The Apostle Matthias

st matthias
聖馬蒂亞斯

馬蒂亞斯(在天主教會中也被稱為聖馬蒂亞斯)被剩下的 11 位門徒選中,在耶穌復活之前接替背叛者加略人猶大。

聖經推薦的是十二個門徒,所以使徒彼得宣布他們必須選擇另一個人來代替加略人猶大.

馬蒂亞斯被選為第十二使徒,因為他在地球上以及在被釘十字架期間與耶穌基督同在。

抽籤抽籤抽中了兩名男子在使徒中獲得第十二名的同時,馬蒂亞斯被選為第十二位也是最後一位使徒。

誰是聖馬蒂亞斯?

根據聖經“使徒行傳 1:21-26”,聖馬蒂亞斯是使徒們在加略人猶大背叛耶穌基督後被選為他的繼任者。重要的是,即使在被釘十字架之後,社區也能忍受傳播基督教信仰在世界各地,使徒的數量保持 12 是至關重要的,因為 12 是以色列支派的數量,而新以色列的到來需要第十二使徒。

apostel mattias met speer s. mathias (titel op object) christus en de apostelen
Apostel Mattias met speer S. Mathias (titel op object) Christus en de apostelen

耶穌自己選擇了最初的 12 位使徒,其餘的使徒在升天后選擇了聖馬蒂亞斯。他們通過抽籤投票選出了馬蒂亞斯。

新約中沒有關於他的更多信息。據信,馬蒂亞斯把他的信仰在耶穌基督里高於一切,並在五旬節與其他使徒同在。他接受了耶穌的所有教義,即使在受到許多人的逼迫之後,他也為侍奉主犧牲了自己的生命。

他還奉主耶穌的名行了許多神蹟,使許多人皈依了基督教信仰。他是木匠、裁縫和那些受天花影響的人的讚助人。

mattathias and the apostate
Mattathias and the Apostate

童年和早期生活

聖馬蒂亞斯於公元 1 世紀出生於猶太。早年,他跟隨圣西緬學習上帝的律法。據記載,馬蒂亞斯從主受洗時就一直陪伴著主,是耶穌配對派遣的72名門徒之一。

馬蒂亞斯的福音

馬蒂亞斯福音是一個失傳的文本,聲稱是馬蒂亞斯所寫。早期教會對其真實性眾說紛紜,我們只能從他人的著作中得知。

亞歷山大的克萊門特在描述一個被稱為尼古拉教的異端基督教教派時引用了它——啟示錄約翰聲稱耶穌憎恨他們的教義(啟示錄 2:6)——告訴我們它說,

“我們必須與我們的肉體作鬥爭,不重視它,不向它承認任何可以奉承它的東西,而是通過信仰和知識促進我們靈魂的成長”。

尤西比烏斯聲稱它也是由異教徒寫的。但是如果沒有文本本身,就不可能說出它可能具有的價值。

saint matthias

聖馬太傳教士

作為十二使徒中的一員,馬蒂亞斯是一名使徒,這意味著他負責宣講福音並幫助它在已知世界中傳播。我們翻譯為使徒(Apostolos)這個詞的字面意思是“被差遣的人”,所有的使徒都被差遣到某個地方。但是馬蒂亞斯到底去了哪裡取決於你遵循哪種傳統。

聖馬太事工

根據傳統,人們相信,在聖靈降臨之後,馬蒂亞斯與其他使徒一起在耶路撒冷和猶太地區傳福音。

他從耶路撒冷前往敘利亞的安提阿,並出現在鈦城和錫諾普。在此期間,聖馬蒂亞斯被監禁,但被神父奇蹟般地釋放。聖安德魯第一次被召喚.此後,他前往位於里海沿岸的阿馬西亞市。

他在三年的旅程中陪伴使徒安德魯,並與他一起在埃德薩和塞巴斯特。根據傳統,他在 Pontine 埃塞俄比亞(現稱為西喬治亞州)和馬其頓傳教。他不斷受到那裡的人的迫害,但不斷向他們傳福音。

st matthias church richmond greater london
St Matthias Church Richmond Greater London

