圣巴塞洛缪

st. bartholomew
圣巴塞洛缪

Bartholomew Nathanael, Talmai’s son, lived in Cana of Galilee.

Three parallel knives are his apostolic symbol. According to legend, he was a missionary in Armenia and to some scholars, he was the only one of the 12 disciples to have royal blood or noble birth.

圣巴洛缪的名字翻译为“托尔迈或塔迈之子”(2 撒母耳记 3:3)。他买是基述的王,他的女儿玛迦是大卫的妻子和押所龙的母亲。

每个门徒名单都包括巴塞洛缪的名字(马太福音 10:3;马可福音 3:18;路加福音 6:14;使徒行传 1:13)。

然而,这不是他的名字。这是他的中间名。他的名字很可能是拿但业,耶稣称他为“确实是以色列人,没有诡诈”(约翰福音 1:47)。

然而,这不是他的名字。这是他的中间名。他的名字很可能是拿但业,耶稣称他为“确实是以色列人,没有诡诈”(约翰福音 1:47)。

新约几乎没有告诉我们关于他的事。根据传统,他是一位伟大的法律和先知学者,也是一位伟大的圣经研究者。

他成长为一个完全忠于拿撒勒木匠的人,也是教会最大胆的传教士之一。据说他曾与菲利普一起在弗里吉亚、希拉波利斯和亚美尼亚传道。

saint bartholomew by pinturicchio (bernardino di betto), italian, c. 1497, tempera on wood panel - princeton university art museum
Saint Bartholomew by Pinturicchio (Bernardino di Betto), Italian, c. 1497, tempera on wood panel - Princeton University Art Museum 

他被视为亚美尼亚教会的创始人和殉道者。然而,传统上说他在印度传教,他的死似乎发生在那里。他以殉道者的身份为他的主而死。他是被刀活剥。

圣巴塞洛缪与耶稣的生活

腓力把拿但业带到耶稣面前时,他对他说的第一句话是:

“看哪,真是一个以色列人,没有诡计!”

拿但业很困惑,想知道耶稣怎么会认出他。

耶稣告诉拿但业,他一直都认识他,而且他会看到比那时更伟大的事情。拿但业宣布耶稣是神的儿子,这是第一次有人接受耶稣为神的儿子。

当耶稣问圣巴塞洛缪时,圣巴塞洛缪大吃一惊,

“你怎么认识我的?”

耶稣回答说:“你在无花果树下,腓力还没有呼唤你,我就看见你了。”圣巴塞洛缪将耶稣的启示解释为跟随他的召唤。

除了在场的人,没有人会知道此时圣巴塞洛缪就在这棵无花果树附近。尽管如此,耶稣知道这一点,而且很重要的是,耶稣说:“在腓力呼召你之前。”至少,圣巴塞洛缪的反应表明:“拉比,你是上帝的儿子!你是以色列的王!” (马太福音 1:47,49)

bartholomew
圣巴塞洛缪

圣经中的巴塞洛缪

巴塞洛缪在三部对观福音书:马太福音、马可福音和路加福音中被列为耶稣的十二使徒之一,也是耶稣升天的见证人之一;然而,他每次都在菲利普的公司中被点名。

巴塞洛缪的旅行和传教士

据传说,在基督死、复活和升天后,巴塞洛缪在东方传福音,包括美索不达米亚、波斯、黑海地区,可能还有印度。除了圣约翰, 他殉道,就像所有的使徒一样。

根据传说,巴塞洛缪通过从寺庙的主要偶像中驱逐恶魔,然后摧毁所有偶像来改变亚美尼亚国王的信仰。一怒之下,国王的哥哥逮捕、殴打并处决了巴塞洛缪。

圣巴塞洛缪的生平

对观福音和使徒行传中的巴塞洛缪与约翰福音中的纳撒尼尔的认同因纳撒尼尔被使徒腓力带到基督面前而得到加强(约翰福音 1:45),并且巴塞洛缪总是被放在腓力旁边对观福音中的使徒名单。

如果这种认定是正确的,那么是巴塞洛缪所说的关于基督的,

martyrdom of saint bartholomew
Martyrdom of Saint Bartholomew

“拿撒勒能出什么好东西吗?” (约翰福音 1:46)

That remark elicited Christ’s response when he first met Bartholomew:

“看哪,有一个以色列人,没有诡诈”(约翰福音 1:47)。

巴塞洛缪在基督向他揭示了腓力的呼召(“在无花果树下”,约翰福音 1:48)周围的情况后,成为了耶稣的追随者。

“阿们,阿们,我对你们说,你们将要看见诸天开了,神的使者上去下来在人子身上,”

基督告诉巴塞洛缪。

圣巴塞洛缪反射

巴塞洛缪还是拿但业?我们再次面临圣巴塞洛缪事实我们对大多数人知之甚少使徒.

