Les apôtres ont leur propre jour de fête

Les fêtes des apôtres sont des jours réservés pour la fête en l'honneur des 12 apôtres de Jésus. La fête des Apôtres de la Synaxe est appelée la Synaxe des Saints Apôtres car elle suit la Fête des Saints Pierre et Paul le 29 juin.

mark 161518
The Feast of the Apostles 9

Dans la pratique liturgique orthodoxe, les fêtes cruciales sont observées lors d'une autre fête d'anniversaire d'un saint ou de saints liée au dîner de cérémonie. Par exemple, le 6 janvier, nous nous réjouissons de la Fête de la Théophanie (Epiphanie) ; le 7 janvier, nous nous réjouissons de la fête de Saint-Jean-Baptiste. Le 25 mars, nous nous réjouissons de la fête de l'Annonciation ; le 26 mars, nous nous réjouissons de la fête de l'archange Gabriel.

Ces apôtres ont observé le Christ pendant qu'il voyageait et ont été des témoins oculaires de ses diverses merveilles. Après l'Ascension de Jésus plus bas au ciel, ils ont persévéré dans ses peintures de rachat de l'humanité du péché. En réalité, lors de l'Ascension, Jésus a commandé aux apôtres de sortir et de faire des disciples de tous les lieux internationaux par le baptême et de former des lieux internationaux tout ce qu'ils avaient trouvé et tout ce qu'Il leur avait commandé. Il leur a permis d'atteindre qu'il leur a conféré le Saint-Esprit (à la Pentecôte) alors qu'ils voyageaient vers des terres éloignées.

Chronologie de la Fête des Apôtres

La chronologie ci-dessous montre les jours de fête célébrés par le christianisme occidental, mais nous avons également ajouté le christianisme oriental et quelques autres faits importants.

Saint Jacques le moins

01 mai – Communion anglicane
03 mai – Église catholique romaine
09 octobre – Église orthodoxe orientale

1 mai

Saint Philippe

01 mai - Calendrier général romain 1954, Communion anglicane, Vieux-catholiques, Église évangélique luthérienne d'Amérique, Église luthérienne-Synode du Missouri
03 mai – Christianisme occidental
11 mai – Calendrier général romain 1960
14 novembre – Christianisme oriental
03 mai

Saint Matthias

24 février – (les années bissextiles 25 février) (calendrier romain général d'avant 1970, orthodoxie de rite occidental, communion anglicane, église épiscopale, certains endroits dans l'église luthérienne)
14 mai – (Église catholique romaine, certains endroits dans la communion anglicane et l'Église luthérienne)
09 août – Église orthodoxe orientale
14 mai

Saint Pierre

29 juin Christianisme occidental et oriental
Fête de la Chaire de Saint Pierre est célébrée le 18 janvier (Rome) et le 22 février (Antioche)
18 novembre – Mémorial de la Dédicace des basiliques Saint-Pierre et Saint-Paul
29 juin

Saint Thomas

03 juillet – Église catholique latine, Église catholique libérale, Communion anglicane, Malankara orthodoxe, Église syrienne Malankara Mar Thoma, Église Syro Malabar, Église orientale des croyants, syriaque catholique
06 octobre – Dimanche après Pâques Dimanche Thomas – Orthodoxe oriental
21 décembre – Communion anglicane, église hispanique
03 juillet

Saint Jacques le Majeur

30 avril – Christianisme oriental
25 juillet – Christianisme occidental
22 octobre – est commémoré par l'Église orthodoxe
30 décembre – Église hispanique
25 juillet

Saint Batholomée

24 août – Christianisme occidental
11 juin – Christianisme oriental
24 août

Saint Matthieu

21 septembre – Christianisme occidental
16 novembre – Christianisme oriental
21 septembre

Saint Jude

28 octobre – Christianisme occidental
19 juin et 21 août Christianisme oriental
28 octobre

Saint-Simon

28 octobre – Christianisme occidental
19 juin – Christianisme oriental
01 juillet (liturgie hispanique médiévale attestée par des sources de l'époque, comme l'Antiphonaire de León)
28 octobre

Saint André

30 novembre – Christianisme occidental et oriental
30 novembre

Saint Jean

27 décembre – Christianisme occidental
8 mai et 26 septembre – Église orthodoxe orientale
27 décembre