在這個故事的一個版本中,Pontine 埃塞俄比亞人被認為是異教徒和野蠻人,他們強迫聖人喝毒藥。但他卻安然無恙,因為他有主的保護,他甚至治癒了其他被毒藥弄瞎的囚犯。

聖馬蒂亞斯離開了監獄,這激怒了那些徒勞地尋找他的異教徒。他們打算殺死聖人,根據故事,大地裂開併吞沒了他們。

此後,他返回猶太並繼續啟發他的同胞關於基督的教導。他還告訴他們他如何能夠奉主耶穌的名行神蹟,並激勵許多人相信基督。

這激怒了憎恨基督的猶太大祭司亞拿尼亞。他過去已經下令處決使徒雅各,並決定逮捕馬蒂亞斯。這位聖人被帶到耶路撒冷的公會前接受審判。

在聽證會上,大祭司亞拿尼亞以褻瀆神明的言語誹謗主。但馬蒂亞斯使用舊約的預言解釋說,耶穌基督是“真神,應許的彌賽亞,神的兒子,與父神同體共存”。

mathias (winterhalder) - st. margarethen, waldkirch
Mathias (Winterhalder) - St. Margarethen, Waldkirch

反射

馬蒂亞斯的聖潔是什麼?顯然,他因從受洗到升天與耶穌在一起的經歷而適合擔任使徒。他個人也一定很適合,否則他不會因為如此重大的責任而被提名。

我們難道不應該提醒自己,馬蒂亞斯的基本聖潔是他高興地接受耶穌為他提供並由聖靈完成的與天父的關係嗎?

如果使徒通過他們的見證是我們信仰的基礎,那麼他們也必須提醒我們,即使只是含蓄地,聖潔完全是上帝的賜予,並且在日常生活的環境中提供給所有人。我們接受,甚至為此上帝提供自由的力量。

死亡與遺產

根據尼斯弗魯斯的說法,聖馬蒂亞斯是被石頭砸死埃塞俄比亞(今格魯吉亞)。現存的科普特人“安德魯和馬蒂亞斯的行為”證實了這個故事。放置在 Gonia 的羅馬堡壘廢墟上的標記聲稱聖人被埋葬在該地點。

The Synopsis of Dorotheus also talks about a similar story. It claims that Matthias was preaching the Gospel in the sea harbour of Hyssus and at the mouth of the river Phasis. He died at Sebastopolis and was buried near the Temple of the Sun.

stadtpfarrkirche ro oö hochaltar - apostel matthias 1710
Stadtpfarrkirche RO OÖ Hochaltar - Apostel Matthias 1710

在另一個傳統中,聖馬蒂亞斯在激怒亞拿尼亞後被耶路撒冷人民用石頭砸死。在他死後,他被猶太人斬首以掩蓋他們的罪行。然後他的兇手將他標記為凱撒的敵人。根據羅馬的希波呂托斯的說法,這位聖人在耶路撒冷年老而死。

相傳君士坦丁一世的母親海倫娜皇后將聖人的遺體帶到了意大利。這些遺物的一部分被放置在聖朱斯蒂娜修道院,其餘的在聖馬蒂亞斯修道院。

拉丁教會在 5 月 14 日慶祝聖馬蒂亞斯節,希臘教會在 8 月 9 日慶祝。

關鍵外賣

馬提亞的名字意為“上帝的禮物”,是被選為取代猶大成為十二使徒之一的門徒。使徒行傳說他也是主耶穌差遣去傳福音的72個門徒之一。根據聖彼得在使徒行傳中的說法,馬蒂亞斯自受洗以來就與主在一起,並且是“基督復活的見證人”。他一直與耶穌在一起,直到他升天。

根據不同的傳統,馬蒂亞斯在卡帕多西亞、耶路撒冷、里海沿岸(今土耳其)和埃塞俄比亞佈道。據說他在科爾基斯被釘十字架或在耶路撒冷用石頭砸死。

一些早期教父引用的證據表明,根據馬蒂亞斯的說法,有一本福音書在流通,但此後已丟失,並被教皇格拉西烏斯宣佈為杜撰。

他被要求幫助打擊酗酒,並得到康復的酗酒者的支持。

saint matthias, ca. 1317–19, workshop of simone martini italian
Saint Matthiasca. 1317–19
Workshop of Simone Martini Italian

