聖詹姆斯大帝

james 413x531 1
聖詹姆斯大帝

根據新約,詹姆斯大帝,也被稱為西庇太的兒子詹姆斯或大聖詹姆斯,是耶穌的十二使徒之一。

其中一個西庇太之子聖雅各事實是根據天主教傳統,西庇太的兒子,使徒聖雅各,在西班牙傳播基督教。

他於 44 年在耶路撒冷被斬首,他的遺體後來被一艘石船運往加利西亞,運往聖地亞哥德孔波斯特拉大教堂的遺址。

守護神不是羅馬天主教獨有的,東正教、英國國教和伊斯蘭教的一些分支也有。

The patron saint of pilgrims and Spain is St James the Greater, Son of Zebedee.

聖詹姆斯大帝是其中之一耶穌基督的門徒被聖母瑪利亞的姐姐認為是他的堂兄,聖裘德撒迪厄斯.

共用一艘漁船與他的兄弟約翰、父親西庇太和伴侶西蒙。約翰和雅各是他們的門徒施洗約翰以及後來的耶穌。

當耶穌稱雅各和他的兄弟約翰為“男人的漁夫,”他們以漁民的身份離開了他們的生活。他是耶穌的門徒之一,直到他被羅馬人釘死.

lucas cranach the elder, saint james the greater, woodcut, rosenwald collection, 1952.8.219
"Lucas Cranach the Elder, Saint James the Greater, woodcut, Rosenwald Collection, 1952.8.219"

聖詹姆斯出生/起源

根據基督教神話,西庇太的聖詹姆斯之子大約在公元前 5 年出生在加利利。他的父母似乎過得很好。他的父親西庇太 (Zebedee) 是加利利海的一名漁民,可能住在伯賽大或附近,可能在卡法農 (Capharnaum),並且有一些船夫或僱工。

他的母親莎樂美(Salome)是後來跟隨基督並“將她們的物質交給他”的虔誠女性之一。

他的弟弟是使徒約翰,根據基督教傳統,他是唯一一位沒有殉道而死的使徒,並且是幾部新約聖經書卷的作者。根據教父的說法,他的兄弟與福音傳道者約翰、拔摩島的約翰和親愛的門徒是同一個人。

由於他們衝動的個性,兩兄弟都被暱稱為“Boanerges”(“雷霆之子”),並且是最早加入耶穌基督的門徒之一。

根據對觀福音書,當耶穌呼召他們跟從他時,雅各和約翰正在船上,他們的父親正在補網。

雅各是被選中的三個目睹變形(變形)、睚魯復活的女兒和客西馬尼的痛苦的人之一。

聖詹姆斯成就

St James, or St Lago as it is spelt in Spanish, is also the great military patron of Spain. However, his mission to defend the Christian Church against invaders was postponed until after his death.

在著名的克拉維霍戰役中,他意外地出現在一輛乳白色的戰馬上,揮舞著白色的旗幟,帶領基督徒走向勝利。

這種表現是為了響應士兵使用他的名字作為那天的戰斗口號“Sant lago!”於是,古城(聖地亞哥)以他的名字命名,大教堂也以他的名義建造。

saint paul the apostle church (westerville, ohio) - stained glass, arcade, saint james the greater
Saint Paul the Apostle Church (Westerville, Ohio) - stained glass, arcade, Saint James the Greater

聖詹姆斯的人生教訓

儘管雅各作為耶穌的門徒經歷了一切,他的信仰仍然搖搖欲墜 直到復活。當他和他的兄弟要求耶穌有幸在榮耀中坐在他旁邊時,耶穌只應許他們分擔他的苦難(馬可福音 10:35-45)。

They were discovering that the greatest calling of a Jesus follower is to serve others. Following Jesus Christ can lead to adversity, persecution, and even death, but the reward is eternal life with him in heaven.