Dès le début, le pouvoir des Apôtres à l'intérieur de l'Église était évident. Leurs capacités leur ont été conférées par Christ lui-même. Ils prêchaient fort et agissaient à sa place, instruisant et parlant « à l'intérieur du Saint-Esprit ». Ils n'ont pas d'équivalent dans la vénération de l'Église pour eux, à l'exception de la Theotokos. Ils ont tous un jour du souvenir, et ils ont une célébration commune le 30 juin, un banquet cérémonial dont la signification est démontrée par le fait que ses kilomètres ont été précédés d'un mois de jeûne.

feast of the apostles
The Feast of the Apostles 10

Le jeûne des apôtres

La saison du Carême en l'honneur des 12 apôtres peut parfois être difficile car il s'agit d'une "saison courbe" en ce sens qu'elle se termine normalement à une date fixe (29 juin) mais commence le lundi après la Toussaint, qui est un jour mobile tous les jours. année dépend principalement entièrement de la date de Pâques. Lorsque Pâques se situe généralement entre la mi-avril et la fin avril, le Carême des apôtres ne dure que quelques jours de plus. Lorsque Pâques tombe début avril, comme cette année-là, le Carême des Apôtres est prolongé.

Les fidèles sont priés de regarder les mêmes vieux repas, l'abstinence, la prière multipliée et le principe directeur de l'aumône qu'avec les saisons de jeûne opposées de l'année. Le Carême des Apôtres représente la première partie de la saison du Carême de Noël (15 novembre-12 décembre) en ce sens que les mariages sont autorisés. Le principe directeur sur les repas contraints est le jeûne « plus léger » dans la mesure où les mercredis et vendredis les plus efficaces sont des jours rapides stricts, et l'observance de la Nativité de Jean-Baptiste (24 juin) est généralement un rapide doux (le poisson est autorisé) quel que soit le jour où il tombe.

Amusons-nous dans le ministère et découvrons la fête des apôtres, ces 12 hommes formidables qui ont commencé le déploiement du christianisme dans certains coins éloignés de la terre. Gardons à l'esprit leur sacrifice à travers notre sacrifice et notre espace dans les jours préparatoires précédents. On nous appelle à l'attention sur leur dévouement et leur dévotion aux commandements du Seigneur.

Fête de Saint Jacques le Majeur

30 avril ; Christianisme oriental

25 juillet ; Christianisme occidental

Jacques, fils de Zébédée (mort en 44 après JC), était l'un des douze apôtres de Jésus et est souvent considéré comme le premier à être assassiné. Il était le fils de Zébédée et de Salomé, ainsi que le frère de Jean l'Apôtre. Pour le distinguer de Jacques, fils d'Alphée, et de Jacques, frère de Jésus, il est parfois connu sous le nom de Jacques le Majeur ou Jacques le Grand (Jacques le Juste). James, le fils de Zébédée, est le saint patron des Espagnols et est parfois appelé Santiago.

Fête de la Saint Simon

19 juin; Christianisme oriental

28 octobre ; Christianisme occidental

Simon le Zélote (Actes 1:13), Simon le Zélote (Luc 6:15), Simon Kananaios (Matthieu 10:4) ou Simon Cananeus (Marc 3:18) était l'un des apôtres les plus obscurs de Jésus. Simon est fréquemment identifié avec saint Jude comme un couple évangéliste ; ils partagent leur jour de fête le 28 octobre dans la chrétienté occidentale. Selon la croyance populaire, après avoir prêché en Égypte, Simon a rejoint Jude en Perse, en Arménie, ou à Beyrouth, au Liban, où tous deux ont été assassinés en 65 après JC.

Le produit suivant a un lien d'affiliation. Nous pouvons recevoir une commission pour les achats effectués via ce lien.

saint simon the cananite tapestry 16.5x11 1

Tapisserie de Saint Simon le Cananéen

This Saint Simon the Canaanite tapestry is a beautiful, intricately designed piece that would be perfect for any home.

It is a work of art that takes your breath away.

Jacquard woven and finished by hand, this tapestry is hand-woven in Italy with only the finest and the highest quality materials.

This tapestry is an heirloom-quality piece you’ll be proud to own.

At 38.5 cm wide and 42 cm high or 15.16 inches by 16.54 inches, it’s the perfect size for any room and would make a stunning addition to any wall.

We might receive a commission when the Saint Simon tapestry is purchased through the following affiiate link.