結論

The Bible tells us almost nothing about Matthias. But what we do know is that he’d been following Jesus from the beginning despite not receiving a personal invitation, like the 十二人會原成員.無論馬提亞成為使徒是上帝的旨意還是彼得的旨意,他都成為一世紀教會不可或缺的領袖,並在向全世界傳播福音方面發揮了重要作用。

資源

滾動到頂部
由 miniOrange 保護

St. Matthias

Matthias (also known as Saint Matthias in the Catholic church) was chosen by the remaining eleven disciples to replace the betrayer, Judas Iscariot before Jesus’ resurrection.

Saint James

Saint Matthias the Apostle

Saint Matthias
Saint Matthias the Apostle

The scriptural recommendation was for twelve disciples and so the Apostle Peter declared that they must choose another to take the place of Judas Iscariot.

Matthias was chosen as the twelfth Apostle since he was present with Jesus Christ during his time on Earth as well as through his crucifixion.

While two men were chosen to take the twelfth place in the Apostles lots were drawn and Matthias was selected as the twelfth and final Apostle.

Table Of Contents

Who was Saint Matthias?

According to the biblical “Acts of Apostles 1:21–26,” Saint Matthias was a disciple chosen by the apostles as a replacement for Judas Iscariot after the latter’s betrayal of Jesus Christ. It was important that the community endured even after the crucifixion to spread the Christian faith all around the world, and it was crucial that the number of apostles remained 12, as 12 was the number of tribes of Israel and a twelfth apostle was required for the coming of the new Israel.

Jesus himself chose the original 12 apostles, and the rest of the apostles chose Saint Matthias after the Ascension. They cast their votes through lots and selected Matthias.

There is no further information about him in the New Testament. It is believed that Matthias placed his faith in Jesus Christ above everything else and was present with the other apostles at Pentecost. He embraced all the teachings of Jesus and sacrificed his life for the service of the Lord, even after being persecuted by many.

He also worked many miracles in the name of Lord Jesus, which converted many to the Christian faith. He is a patron of carpenters, tailors, and those who are affected by smallpox.

Childhood & Early Life

Saint Matthias was born in the 1st century AD, at Judaea. In his early youth, he studied the Law of God under Saint Simeon. According to the acts, it is said that Matthias had accompanied the Lord from the time of his baptism and was among the 72 disciples paired off and dispatched by Jesus.

The Gospel of Matthias

The Gospel of Matthias is a lost text which claims to be written by Matthias. The early church had mixed opinions on its authenticity, and we only know about it from the writings of others.

Clement of Alexandria quotes it while describing a heretical sect of Christianity known as the Nicolaitanes—whose teachings John the Revelator claims Jesus hated (Revelation 2:6)—telling us it says,

“We must combat our flesh, set no value upon it, and concede to it nothing that can flatter it, but rather increase the growth of our soul by faith and knowledge”.

Eusebius claimed it was written by heretics as well. But without the text itself, it’s impossible to say what value it may have had.

Saint Matthew Missionary

As one of the Twelve, Matthias was an apostle, which meant he was charged with preaching the gospel and helping it spread throughout the known world. The word we translate as an apostle (Apostolos) literally means “one who is sent,” and all of the apostles were sent somewhere.
But where exactly Matthias went depends on which tradition you follow.

Saint Matthew Ministry

According to tradition, it is believed that, after the Descent of the Holy Spirit, Matthias ministered and preached the Gospel at Jerusalem and in Judaea with the other apostles.

From Jerusalem, he went to the Syrian Antioch and was present in the city of Titanium and Sinope. During his time here, Saint Matthias was imprisoned but was freed miraculously by Saint Andrew the First-Called. After this, he traveled to the city of Amasea, which was on the shore of the Caspian Sea.

He accompanied Apostle Andrew during a three-year journey and was with him at Edessa and Sebaste. According to a tradition, he preached at Pontine Ethiopia (presently known as Western Georgia) and Macedonia. He was constantly persecuted by the people there but kept preaching the Gospel to them.