聖詹姆斯遊記

一個被稱為十二人福音的偽經在第一世紀表明,當聖靈在五旬節(使徒行傳 2)降臨在使徒身上時,他們每個人都被授權說他們被呼召接觸的人的語言(例如巴別塔,但反過來)。詹姆斯講拉丁語,主要在羅馬帝國的西半部使用。

然而,直到數百年後,才有人建議詹姆斯去西班牙旅行。

一部被稱為使徒祈禱書的文本,寫於六世紀,聲稱雅各將福音傳播到西班牙,並被埋葬在西班牙西部靠近海邊的某個地方。

七世紀和八世紀的詩歌、讚美詩、傳記和評論中重複了這一斷言。在 9 世紀初,據說一顆明亮的星星將一位牧羊人帶到了加利西亞的聖詹姆斯墓,現在被稱為聖地亞哥德孔波斯特拉。

為了做到這一點,詹姆斯必須離開耶路撒冷去向西班牙傳福音,然後返回耶路撒冷在公元 44 年被處決,然後將他的遺體運回西班牙埋葬。

At the time, this legend was widely accepted, and the burial site became one of the most popular Christian pilgrimages. However, most modern scholars have found little evidence to support James’ ministry in Spain or his alleged burial there.

甚至保羅也讓它顯得不那麼可信。在羅馬書 15 章,他說,

“我一直有志向在基督不為人知的地方傳福音,免得我在別人的根基上建造”(羅馬書 15:20),

他計劃接下來去西班牙(羅馬書 15:23-24)。

沒有人把福音帶到西班牙,但保羅說,這會很奇怪,

“我更喜歡去以前沒有人傳播福音的地方,這就是為什麼我要去詹姆斯去的地方。”

大多數學者認為大詹姆斯從未到過西班牙。他在基督教運動的早期死於耶路撒冷。這次西班牙傳教之旅直到六世紀才被再次提及,而他的墓地的發現簡直太夢幻了。儘管起源於神話,這種被稱為 Camino de Santiago 的朝聖之旅直到今天仍然很受歡迎。

lucas cranach the elder, saint james the greater
Lucas Cranach the Elder, Saint James the Greater

聖雅各與耶穌

雅各是尋求權力和權威的使徒之一,耶穌責備他們:

“西庇太的兒子雅各和約翰來見他,說:‘夫子,我們願意你為我們作什麼,就為我們作什麼。”他對他們說:“你們要我為你們做什麼?”他們對他說:“在你的榮耀中給我們一個座位,一個在你的右手邊,一個在你的左邊。” (馬太福音 10:35-40)

耶穌利用這個機會重申了他的教訓,一個想在神的國度裡成為“偉大”的人必須學習成為地球上“最小”的人,為所有其他人服務,把他們的需要和願望放在自己的前面。

不僅雅各和約翰因追求榮耀而受到懲罰,其餘的門徒也因嫉妒而受到懲罰。

這是聖經中少數幾次引用耶穌對政治權力有很多話要說的情況之一。他大部分時間都專注於宗教問題。在第 8 章中,他警告不要被“法利賽人的酵……和希律的酵”引誘,但在談到具體問題時,他始終專注於法利賽人的問題。

st. james, son of zebedee
聖詹姆斯雕像,西庇太之子

聖詹姆斯被捕

James was not the first Christian martyr, as Stephen was, who was stoned to death in Acts 7:54-60. James died as a result of being beheaded, as recorded in the Book of Acts (12:1-3): “About that time, Herod the king laid violent hands on some of the church’s members.” He killed James, John’s brother, with the sword, and when he saw that it pleased the Jews, he arrested Peter as well.

那是在無酵餅時期。”結果,使徒雅各是第一個殉道的人。諷刺的是,只有一位使徒為他的信仰逃脫了死亡,那就是他的兄弟,使徒約翰。

聖詹姆斯之死

殉道者和懺悔者是兩種類型的聖人。基督徒殉道者是因為他或她的基督教信仰而被處決的人。懺悔者是因自然原因死亡的人。

公元 44 年,希律王亞基帕一世以異端的罪名逮捕了雅各並斬首,因為他在危險的旅程中返回耶路撒冷以示敬意。儘管聖詹姆斯死在耶路撒冷,但他的骨灰被送回了他心愛的加利西亞,並在他們之上建造了一座教堂。這是聖地亞哥德孔波斯特拉大教堂的開始,據說聖詹姆斯的遺體直到今天都被埋葬在那裡。