Fête de la Saint Pierre

29e Juin; Christianisme oriental

01 août ; Christianisme occidental

Anciennement connu sous le nom de « Simon », Notre Seigneur l'appelait « Kepha » ou « Cephas » ; prêché à Antioche, Pont, Galatie, Cappadoce et Asie Mineure, Rome; a dirigé l'Église romaine (était le premier pape); martyrisé la tête en bas à Rome, Italie; reliques à la basilique Saint-Pierre au Vatican. Les symboles incluent les clés, une croix latine à l'envers et un livre. 29 juin (fête de la Saint-Paul) ; 1er août (Chaînes de Saint-Pierre).

Fête de la Saint Jean

08 mai ; Christianisme oriental

27 décembre ; Christianisme occidental

Lui et son frère (Jacques le Majeur) ont été surnommés « Sons of Thunder » (Boanerges) par Jésus, un fils de Zébédée ; disciple préféré de Jésus ; évangéliste; prêché en Asie Mineure (Éphèse). le symbole de Saint-Jean comprend un calice, un aigle, un serpent, une épée et un chaudron.

Fête de la Saint Jude

19 juin et 21 août ; Christianisme oriental

28 octobre ; Christianisme occidental

Jude était l'un des douze apôtres de Jésus, également connu sous le nom de Judas Thaddée. Il est communément connu sous le nom de Thaddeus, bien qu'il soit également connu sous le nom de Jude de Jacques, Jude Thaddée, Judas Thaddée ou Lebbée. Il est communément confondu avec le frère de Jésus, Jude, bien qu'il soit distinct de Judas Iscariote, l'apôtre qui a trahi Jésus avant son exécution. Saint Jude a été assassiné à Beyrouth, dans la province romaine de Syrie, en 65 après JC, avec l'apôtre Simon le Zélote, avec qui il est communément identifié. La hache qu'il est communément représentée sur les photos reflète la méthode par laquelle il a été assassiné.

Leurs actes et leur martyre, selon le récit de la Légende dorée des saints, ont été enregistrés dans un Actes de Simon et Jude, qui faisait partie de la collection de passions et de légendes traditionnellement associées au légendaire Abdias, évêque de Babylone, et aurait été traduit en latin par son disciple Tropaeus Africanus. Des pèlerins sont venus sur sa tombe pour prier après son martyre, et beaucoup d'entre eux ont fait l'expérience des grandes intercessions de saint Jude. En conséquence, il est connu sous le nom de « le saint des désespérés et des désespérés ». Sainte Brigitte de Suède et Saint Bernard ont tous deux eu des visions de Dieu leur demandant d'embrasser Saint Jude comme 'Le saint patron de l'impossible« .

L'Ordre des Prêcheurs (généralement connu sous le nom de Dominicains) a commencé à fonctionner dans l'Arménie moderne peu après sa fondation en 1216. Saint Jude était vénéré par les chrétiens catholiques et orthodoxes de la région. Cela a duré jusqu'au 18ème siècle lorsque la persécution a chassé les chrétiens de la région. La dévotion à saint Jude refait véritablement surface au XIXe siècle, d'abord en Italie et en Espagne, puis en Amérique du Sud, et finalement aux États-Unis (en commençant dans la région de Chicago) grâce à l'influence des clarétains et des dominicains dans les années 1920.

Fête de la Saint Barthélemy

11e Juin; Christianisme oriental

24 août ; Christianisme occidental

Saint-Barthélemy prêché en Inde, en Mésopotamie, en Perse, en Égypte, en Arménie, en Lycaonie, en Phrygie, sur les rives de la mer Noire. Il a été décapité ou écorché vif et crucifié, la tête en bas à Albanopolis en Arménie ; reliques à Saint-Barthélemy-in-the-Island à Rome, Italie. Symboles : couteau de tanneur ; peau écorchée.

Fête de la Saint Matthias

24 février ; (les années bissextiles le 25 février) (Calendrier romain général d'avant 1970, Orthodoxie de rite occidental, Communion anglicane, Église épiscopale, certains endroits dans l'Église luthérienne)

14 mai ; Église catholique romaine, communion anglicane et Église luthérienne)

09 août ; Christianisme oriental

Les disciples sont restés en prière pendant neuf jours entre l'ascension de Jésus et le jour de la Pentecôte. Pendant ce temps, Pierre leur rappela que la désertion et la mort de Judas avaient laissé un trou dans la compagnie des Douze. Pierre a suggéré aux disciples réunis de choisir deux personnes pour remplacer Judas. Ils ont choisi Joseph, également connu sous le nom de Barabbas (surnommé Justus), et Matthias. Selon Actes, Matthias était avec Jésus depuis son baptême par Jean jusqu'à son ascension. Les disciples ont prié, puis tiré au sort, et l'apôtre Matthias' le sort a été tiré. Ainsi, il devint l'un des onze apôtres.