In one version of the story, the Pontine Ethiopians were considered to be pagans and barbarians, and they forced the saint to drink poison. But he remained unharmed because he had the Lord’s protection, and he even healed other prisoners who were blinded by the poison.

Saint Matthias left the prison, and this enraged the pagans who kept searching for him in vain. They intended to kill the saint, and according to the story, the earth opened up and engulfed them.

After this, he returned to Judaea and continued enlightening his countrymen about Christ’s teachings. He also told them how he was able to perform miracles in the name of Lord Jesus and motivated many to have faith in Christ.

This enraged the Jewish High Priest Ananias, who hated Christ. He had already ordered the execution of Apostle James in the past and decided to arrest Matthias. The saint was brought for judgment before the Sanhedrin at Jerusalem.

During the hearing, High Priest Ananias slandered the Lord with a blasphemous speech. But Apostle Matthias, using the prophecies of the Old Testament, explained that Jesus Christ is “the True God, the promised Messiah, the Son of God, Consubstantial and Coeternal with God the Father.”

Reflection

What was the holiness of Matthias? Obviously, he was suited for apostleship by the experience of being with Jesus from his baptism to his ascension. He must also have been suited personally, or he would not have been nominated for so great a responsibility.

Must we not remind ourselves that the fundamental holiness of Matthias was his receiving gladly the relationship with the Father offered him by Jesus and completed by the Holy Spirit?

If the apostles are the foundations of our faith by their witness, they must also be reminders, if only implicitly, that holiness is entirely a matter of God’s giving, and it is offered to all, in the everyday circumstances of life. We receive, and even for this God supplies the power of freedom.

Death & Legacy

According to Nicephorus, Saint Matthias was stoned to death in Ethiopia (modern-day Georgia). An extant Coptic “Acts of Andrew and Matthias,” validates this story. A marker that is placed on the ruins of the Roman fortress at Gonia claims that the saint is buried at that site.

The Synopsis of Dorotheus also talks about a similar story. It claims that Matthias was preaching the Gospel in the sea harbor of Hyssus and at the mouth of the river Phasis. He died at Sebastopolis and was buried near the Temple of the Sun.

In another tradition, Saint Matthias was stoned by the people of Jerusalem after he enraged Ananias. After his death, he was beheaded by the Jews to conceal their crime. His killers then branded him as an enemy of Caesar. According to Hippolytus of Rome, the saint died of old age in Jerusalem.

It is said that Empress Helena, the mother of Emperor Constantine I, brought the saint’s remains to Italy. A part of these relics was placed in the Abbey of Santa Giustina and the remaining in the Abbey of St. Matthias.

The Latin Church celebrates the feast of Saint Matthias on 14th May, and the Greek Church celebrates it on 9th August.

Key Takeaway

Matthias, whose name means “gift of God”, was the disciple chosen to replace Judas as one of the twelve Apostles. The Acts of the Apostles state that he was also one of the 72 disciples that the Lord Jesus sent out to preach the good news. Matthias was with the Lord since His Baptism, and was “a witness to Christ’s Resurrection,” according to St. Peter in Acts. He remained with Jesus until His Ascension.

According to various traditions, Matthias preached in Cappadocia, Jerusalem, the shores of the Caspian Sea (in modern-day Turkey), and Ethiopia. He is said to have met his death by crucifixion in Colchis or by stoning in Jerusalem.

There is evidence cited in some of the early Church fathers that there was a Gospel according to Matthias in circulation, but it has since been lost and was declared apocryphal by Pope Gelasius.

He is invoked for assistance against alcoholism, and for support by recovered alcoholics.

Conclusion

The Bible tells us almost nothing about Matthias. But what we do know is that he’d been following Jesus from the beginning—despite not receiving a personal invitation, like the original members of the Twelve. And whether Matthias being an apostle was God’s design or Peter’s, he became an integral leader in the first-century church and played an important role in spreading the gospel throughout the world.

Resources

https://overviewbible.com/matthias-the-apostle/
https://www.thefamouspeople.com/profiles/saint-matthias-37245.php
https://www.franciscanmedia.org/saint-of-the-day/saint-matthias

Scroll to Top