artus wolffort saint james the greater reading e1592421579565
聖詹姆斯大帝

聖詹姆斯鑰匙外賣

因為他是最直言不諱的使徒之一,並且鑑於希律王殺了雅各,這可能是雅各大膽為基督說話並反對希律王眾所周知的邪惡的傾向。無論如何,使徒雅各完全被聖靈的能力改變了。

他衝動、直言不諱、容易發怒、非常衝動,一度有所謂的“頭髮扳機”,但就像約翰一樣,被稱為“耶穌所愛的使徒”(約翰福音13:23) ,他在基督裡成為一個新造的人(哥林多前書 5:17)並且永遠改變了,今天是 12 位使徒之一,他們將在上帝即將到來的國度中統治或審判以色列的 12 個支派(馬太福音 19:28)。那是使徒,雅各。

西庇太之子聖雅各布概要

雅各是最初的十二個門徒之一。當耶穌召喚兄弟時,雅各和約翰和他們的父親西庇太正在加利利海上打漁。他們立即離開了他們的父親和他們的生意,跟隨年輕的拉比。因為詹姆斯總是最先被提及,他很可能是兩兄弟中的長者。

耶穌邀請雅各、約翰和彼得三次見證了其他人從未見過的事件:睚魯的女兒從死裡復活(馬可福音 5:37-47)、變形(馬太福音 17:1-3)以及耶穌在客西馬尼園的痛苦(馬太福音 26:36-37)。

james the greater apostle hajdudorog frame
James the Greater Apostle Hajdudorog Frame

但詹姆斯並不甘於犯錯。當一個撒瑪利亞村莊拒絕耶穌時,他和約翰希望從天上召喚火。因此,他們被稱為“Boanerges”或“雷霆之子”。雅各和約翰的母親要求耶穌給她兒子在他的國度中的特殊職位,她走得太遠了。

由於他對耶穌的忠誠,雅各是十二使徒中第一個殉道的。在猶太國王希律亞基帕一世的命令下,他在公元 44 年左右被刀劍殺死,這是對早期教會普遍迫害的一部分。

在新約中,還有另外兩個人叫雅各:雅各,亞耳腓的兒子,基督的另一位揀選使徒,雅各,主的兄弟,耶路撒冷教會的領袖,雅各書的作者。

資源 西庇太的聖雅各之子

滾動到頂部 由 miniOrange 保護

St. James the Greater

According to the New Testament, James the Great, also known as James son of Zebedee or Saint James the Greater, was one of Jesus’ Twelve Apostles.

Saint James Logo

Son of Zebedee Saint James

Saint James the Greater
Saint James Son of Zebedee the Greater

One of the Saint James Son of Zebedee Facts is that according to Catholic tradition, the son of Zebedee, the Apostle Saint James, spread Christianity in Spain.

He was beheaded in Jerusalem in 44, and his remains were later transported to Galicia in a stone boat to the site of Santiago de Compostela Cathedral.

Patron saints are not unique to Roman Catholicism, but also Eastern Orthodoxy, Anglicanism, and some branches of Islam.

The patron saint of pilgrims and Spain is St James, Son of Zebedee.

St James the Greater was one of Jesus Christ’s disciples and was thought to be his cousin by the Virgin Mary’s sister, and the brother of St Jude Thaddeus.

He shared a fishing boat with his brother John, father Zebedee, and partner Simon. John and James were disciples of John the Baptist and, later, of Jesus.

When Jesus called James and his brother John to be “fishers of men,” they left their lives as fishermen. He was one of Jesus’ disciples until he was crucified by the Romans.

Saint James Birth/Origins

img Saint James the Greater1
St James the Greater

According to Christian myth, Saint James Son of Zebedee was born in Galilee around the year 5 BC. His parents appear to have been well-to-do. His father, Zebedee, was a Sea of Galilee fisherman who probably lived in or near Bethsaida, possibly in Capharnaum, and had some boatmen or hired men.

His mother, Salome, was one of the pious women who later followed Christ and “ministered to him of their substance.”