Il n'y a aucune mention d'un Matthias dans les listes des trois évangiles synoptiques des disciples ou disciples de Jésus. Il était un apôtre exceptionnel, selon la tradition, mais nous ne savons pas grand-chose d'autre sur lui.

Saint Matthias semble un exemple approprié aux chrétiens de celui dont la fidèle compagnie avec Jésus le qualifie pour être un témoin approprié de la résurrection et dont le service est méconnu et méconnu.

Fête de la Saint Jacques le moins

11 mai ; Christianisme occidental

09 août ; Christianisme oriental

"Jacques le Juste" ou "Jacques le Jeuner" ; fils d'Alphée (Cléophas) ​​et « frère du Seigneur » ; Église de l'évêque de Jérusalem ; écrivain épître; tués par des Juifs en étant jetés du Temple et matraqués à mort. Symboles : massue de foulon ; livre; Moulin à vent.

Fête de la Saint Philippe

11 mai ; Christianisme occidental

09 octobre ; Christianisme oriental

Saint Philippe a prêché à Hiérapolis en Asie et avait ses reliques à l'église des Dodici Apostoli à Rome, en Italie. le symbole de Saint Philippe est un panier de pains et une croix en forme de T.

Fête de la Saint Matthieu

21 septembre ; Christianisme occidental

16 novembre ; Christianisme oriental

Les églises catholique romaine, orthodoxe orientale, luthérienne et anglicane considèrent Matthieu comme un saint. En Occident, sa fête est commémorée le 21 septembre. Matthieu était le fils d'Alphée, un Galiléen du 1er siècle (né en Galilée, qui ne faisait pas partie de la Judée). Il aurait parlé couramment l'araméen et le grec en tant que collecteur d'impôts. Ses contemporains juifs l'auraient méprisé pour avoir apparemment coopéré avec les envahisseurs romains.

Matthieu a accueilli Jésus dans sa maison pour un festin après avoir reçu son appel. Les scribes et les pharisiens ont été scandalisés lorsqu'ils ont vu Jésus dîner avec des collecteurs d'impôts et des pécheurs. « Je ne suis pas venu appeler les justes, mais les pécheurs à la repentance », a dit Jésus. Luc 5:32 (Matthieu 2:17) Selon le Nouveau Testament, il était un disciple de Jésus qui a été témoin de sa résurrection et de son ascension. Les disciples se sont ensuite enfuis dans une chambre plus élevée à Jérusalem (Actes 1:10-14). Les disciples restèrent dans et autour de Jérusalem, déclarant que Jésus était le Messie qui avait été prophétisé.

Fête de la Saint Thomas

03 juillet ; Christianisme oriental

21 décembre ; Christianisme occidental

Selon le Nouveau Testament, l'apôtre Thomas était l'un des douze apôtres de Jésus-Christ. Il est connu familièrement comme Douter Thomas parce qu'il a d'abord douté de la résurrection de Jésus, suivie de sa profession de foi, « Mon Seigneur et mon Dieu », en voyant le corps blessé de Jésus.

Il a l'habitude de voyager en dehors de l'Empire romain pour prêcher l'Évangile, allant jusqu'au Tamilakam, au Tamil Nadu en Inde et au Kerala. Thomas a atterri à Muziris vers 50 CE (aujourd'hui North Paravur et Kodungalloor au Kerala, en Inde). Il baptisa de nombreux individus, donnant naissance aux chrétiens de Saint Thomas, également connus sous le nom de Mar Thomas Nazranis.

Après sa mort, les restes présumés de Saint Thomas l'Apôtre ont été enterrés jusqu'en Mésopotamie au 3ème siècle et ont ensuite été déplacés dans de nombreux endroits. Certaines des reliques ont été transportées dans les Abruzzes à Ortona, en Italie, en 1258 et ont depuis été conservées dans l'église de Saint Thomas l'Apôtre. Il est souvent considéré comme le saint patron de l'Inde.

saint thomas the apostle 16x12 1

Tapisserie de Saint Thomas l'Apôtre


Saint Thomas l'Apôtre 16×12″.

Tapisserie tissée jacquard finie à la main et entièrement fabriquée en Italie.

