont faim, se pose le problème de leur alimentation. Philip souligne que même s'il était possible d'acheter de la nourriture, le coût serait trop élevé.

André, entendant ces paroles, amène un jeune garçon à Jésus qui a avec lui cinq petits pains et deux poissons. Jésus bénit la petite provision et, miraculeusement, suffisamment de nourriture est distribuée pour répondre aux besoins de chacun. Plus tard, lorsque certains Grecs demandent à Philippe s'ils peuvent être présentés à Jésus, il fait appel à André pour obtenir de l'aide. Nul doute qu'à cette époque, Andrew avait révélé ce qui semble être sa principale caractéristique : celle d'être un assistant volontaire.

Présente la famille

Ayant quitté Jean-Baptiste pour chercher Jésus et apprendre à le connaître plus intimement, André est tellement ravi de sa première rencontre avec le Christ qu'il s'empresse de retrouver son frère, Simon Pierre, et le présente joyeusement à Jésus. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un acte apparemment simple, cette introduction a eu un grand impact, non seulement sur Simon Peter personnellement, mais sur les âges à venir.

Simon Pierre est devenu celui à qui Christ a donné les clés du royaume, et à travers son sermon passionnant, oint par l'Esprit le jour de la Pentecôte, a ouvert ses portes à des milliers d'âmes nouvellement converties. Andrew ne savait pas quel impact cette simple introduction allait avoir.

saint andrew
characteristics of apostle andrew 5

Un bon apprenant

Jésus a passé une bonne partie de Son temps à enseigner Ses disciples et à les préparer pour leur futur ministère dans Son Église. A cette occasion, quand l'un des disciples fit remarquer à Jésus à quel point les bâtiments du Temple étaient bien construits et magnifiques, le Maître se tourna vers eux et prédit leur destruction totale.

Cette prédiction a quelque peu troublé les disciples, et quatre d'entre eux - Pierre, Jacques, Jean et André - se sont approchés du Christ en privé et lui ont demandé de leur dire précisément quand l'événement aurait lieu et quels seraient les signes qui le précéderaient. Andrew, sans aucun doute, a beaucoup appris de Jésus, non seulement en écoutant ce qu'il a dit, mais en lui posant des questions pointues.

Le lieu de prière

Après sa résurrection, Jésus a demandé à ses disciples de rester à Jérusalem et d'attendre que la puissance du Saint-Esprit descende sur eux. Maintenant que Judas est mort, les onze disciples restants, dont André, font leur chemin et plus de cent autres disciples du Christ dans leChambre haute.

They wait in prayer for ten days until, at last, on the Day of Pentecost, the promised power is given. As the Holy Spirit falls, everyone in the room is filled with the Spirit and empowered to carry out Jesus’ commission to them: “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation” (Mark 16:15, NIV).

Résumé des caractéristiques de l'apôtre André

Andrew a été le premier disciple enregistré du Christ - et sa première action en tant que disciple a été de rechercher son frère, Simon Pierre, et de l'amener à Jésus. Cela fait d'André non seulement le premier disciple, mais aussi le premier évangéliste.

Certains commentateurs se réfèrent à Andrew comme "le saint éclipsé" en ce sens qu'il semble être constamment éclipsé par son frère plus exubérant et extraverti.

Malgré cela, cependant, Andrew continue sa tâche de servir le Christ et excelle en tant que « celui qui amène les autres à Jésus ». D'abord, il a amené son frère, puis le garçon avec les pains et les poissons, et plus tard les Grecs.

Bien que la mention d'André dans les récits évangéliques soit rare par rapport à son frère Simon Pierre, il est pourtant une vie qui mérite d'être étudiée. Il n'a peut-être pas été inclus dans le cercle restreint des disciples de Jésus (Pierre, Jacques et Jean), mais c'était un saint* et un apôtre dont le caractère est digne d'admiration.

Ressources Caractéristiques de l'apôtre André

Faites défiler jusqu'à Haut

Saint Andrew Characteristics

apostle simon

Characteristics of Apostle Andrew

Some of the interesting characteristics of Apostle Andrew are that, like many of us, Andrew lived in the shadow of his more famous sibling, Simon Peter.

All four Gospels identify Andrew as Peter’s brother. The pair was from Bethsaida, a town north of the Sea of Galilee.
 
Andrew led Peter to Christ, then stepped into the background as his boisterous brother became a leader among the apostles and the early church.

  • The Gospels don’t tell us a great deal about Andrew, but reading between the lines about the Characteristics of the 12 Apostles reveals Apostle Andrew as a person who thirsted for truth and found it in the living water of Jesus.

    In the life of Andrew, we discover how a simple fisherman dropped his nets on the shore and went on to become a remarkable fisher of men.

Who was St. Andrew?

He was the brother of St. Peter, who was also known as Simon bar-Jonah. He and Andrew shared the same father, so the latter would have been known as Andrew bar-Jonah.

Saint Andrew is regularly mentioned after Simon Peter, which suggests that he was Peter’s younger brother. Like his brother Peter and their partners James and John, Andrew was initially a fisherman on the Sea of Galilee.