His brother was John the Apostle, who, according to Christian tradition, was the only Apostle who did not die as a martyr and is the author of several New Testament books. According to the Church Fathers, his brother is the same person as John the Evangelist, John of Patmos, and the Beloved Disciple.

Because of their impulsive personalities, both brothers were nicknamed “Boanerges” (“Sons of Thunder”) and were among the first disciples to join Jesus Christ.

According to the Synoptic Gospels, James and John were in a boat with their father mending their nets when Jesus called them to follow him.

James was one of the chosen three who witnessed the Transfiguration (metamorphosis), the resurrected daughter of Jairus, and the agony in Gethsemani.

St. James Achievements

St James, or St Lago as it is spelled in Spanish, is also the great military patron of Spain. However, his mission to defend the Christian Church against invaders was postponed until after his death.

During the famous battle of Clavijo, he appeared unexpectedly on a milk-white charger, waving a white standard and leading the Christians to victory.

This manifestation occurred in response to the soldiers’ use of his name as the battle cry on that particular day, “Sant lago!” As a result, the ancient city (Santiago) was named after him, and the cathedral was built in his honor.

Life Lessons of St James

Despite everything James went through as a disciple of Jesus, his faith remained shaky until the resurrection. When he and his brother asked Jesus for the honor of sitting beside him in glory, Jesus only promised them a share of his suffering (Mark 10:35–45).

They were discovering that the greatest calling of a Jesus follower is to serve others. Following Jesus Christ can lead to adversity, persecution, and even death, but the reward is eternal life with him in heaven.

Saint James Travels

An apocryphal text known as The Gospel of the Twelve suggested in the first century that when the Holy Spirit descended on the apostles at Pentecost (Acts 2), they were each empowered to speak the language of the people they were called to reach (like the Tower of Babel, but in reverse). James spoke Latin, which was primarily spoken in the Roman Empire’s western half.

saint james the greater 08
Saint James the Greater

However, it wasn’t until hundreds of years later that someone suggested James travel to Spain.

A text known as the Breviary of the Apostles, written in the sixth century, claimed that James spread the gospel to Spain and was buried somewhere near the sea, west of Spain.

This assertion was repeated in poems, hymns, biographies, and commentaries in the seventh and eighth centuries. In the early ninth century, a bright star is said to have guided a shepherd to Saint James’ tomb in Galicia, in what is now known as Santiago de Compostela.

To accomplish this, James would have had to leave Jerusalem to evangelize Spain, then return to Jerusalem to be executed in 44 AD, and then have his remains transported back to Spain to be buried.

At the time, this legend was widely accepted, and the burial site

became one of the most popular Christian pilgrimages. However, most modern scholars have found little evidence to support James’ ministry in Spain or his alleged burial there.

Even Paul makes it appear less credible. In Romans 15, he says,

“It has always been my ambition to preach the gospel where Christ was unknown so that I would not be building on someone else’s foundation” (Romans 15:20),

and he plans to go to Spain next (Romans 15:23–24).

Nobody has taken the gospel to Spain, but it would be strange for Paul to say,

“I prefer to go where nobody has spread the gospel before, which is why I’m going where James went.”

The majority of scholars believe James the Greater never made it to Spain. He died in Jerusalem, early in the Christian movement. This Spanish missionary journey was not mentioned again until the sixth century, and the discovery of his burial site was simply too fantastical. Despite its mythical origins, this pilgrimage, known as the Camino de Santiago, has remained popular to this day.

St. James with Jesus

James was one of the apostles who sought power and authority over the others, which Jesus chastised:

“And Zebedee’s sons, James and John, come to him, saying, “Master, we would that thou shouldest do for us whatever we shall desire.” And he said to them, “What do you want me to do for you?” They said to him, “Grant us a seat in thy glory, one on thy right hand, and the other on thy left.” (Matthew 10:35-40)

Jesus uses this occasion to reiterate his lesson about how a person who wants to be “great” in God’s kingdom must learn to be the “least” here on earth, serving all others and putting their needs and desires ahead of one’s own.
Not only are James and John chastised for seeking their glory, but the rest of the disciples are also chastised for being jealous of this.