POIDS D'EXPÉDITION : 0,2 Kg
MATIÈRES : 45 % coton, 45 % polyester, 10 % lurex
ORIGINE : Italie

LARGEUR 28,5 cm
HAUTEUR 43 cm

LARGEUR 11,22 po
HAUTEUR 16,93 po

We might receive a commission when you buy the Saint Thomas Tapestry through following affiliate link.

Fête de la Saint André

30 novembre ; Christianisme occidental

13 décembre ; Christianisme oriental

Saint-André est né à Bethsaïda, en Galilée, et a travaillé comme pêcheur avant de devenir un disciple de Jean-Baptiste. Il amena Jésus à son frère Pierre, déclarant : « Nous avons découvert le Messie. Bien qu'il soit désormais éclipsé par son frère, Andrew apparaît comme un gagneur d'âmes dans les évangiles. Après la Pentecôte, André a commencé l'apostolat à une échelle beaucoup plus large et il aurait été crucifié sur une croix en forme de « X » à Patras, dans le sud de la Grèce. Ce type de croix est connu sous le nom de « St. Croix d'André » pendant des siècles.

Judas Iscariote

Le nom « Judas » est une version grecque du nom hébreu Judah (en hébreu pour « Dieu est honoré »), qui était un nom très populaire pour les hommes juifs au premier siècle de notre ère en raison de la célèbre figure Judas Maccabeus. [En conséquence, il y a d'innombrables autres personnes avec ce nom répertoriées dans tout le Nouveau Testament. Judas Iscariot est le seul apôtre appelé « Judas » dans l'Évangile de Marc 3:13-19, le plus ancien de tous les évangiles, publié au milieu des années 60 ou au début des années 70 après JC. Judas Iscariote trahi notre Seigneur et s'est par la suite suicidé, selon les rapports. Matthias (fête de la Saint-Matthias, 24 févriere) a pris sa position lorsqu'il s'est suicidé.

Conclusion Fête des Apôtres

La Synaxe des douze apôtres glorieux et très louables de Jésus-Christ semble être une première fête. L'Église se souvient de chacun des douze apôtres à différents moments de l'année et a créé un souvenir général pour chacun d'eux le lendemain de la commémoration du Glorieux et du Premier rang parmi les Apôtres Pierre et Paul.

Chacun des Douze est commémoré un jour différent du calendrier de l'Église. Cependant, dans sa sagesse, l'Église a également institué un souvenir communautaire des douze saints apôtres. Cela est dû au fait que les douze apôtres remplissent la mission du Seigneur d'« Aller… faites de tous les pays des disciples, les baptisant au nom du Père, du Fils et du Saint-Esprit ».

Ressources Fête des Apôtres

Faites défiler vers le haut
Sécurisé par miniOrange

The Apostles have their own Feast Day

Feast of the apostles are days set aside for feasting in honour of the 12 apostles of Jesus. Feast of the Synaxis Apostles is referred to as the Synaxis of the Holy Apostles as it follows the Feast of Saints Peter and Paul on June 29.

mark 161518
the feast of the apostles 3

In Orthodox liturgical practice, crucial feasts are observed through a further birthday party of a saint or saints related to the ceremonial dinner. For example, on January 6, we rejoice in the Feast of Theophany (Epiphany); on January 7, we rejoice in the Feast of St. John the Baptist. On March 25, we rejoice in the Feast of the Annunciation; on March 26, we rejoice in the Feast of the Archangel Gabriel.

These apostles observed Christ as He traveled and have been eyewitnesses to His several wonders. After the Ascension of Jesus lower back to heaven, they persevered His paintings of redeeming mankind from sin. In reality, on the Ascension, Jesus commanded the apostles to exit and make disciples of all international locations thru baptism and to train international locations all that that they’d found and all that He commanded of them. He enabled them to reach that he bestowed the Holy Spirit upon them (at Pentecost) as they traveled to remote lands.

The Feast Day of the Apostles Timeline

The timeline below shows the feast days celebrated by Western Christianity however we have also added Eastern Christianity and a few other important facts.