另一方面,未知的是基石,即新以色列的 12 根支柱,其 12 个支派现在涵盖整个地球。

Their personalities were secondary without diminishing their great office of carrying tradition from first-hand experience, speaking in the name of Jesus, putting the Word Made Flesh into human words for the world’s enlightenment.

他们的圣洁并不是他们在上帝面前地位的内在反映。这是一份他们觉得有必要与他人分享的礼物。

好消息是,所有的人都被上帝的恩赐所召唤,成为基督成员的圣洁。一个简单的事实是,除非上帝是人类的全部关注点,否则人类毫无意义。然后,因上帝的圣洁而成为圣洁的人类成为上帝最宝贵的创造。

saint bartholomew on canvas

Saint Bartholomew on canvas

Canvas print depicting Saint Bartholomew, the saint stands out alone, he is dressed in a simple way as to show that saints were common men of their times, the basic outfit of the saint exalts his divine figure.

Saint Batholomew is depicted while offering Jesus a knife, in fact, the saint was killed with a knife.

This image printed on canvas is available in three different sizes: cm 30×40, cm 50×70, cm 70×100.
Choose the desired size.
Artist: Paolo Bartoli.

SHIPPING WEIGHT:1Kg
MATERIALS: Canvas print, wood
ORIGIN: Italy

We may receive a commission for purchases made through the following affiliate link.

节日

Eastern Christianity commemorates him on June 11, while the Catholic Church commemorates Bartholomew on August 24.

martyrdom of saint bartholomew by gioacchino assereto, 1630 ad, oil on canvas - accademia ligustica di belle arti
圣巴塞洛缪的殉难 – Gioacchino Assereto公元 1630 年 布面油画 Accademia Ligustica di Belle Arti

圣巴塞洛缪之死

各种传统描述了执行巴塞洛缪的各种方法。据说他被斩首或被剥皮并倒钉在十字架上,类似于圣彼得.

在基督教的肖像画中,他拿着一把制革刀,用来将动物的皮与尸体分开。一些描绘在背景中穿过,而其他描绘(特别是米开朗基罗的最后审判)显示巴塞洛缪的皮肤披在他的手臂上。

据传说,圣巴塞洛缪的遗物在七世纪从亚美尼亚传到了利帕里岛(西西里岛附近)。 809 年,他们被转移到那不勒斯东北部坎帕尼亚的贝内文托,最后于 983 年转移到罗马台伯岛上的圣巴塞洛缪岛教堂。

圣约瑟夫在使徒巴塞洛缪节的祭坛上看到了他。他向约瑟做了个手势,从祭坛上拿起圣福音,贴在他的胸前,上面写着:愿主祝福你,愿你的歌声让全世界欢欣鼓舞。

圣约瑟夫然后开始创作赞美诗和大炮来装饰使徒圣巴塞洛缪的节日和许多其他圣徒的节日,总共创作了大约 300 部大炮。

圣约翰金口、亚历山大的西里尔、塞浦路斯的埃皮法尼乌斯和其他教会教师相信使徒巴塞洛缪和拿但业是同一个人(约翰福音 1:45-51, 21:2)。

Looking for great products about Saint Bartholomew? Then check out the Saint Bartholomew Shopping Zone.

apostel bartholomeus s. bartholomaevs
Apostel Bartholomeus S. Bartholomaevs

圣巴塞洛缪关键外卖

关于巴塞洛缪的信息并不多。他是耶稣最核心的门徒之一,十二门徒之一,也是基督的虔诚追随者。天主教会用三把平行的刀代表他,因为他相信作为烈士活剥的死亡方法。

巴塞洛缪这个名字的意思是“塔尔迈的儿子”(有时拼写,托尔曼)。他的父亲是格舒尔国王,使巴塞洛缪成为王室成员。他被认为是一位专门研究法律和先知的学者。他出生在加利利的迦拿,那里是耶稣有记载的第一个神迹的发生地,神迹开始了他在地上的事工。