This is one of the few times in the Bible when Jesus is quoted as having a lot to say about political power. He focuses on religious issues the majority of the time. In chapter 8, he warned against being tempted by the “leaven of the Pharisees…and Herod’s leaven,” but when it comes to specifics, he has always focused on the Pharisees’ problems.

St. James, Son of Zebedee
Statue of Saint James, Son of Zebedee

Saint James Arrest

James was not the first Christian martyr, as Stephen was, who was stoned to death in Acts 7:54-60. James died as a result of being beheaded, as recorded in the Book of Acts (12:1-3): “About that time, Herod the king laid violent hands on some of the church’s members.” He killed James, John’s brother, with the sword, and when he saw that it pleased the Jews, he arrested Peter as well.

This was during the Unleavened Bread period.” As a result, the Apostle James was the first to die as a martyr. Only one apostle, ironically, escaped death for his faith, and that was his brother, the Apostle John.

The Death of Saint James

Martyrs and confessors are the two types of saints. A Christian martyr is someone who is executed for his or her Christian beliefs. Confessors are people who died as a result of natural causes.

In 44 AD, King Herod Agrippa I captured and beheaded James for heresy after he made the perilous journey back to Jerusalem to pay his respects. Even though Saint James died in Jerusalem, his ashes were returned to his beloved Galicia, and a church was built over them. This was the beginning of Santiago de Compostela’s cathedral, and the body of St. James is said to be buried there to this day.

Note: The death of the Apostles is written in “How did the Apostles Die?

Artus Wolffort Saint James the Greater reading e1592421579565
Saint James the Greater

Saint James Key Takeaway

Because he was one of the most outspoken apostles, and given that King Herod killed James, it could have been James’ proclivity to speak boldly for Christ and speak against the evil that King Herod was well known for. In any case, the Apostle James was completely transformed by the power of the Holy Spirit.

He was impulsive, outspoken, easily provoked to anger, and highly impulsive, and had a so-called “hair trigger” at one time, but like John, who became known as “the apostle whom Jesus loved” (John 13:23), he became a new creation in Christ (2 Cor 5:17) and was forever changed, and today is one of the 12 apostles who will rule or judge the 12 tribes of Israel in God’s coming kingdom (Matt 19:28). That was the Apostle, James.

Saint James Son of Zebedee Summary

James was one of the first twelve disciples. When Jesus summoned the brothers, James and John were fishermen on the Sea of Galilee with their father Zebedee. They left their father and their business right away to follow the young rabbi. Because James is always mentioned first, he was most likely the older of the two brothers.

Jesus invited James, John, and Peter three times to witness events that no one else witnessed: the raising of Jairus’ daughter from the dead (Mark 5:37-47), the transfiguration (Matthew 17:1-3), and Jesus’ agony in the Garden of Gethsemane (Matthew 26:36-37).

But James wasn’t above making blunders. When a Samaritan village rejected Jesus, he and John wished to summon fire from heaven. As a result, they were dubbed “Boanerges,” or “son of thunder.” The mother of James and John went too far when she asked Jesus to give her sons special positions in his kingdom.

Because of his devotion to Jesus, James was the first of the twelve apostles to be martyred. On the order of King Herod Agrippa I of Judea, he was killed with the sword around 44 A.D., as part of general persecution of the early church.

In the New Testament, there are two other men named James: James, the son of Alphaeus, another of Christ’s chosen apostles, and James, the brother of the Lord, a leader in the Jerusalem church and author of the book of James.

Resources Saint James Son of Zebedee

https://followthecamino.com/en/blog/history-of-the-apostle-saint-james/
https://www.learnreligions.com/profile-of-apostle-james-701062
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_the_Great#:~:text=According%20to%20Catholic%20tradition%2C%20Apostle,stands%20Santiago%20de%20Compostela%20Cathedral.
https://overviewbible.com/saint-james/
https://www.ultreyatours.com/blog/the-legend-of-the-apostle-saint-james-life-burial/
https://www.learnreligions.com/james-the-apostle-profile-and-biography-248809

Scroll to Top Secured By miniOrange