Saint James the Less

01 May – Anglican Communion
03 May – Roman Catholic Church
09 October – Eastern Orthodox Church

01 May

Saint Philip

01 May – General Roman Calendar 1954, Anglican Communion, Old Catholics, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod
03 May – Western Christianity
11 May – General Roman Calendar 1960
14 November – Eastern Christianity
03 May

Saint Matthias

24 February – (in leap years 25 February) (pre-1970 General Roman Calendar, Western Rite Orthodoxy, Anglican Communion, Episcopal Church, some places in Lutheran Church)
14 May – (Roman Catholic Church, some places in Anglican Communion and Lutheran Church)
09 August – Eastern Orthodox Church
14 May

Saint Peter

29 June Western and Eastern Christianity
Feast of the Chair of Saint Peter is celebrated on the 18th of January (Rome) and the 22nd of February (Antioch)
18 November – Memorial of the Dedication of the basilicas of St. Peter and of St. Paul
29 June

Saint Thomas

03 Jul – Latin Catholic Church, Liberal Catholic Church, Anglican Communion, Malankara Orthodox, Malankara Mar Thoma Syrian Church, Syro Malabar Church, Believers Eastern Church, Syriac Catholic
06 October – Sunday after Easter Thomas Sunday – Eastern Orthodox
21 December – Anglican Communion, Hispanic church
03 July

St James the Greater

30 April – Eastern Christianity
25 July – Western Christianity
22 October – is commemorated by the Orthodox Church
30 December – Hispanic Church
25 July

Saint Batholomew

24 August – Western Christianity
11 June – Eastern Christianity
24 August

Saint Matthew

21 September – Western Christianity
16 November – Eastern Christianity
21 September

Saint Jude

28 October – Western Christianity
19 June and 21 August Eastern Christianity
28 October

Saint Simon

28 October – Western Christianity
19 June – Eastern Christianity
01 July (medieval Hispanic liturgy as attested by sources of the time, such as the Antiphonary of León)
28 October

Saint Andrew

30 November – Western and Eastern Christianity
30 November

Saint John

27 December – Western Christianity
8 May and 26 September – Eastern Orthodox Church
27 December

From the start, the Apostles’ power inside the Church was apparent. Their abilities were bestowed on them by Christ Himself. They preached loudly and acted in His place, instructing and speaking “inside the Holy Spirit.” They have no equivalent within the Church’s reverence for them, with the exception of the Theotokos. They all have a remembrance day, and they have a joint celebration on June 30, a ceremonial banquet whose significance is demonstrated by the fact that its miles were preceded by a month of fasting.

feast of the apostles
the feast of the apostles 4

The Lenten season in honor of the 12 Apostles might be challenging at times since it is a “bendy season” in that it normally finishes on a fixed date (June 29) but begins on Monday after All Saints Day, which is a moveable day every year mostly depends entirely on the date of Easter. When Easter is usually around mid to late April, Apostles Lent is just a few days longer. When Easter falls in early April, as it did this year, the Apostles Lent is extended.

The devoted are petitioned to look at the same old meals abstinence, multiplied prayer, and almsgiving guiding principle as with the opposite fasting seasons of the yr. The Apostles Lent tastes the primary part of the Christmas Advent Lenten season (Nov 15-Dec 12) in that weddings are permitted. The guiding principle on constrained meals is the “lighter” fasting in that most effective Wednesdays and Fridays are held as strict rapid days, and the observance of the Nativity of John the Baptist (June 24) is usually a mild rapid (fish is permitted) regardless of what day it falls on.

Let us have fun within the ministry and learn about the feast of the apostles, those 12 awesome men who started the unfold of Christianity to some distant corners of the earth. Let us bear in mind their sacrifice through our sacrifice and area in the preparatory days beforehand. We’re referred to as upon to attention on their dedication and devotion to the Lord’s commandments.

Feast day of Saint James the Greater

30 April; Eastern Christianity

25 July; Western Christianity

James, son of Zebedee (died 44 AD), was one of Jesus’ Twelve Apostles and is often regarded as the first to be murdered. He was the son of Zebedee and Salome, as well as the brother of John the Apostle. To distinguish him from James, son of Alphaeus, and James, Jesus’ brother, he is sometimes known as James the Greater or James the Great (James the Just). James, the son of Zebedee, is the patron saint of Spaniards and is sometimes referred to as Santiago.

Feast day of Saint Simon

19 Jun; Eastern Christianity

28 Oct; Western Christianity

Simon the Zealot (Acts 1:13), Simon the Zealot (Luke 6:15), Simon Kananaios (Matthew 10:4), or Simon Cananeus (Mark 3:18) was one of Jesus’ most obscure apostles. Simon is frequently identified with St. Jude as an evangelistic pair; they share their feast day on October 28 in Western Christianity. According to popular belief, after preaching in Egypt, Simon joined Jude in Persia, Armenia, or Beirut, Lebanon, where both were murdered in 65 AD.