巴塞洛缪和其他门徒,被称为使徒或被差遣的人,见证了耶稣的事工大约三年。耶稣死后,他们发起了后来被称为基督教的运动。

这使得巴塞洛缪成为最重要和最重要的人之一。权威领袖早期教会的成员,他很可能在一世纪期间为将福音传播到特定地区做出了贡献,但在任何书信中从未明确提及或单独提到他。

圣巴塞洛缪总结

圣巴塞洛缪被我们蒙福的主亲自选为十二使徒之一。

几位博学的圣经解释者认为,这位使徒与纳撒尼尔是同一个人,他是加利利迦拿人,犹太法律博士,基督七十二个门徒之一,由圣菲利普带领,他的天真和纯朴的心配得上我们救赎主神圣之口的最高颂词。

在基督升天后聚集祷告的门徒中提到了他,他和其他人一样接受了圣灵。凭借神圣的恩典,他完全有资格履行使徒的职责,他将福音传遍了东方最野蛮的国家,渗透到了偏远的印度群岛。

然后他回到亚洲西北部,在弗里吉亚的希拉波利斯遇到了圣菲利普。

结果,他前往吕考尼亚,在那里教导人们基督教信仰;然而,我们甚至不知道他传道的许多国家的名字。

然而,巴塞洛缪这个名字是一个姓氏,意思是“Tholmai 的儿子”(Bar-Thomas,或希腊语中的 Bartholomaios)。因此,巴塞洛缪通常被认为是纳撒尼尔,他在圣约翰福音(约翰福音 1:45-51;21:2)中被提及,但在对观福音书中没有提及。

然而,巴塞洛缪这个名字是一个姓氏,意思是“Tholmai 的儿子”(Bar-Thomas,或希腊语中的 Bartholomaios)。因此,巴塞洛缪通常被认为是纳撒尼尔,他在圣约翰福音(约翰福音 1:45-51;21:2)中被提及,但在对观福音书中没有提及。

Frequently Asked Question about Saint Bartholomew

Frequently Asked Question about Saint Bartholomew

Why was Saint Bartholomew skinned?

Although the exact reason why Saint Bartholomew was skinned is unknown, there are a few hypotheses that have been put forth over the years.
Saint Bartholomew was skinned because he preached the gospel to the people of India. The King of India didn’t like that, so he had Bartholomew skinned alive.
Another possibility is that he was martyred for his beliefs, and flaying was seen as a way to humiliate him. Either way, it’s clear that Bartholomew’s martyrdom was brutal and painful, and his legacy has lived on through the centuries.

What does the name Bartholomew mean?

The name Bartholomew means “son of Talmai.” Saint Bartholomew was one of the twelve apostles of Jesus Christ. He is also believed to be the author of the Gospel of Luke.

Are Nathanael and Bartholomew the same person?

No, Nathanael and Bartholomew are not the same person. Saint Bartholomew was one of the Twelve Apostles of Jesus, and his name actually means “son of Tolmai”. Nathanael is not mentioned in the Bible as far as we know. Some people believe that Nathanael and Bartholomew might be the same person because they both appear in the Gospel of John, but there’s no evidence to support this theory. So unless you have some evidence to back up your claim, I wouldn’t say that they’re the same person.

What is Saint Bartholomew famous for?

Some say that Saint Bartholomew is best known as the apostle who was skinned alive by the order of King Agrippa. But others believe that he is better remembered as the patron saint of tanners and leather workers.

资源 Saint Bartholomew

滚动到顶部
由 miniOrange 保护

The Apostle Saint Bartholomew

St. Bartholomew
St. Bartholomew

Bartholomew Nathanael, Talmai’s son, lived in Cana of Galilee.

Three parallel knives are his apostolic symbol. According to legend, he was a missionary in Armenia and to some scholars, he was the only one of the 12 disciples to have royal blood or noble birth.

Saint Batholomew given name translates as “Son of Tolmai or Talmai” (2 Samuel 3:3). Talmai was the king of Geshur, and his daughter, Maacah, was David’s wife and the mother of Absolom.

  • Every list of the disciples includes Bartholomew’s name (Matthew 10:3; Mark 3:18; Luke 6:14; Acts 1:13).

    This, however, was not his first name; it was his middle name. His given name was most likely Nathanael, and Jesus referred to him as “an Israelite indeed, without guile” (John 1:47).

The New Testament tells us very little about him. According to tradition, he was a great scholar of the law and the prophets, as well as a great searcher of the Scriptures.

He grew into a man completely devoted to the Carpenter of Nazareth and one of the Church’s most daring missionaries. He is said to have preached alongside Philip in Phrygia, Hierapolis, and Armenia.