The first striking characteristic of Andrew is his name: It is not Hebrew, as might have been expected, but Greek, indicative of a certain cultural openness in his family that cannot be ignored. We are in Galilee, where the Greek language and culture are quite present.

Fisherman

Andrew was Simon Peter’s brother and a member of the fishing community from which Jesus drew several of His disciples. Together with their partners, James and John, they plied their fishing trade on the Lake of Galilee with some success.

Excavations at Capernaum, the main fishing village on the Lake of Galilee in Bible days, reveal that some of the houses were large—implying that some of the fishermen were able to make a good living from their fishing business. A fisherman’s task in Bible days was a strenuous one and demanded total commitment. Successful fishermen were known to be reliable and diligent men—good qualities for disciples, too.

characteristics of apostle andrew

A New Vocation

As Jesus walks along the shore of Galilee, He catches sight of Andrew and Peter at work in their boat, letting down their fishing net. The Master speaks to them and informs them that He wants them to change their vocation and become His disciples.

No doubt they knew at once what was involved in this challenge—a different lifestyle, constant traveling, hours of instruction—but they seemed not to hesitate.

Christ’s call came to them in words with which they could easily identify: “Follow me… and I will make you fishers of men.” The word ‘make’ in Greek is a strong one, indicating that Christ would impart His spiritual strength and power to them.

A Change of Leader

Before his call to join Christ’s disciples, Andrew was a devoted disciple of John the Baptist. One day, when he was in John and another disciple company, a carpenter from Galilee passed by, and John pointed Him out as “the Lamb of God.” Andrew and the other disciple immediately left John and went after Jesus to get to know Him better.

We are not told who the other disciple was, but we do know that something began in Andrew’s heart that prepared him for the direct call of Christ. There had been many great spiritual leaders in Israel, but none so great as Jesus: others could proclaim Him, but none could equal Him.

A Willing Helper

As Jesus preaches and teaches the people on the shores of Galilee, great crowds are drawn to Him. On this occasion, being some distance from the nearest town and because the people are hungry, a problem arises as to how they will be fed. Philip points out that even if it were possible to buy food, the cost would be too great.

Andrew, overhearing these words, brings a young boy to Jesus who has with him five small loaves and two fishes. Jesus blesses the small supply, and, miraculously, enough food is distributed to meet everyone’s need. Later, when some Greeks ask Philip if they can be introduced to Jesus, he appeals to Andrew for help. No doubt by this time, Andrew had revealed what seems to be his uppermost characteristic: that of being a willing helper.

Introduces the Family

Having left John the Baptist to seek Jesus and get to know Him more intimately, Andrew is so thrilled with his first encounter with Christ that he hastens to find his brother, Simon Peter, and joyfully introduces him to Jesus. Although a seemingly simple act, that introduction made a great impact, not only on Simon Peter personally but on the ages to come.

Simon Peter became the one to whom Christ gave the keys of the kingdom, and through his thrilling, Spirit-anointed sermon on the Day of Pentecost, opened its gates to thousands of newly-converted souls. Little did Andrew know what impact that simple introduction was to have.

saint andrew

A Good Learner

Jesus spent a good deal of His time teaching His disciples and preparing them for their future ministry in His Church. On this occasion, when one of the disciples remarked to Jesus how well-built and how magnificent were the Temple buildings, the Master turned to them and predicted their utter destruction.

This prediction disturbed the disciples somewhat, and four of them—Peter, James, John, and Andrew—approached Christ privately and asked Him to tell them precisely when the event would take place and what would be the signs that would precede it. Andrew, no doubt, learned a lot from Jesus, not just by listening to what He said, but by asking Him pointed questions.

The Place of Prayer

After His resurrection, Jesus instructed His disciples to remain in Jerusalem and wait for the power of the Holy Spirit to descend upon them. Now that Judas is dead, the remaining eleven disciples—one of whom is Andrew—make their way and over one hundred other followers of Christ into the Upper Room.

They wait in prayer for ten days until, at last, on the Day of Pentecost, the promised power is given. As the Holy Spirit falls, everyone in the room is filled with the Spirit and empowered to carry out Jesus’ commission to them: “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation” (Mark 16:15, NIV).

Summary Characteristics of Apostle Andrew

Andrew was the first recorded disciple of Christ—and his first action as a disciple was to seek out his brother, Simon Peter, and bring him to Jesus. This makes Andrew not just the first disciple but the first evangelist too.

Some commentators refer to Andrew as “the overshadowed saint” in that he appears to be constantly overshadowed by his more ebullient and outgoing brother.

Despite this, however, Andrew continues with his task of serving Christ and excels as “a bringer of others to Jesus.” First, he brought his brother, then the lad with the loaves and fishes, and later the Greeks.

Though the mention of Andrew in the Gospel accounts is scarce compared to his brother Simon Peter, yet he is a life worth studying. He may not have been included in the inner circle of Jesus’ disciples (Peter, James, and John), but he was a saint* and an apostle whose character is to be admired.

Resources Characteristics of Apostle Andrew

Scroll to Top Secured By miniOrange