Feast day of Saint Peter

29th June; Eastern Christianity

01 August; Western Christianity

Formerly known as “Simon,” Our Lord called him “Kepha” or “Cephas”; preached in Antioch, Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, and Asia Minor, Rome; headed the Roman Church (was the first Pope); martyred upside-down in Rome, Italy; relics at St. Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City. Symbols include the Keys, an upside-down Latin Cross, and a book. June 29 (St. Paul’s Feast); August 1 (St. Peter’s Chains).

Feast day of Saint John

08 May; Eastern Christianity

27 December; Western Christianity

He and his brother (James the Greater) were dubbed “Sons of Thunder” (Boanerges) by Jesus, a son of Zebedee; Jesus’ favorite disciple; evangelist; preached in Asia Minor (Ephesus). The symbol of St. John includes a chalice, an eagle, a serpent, a sword, and a cauldron.

Feast day of Saint Jude

19 June & 21 August; Eastern Christianity

28 October; Western Christianity

Jude was one of Jesus’ Twelve Apostles, also known as Judas Thaddaeus. He is commonly recognized as Thaddeus, although he is also known as Jude of James, Jude Thaddaeus, Judas Thaddaeus, or Lebbaeus. He is commonly confused with Jesus’ brother Jude, although he is distinct from Judas Iscariot, the Apostle who betrayed Jesus before His execution. Saint Jude was murdered at Beirut, in the Roman province of Syria, in 65 AD, along with the Apostle Simon the Zealot, with whom he is commonly identified. The ax he is commonly represented within photos reflects the method by which he was murdered.

Their acts and martyrdom, according to the Golden Legend account of the saints, were recorded in an Acts of Simon and Jude, which was among the collection of passions and legends traditionally associated with the legendary Abdias, bishop of Babylon, and said to have been translated into Latin by his disciple Tropaeus Africanus. Pilgrims came to his tomb to pray after his martyrdom, and many of them experienced St. Jude’s great intercessions. As a result, he is known as ‘The Saint for the Hopeless and the Despaired.’ St. Bridget of Sweden and St. Bernard both had visions from God requesting that they embrace St. Jude as ‘The Patron Saint of the Impossible.’

The Order of Preachers (usually known as the Dominicans) began operating in modern-day Armenia soon after its foundation in 1216. Saint Jude was revered by both Catholic and Orthodox Christians in the area. This lasted until the 18th century when persecution drove Christians out of the region. Devotion to Saint Jude resurfaced in earnest in the nineteenth century, first in Italy and Spain, then to South America, and eventually to the United States (beginning in the Chicago region) thanks to the Claretians and Dominicans’ influence in the 1920s.

Feast day of Saint Bartholomew

11th June; Eastern Christianity

24 August; Western Christianity

Saint Bartholomew preached in India, Mesopotamia, Persia, Egypt, Armenia, Lycaonia, Phrygia, shores of the Black Sea. He was beheaded or flayed alive and crucified, head downward in Albanopolis in Armenia; relics at St. Bartholomew-in-the-Island in Rome, Italy. Symbols: tanner’s knife; flayed skin.

Feast day of Saint Matthias

24 February; (in leap years 25 February) (pre-1970 General Roman Calendar, Western Rite Orthodoxy, Anglican Communion, Episcopal Church, some places in Lutheran Church)

14 May; Roman Catholic Church, Anglian communion and Lutheran Church)

09 August; Eastern Christianity

The disciples remained in prayer for nine days between Jesus’ ascension and the Day of Pentecost. During this time, Peter reminded them that Judas’ desertion and death had left a hole in the company of the Twelve. Peter suggested to the assembled disciples that they chose two people to replace Judas. They picked Joseph, also known as Barabbas (surnamed Justus), and Matthias. According to Acts, Matthias was with Jesus from his baptism by John until his ascension. The disciples prayed, then cast lots, and the apostle Matthias‘ lot was drawn. Thus, he became one of the eleven apostles.

There is no mention of a Matthias in the three synoptic gospels’ lists of Jesus’ disciples or followers. He was an outstanding Apostle, according to tradition, but we know little else about him.

Saint Matthias seems an appropriate example to Christians of one whose faithful companionship with Jesus qualifies him to be a suitable witness to the resurrection and whose service is unheralded and unsung.