Saint Bartholomew by Pinturicchio (Bernardino di Betto), Italian, c. 1497, tempera on wood panel - Princeton University Art Museum
Saint Bartholomew by Pinturicchio (Bernardino di Betto), Italian, c. 1497, tempera on wood panel - Princeton University Art Museum 

He is regarded as the founder and martyr of the Armenian Church. However, tradition says that he preached in India, and his death seems to have taken place there. He died as a martyr for his Lord. He was flayed alive with knives.

Saint Bartholomew Birth/Early Life

Eastern Christianity commemorates him on June 11, while the Catholic Church commemorates him on August 24. The Church of England commemorates Bartholomew the Apostle with a Festival on August 24.

Saint Bartholomew Life with Jesus

When Philip brought Nathanael to Jesus, the first words he said to him were,

“Behold an Israelite indeed, without guile!”

Nathanael was perplexed, wondering how Jesus could recognize him.

Jesus told Nathanael that He had known him all along and that he would see much greater things than he had seen up to that point. Nathanael’s declaration that Jesus is the Son of God is the first recorded instance of someone accepting Jesus as the Son of God.

St. Bartholomew was astounded when Jesus asked,

“How do you know me?”

“Before Philip called you when you were under the fig tree, I saw you,” Jesus replied. St. Bartholomew interpreted Jesus’ revelation as a summons to follow Him.

Except for those who were present, no one would have known St. Bartholomew was near this fig tree at this point. Nonetheless, Jesus was aware of this, and, significantly, Jesus stated, “Before Philip called you.” At the very least, St. Bartholomew’s reaction suggests this “Rabbi, you are God’s Son! You are Israel’s King!” (Matthew 1:47,49)

Bartholomew
Saint Bartholomew

Bartholomew in the Bible

Bartholomew is listed among the Twelve Apostles of Jesus in the three synoptic gospels: Matthew, Mark, and Luke, and also appear as one of the witnesses of the Ascension; on each occasion, however, he is named in the company of Philip.

Bartholomew’s Travels and Missionary

According to legend, after Christ’s death, resurrection, and ascension, Bartholomew evangelized in the East, including Mesopotamia, Persia, the Black Sea region, and possibly India. Except for Saint John, he died as a martyr, as did all of the apostles.

According to legend, Bartholomew converted Armenia’s king by casting out a demon from the temple’s main idol and then destroying all of the idols. In a fit of rage, the king’s older brother had Bartholomew arrested, beaten, and executed.

Life Facts of Saint Batholomew

The identification of the Bartholomew of the synoptic gospels and Acts with the Nathaniel of the Gospel of John is strengthened by the fact that Nathaniel was brought to Christ by the apostle Philip (John 1:45), and Bartholomew is always placed next to Philip in the lists of the apostles in the synoptic gospels.

If this identification is correct, then it was Bartholomew who said about Christ,

Martyrdom of Saint Bartholomew
Martyrdom of Saint Bartholomew

“Can anything good come from Nazareth?” (Jn. 1:46)

That remark elicited Christ’s response when he first met Bartholomew:

“Behold an Israelite indeed, in whom there is no guile” (John 1:47).

Bartholomew became a follower of Jesus after Christ revealed to him the circumstances surrounding Philip’s call (“under the fig tree,” John 1:48).

“Amen, amen, I say to you, you shall see the heavens opened, and the angels of God ascending and descending upon the Son of man,”

Christ told Bartholomew.

Saint Batholomew Reflection

Bartholomew or Nathanael? We are once again confronted with the St Batholomew fact that we know very little about the majority of the apostles.

The unknown ones, on the other hand, were foundation stones, the 12 pillars of the new Israel, whose 12 tribes now encompass the entire earth.

Their personalities were secondary without diminishing their great office of carrying tradition from first-hand experience, speaking in the name of Jesus, putting the Word Made Flesh into human words for the world’s enlightenment.

Their holiness was not an inward reflection on their position before God. It was a gift that they felt compelled to share with others.

The Good News was that all are called to the holiness of being Christ’s members, by the gracious gift of God. The simple fact is that humanity is meaningless unless God is its total concern. Then humanity, made holy with God’s holiness, becomes the most precious creation of God.

Feast Days

The Holy Apostle Saint Bartholomew feast days are June 11, August 25 (the translation of his relics), and June 30 (the Feast of the Twelve Apostles). It is believed that he is the same person commemorated on April 22 with Apostles Luke and Clement as Nathaniel of the Seventy.