Feast day of Saint James the Less

11 May; Western Christianity

09 August; Eastern Christianity

“James the Just” or “James the Younger”; son of Alphaeus (Cleophas) and “brother of the Lord”; Bishop of Jerusalem Church; epistle writer; killed by Jews by being thrown off the Temple and clubbed to death. Symbols: fuller’s club; book; windmill.

Feast day of Saint Philip

11 May; Western Christianity

09 October; Eastern Christianity

Saint Philip preached in Hierapolis in Asia and had his relics at the Church of the Dodici Apostoli in Rome, Italy. The symbol of St. Philip is a basket of loaves and a T-shaped Cross.

Feast day of Saint Matthew

21 September; Western Christianity

16 November; Eastern Christianity

The Roman Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, Lutheran, and Anglican churches consider Matthew a saint. In the West, his feast day is commemorated on September 21. Matthew was the son of Alpheus, a 1st-century Galilean (born in Galilee, which was not part of Judea). He would have been fluent in Aramaic and Greek as a tax collector. His Jewish contemporaries would have despised him for apparently cooperating with the Roman invaders.

Matthew welcomed Jesus to his house for a feast after receiving his call. The Scribes and Pharisees were outraged when they observed Jesus dining with tax collectors and sinners. “I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance,” Jesus said. Luke 5:32 (Matthew 2:17) According to the New Testament, he was a follower of Jesus who witnessed his resurrection and ascension. The disciples then fled to a higher room in Jerusalem (Acts 1:10–14). The disciples remained in and around Jerusalem, declaring that Jesus was the Messiah who had been prophesied.

Feast day of Saint Thomas

03 July; Eastern Christianity

21 December; Western Christianity

According to the New Testament, Thomas the Apostle was one of Jesus Christ’s Twelve Apostles. He is known colloquially as Doubting Thomas because he initially doubted Jesus’ resurrection, followed by his profession of Faith, “My Lord and my God,” upon seeing Jesus’ injured body. 

He has customarily traveled outside the Roman Empire to preach the Gospel, traveling as far as Tamilakam, India’s Tamil Nadu, and Kerala states. Thomas landed in Muziris around 50 CE (modern-day North Paravur and Kodungalloor in Kerala, India). He baptized many individuals, giving rise to the Saint Thomas Christians, also known as the Mar Thomas Nazranis.

Following his death, the purported remains of Saint Thomas the Apostle were interred as far as Mesopotamia in the 3rd century and were later relocated to numerous locations. Some of the relics were carried to Abruzzo in Ortona, Italy, in 1258 and have since been housed at the Church of Saint Thomas the Apostle. He is often regarded as the Patron Saint of India.

Feast day of Saint Andrew

30 November; Western Christianity

13 December; Eastern Christianity

St. Andrew was born in Bethsaida, Galilee, and worked as a fisherman before becoming a follower of John the Baptist. He brought Jesus to his brother Peter, stating, “We have discovered the Messiah.” Despite being overshadowed by his brother from then on, Andrew emerges as a soul-winner in the Gospels. After Pentecost, Andrew took up the apostolate on a much wider scale, and he is said to have been crucified on an “X”-shaped cross in Patras, southern Greece. This type of cross has been known as “St. Andrew’s Cross” for centuries.

Judas Iscariot

The name “Judas” is a Greek version of the Hebrew name Judah (Hebrew for “God is honored”), which was a very popular name for Jewish males in the first century AD because of the famous figure Judas Maccabeus. [As a result, there are countless more persons with this name listed throughout the New Testament. Judas Iscariot is the sole Apostle called “Judas” in the Gospel of Mark 3:13–19, the oldest of all the gospels, published in the mid-60s or early 70s AD. Judas Iscariot betrayed our Lord and subsequently committed suicide, according to reports. Matthias (St. Matthias’s Feast day, February 24th) took his position when he committed suicide.

Conclusion Feast of the Apostles

The Synaxis of Christ’s Glorious and All-Praiseworthy Twelve Apostles of Jesus Christ appears to be an early Feast. The Church remembers each of the Twelve Apostles at different times throughout the year and has created a general remembrance for all of them on the day after the commemoration of the Glorious and First-Ranked among the Apostles Peter and Paul.

Each of the Twelve is commemorated on a different day of the Church calendar. However, in her wisdom, the Church also instituted a communal remembrance of the Twelve Holy Apostles. This is due to the Twelve Apostles fulfilling the Lord’s commission to “Go… make disciples of all countries, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.”

Resources Feast of the Apostles

Scroll to Top