Martyrdom of Saint Bartholomew by Gioacchino Assereto, 1630 AD, oil on canvas - Accademia Ligustica di Belle Arti
Martyrdom of Saint Bartholomew by Gioacchino Assereto 1630 AD oil on canvas Accademia Ligustica di Belle Arti

The Death of Saint Bartholomew

Various traditions describe various methods of Bartholomew’s execution. He is said to have been beheaded or to have had his skin removed and crucified upside down, similar to Saint Peter.

In Christian iconography, he is shown holding a tanner’s knife, which is used to separate an animal’s hide from its carcass. Some depictions have across in the background, while others (notably Michelangelo’s Last Judgment) show Bartholomew with his skin draped over his arm.

The relics of Saint Bartholomew made their way from Armenia to the Isle of Lipari (near Sicily) in the seventh century, according to legend. In 809, they were transferred to Benevento, in Campania, northeast of Naples, and finally in 983 to the Church of Saint Bartholomew-in-the-Island, on the Isle of the Tiber in Rome.

Saint Joseph saw him at the altar on the Feast of the Apostle Bartholomew. He motioned to Joseph and took the holy Gospel from the altar table, pressing it to his breast with the words, May the Lord bless you, and may your song delight the entire world.

Saint Joseph then began to compose hymns and canons to adorn the Feast Day of the Apostle Saint Bartholomew and the Feast Days of many other saints, composing approximately 300 canons in total.

Saints John Chrysostom, Cyril of Alexandria, Epiphanius of Cyprus, and other Church teachers believe that the Apostle Bartholomew and Nathanael are the same people (John 1:45-51, 21:2).

Apostel Bartholomeus S. Bartholomaevs
Apostel Bartholomeus S. Bartholomaevs

Saint Bartholomew Key Takeaway

There isn’t a lot of information available about Bartholomew. He was one of Jesus’ inner circle of disciples, one of the twelve, and a devout follower of Christ. The Catholic Church represents him with three parallel knives because of his believed method of death as a martyr flayed alive.

The name Bartholomew means “son of Talmai” (this is sometimes spelt, Tolman). His father was the King of Geshur, making Bartholomew a member of the royal family. He was regarded as a scholar who specialized in the law and the prophets. He was born in Cana of Galilee, the site of Jesus’ first recorded miracle, which launched His earthly ministry.

Bartholomew and the other disciples, known as the apostles or those who were sent, witnessed Jesus’ ministry for about three years. Following Jesus’ death, they launched the movement that became known as Christianity.

This makes Bartholomew one of the most important and authoritative leaders of the early church, and he most likely contributed to the spread of the gospel to specific regions during the first century, but he is never explicitly mentioned or singled out in any of the epistles.

Saint Bartholomew Summary

Saint Bartholomew was chosen as one of the twelve apostles by our blessed Lord Himself.

Saint Bartholomew was chosen as one of the twelve apostles by our blessed Lord Himself.

Several learned interpreters of Holy Scripture believe that this apostle was the same as Nathaniel, a native of Cana in Galilee, a doctor of Jewish law, and one of Christ’s seventy-two disciples, to whom he was led by St. Philip, and whose innocence and simplicity of heart deserved the highest eulogy from Our Redeemer’s divine mouth.

He is mentioned among the disciples who gathered in prayer after Christ’s ascension, and he, like the others, received the Holy Spirit. Being eminently qualified by the divine grace to discharge the functions of an apostle, he carried the Gospel through the most barbarous countries of the East, penetrating the remoter Indies.

He then returned to the northwest part of Asia, where he met St. Philip in Hierapolis, Phrygia.

As a result, he travelled to Lycaonia, where he instructed the people in the Christian faith; however, we don’t even know the names of many of the countries where he preached.

However, the name Bartholomew is a family name that means “son of Tholmai” (Bar-Thomas, or Bartholomaios in Greek). As a result, Bartholomew is commonly identified with Nathaniel, who is mentioned in Saint John’s gospel (John 1:45-51; 21:2) but not in the synoptic gospels.

However, the name Bartholomew is a family name that means “son of Tholmai” (Bar-Thomas, or Bartholomaios in Greek). As a result, Bartholomew is commonly identified with Nathaniel, who is mentioned in Saint John’s gospel (John 1:45-51; 21:2) but not in the synoptic gospels.

Resources

Scroll to Top Secured By miniOrange