The Apostle Matthias

st matthias
Святой Матиас

Матиас (также известный как Святой Матфий в католической церкви) был выбран оставшимися одиннадцатью учениками, чтобы заменить предателя, Иуду Искариота, до воскресения Иисуса.

Библия рекомендовала двенадцать учеников, поэтомуАпостол Петрзаявили, что они должны выбрать другого, чтобы занять местоИуда Искариот.

Матиас был избран двенадцатым Апостолом, так как он присутствовал с Иисусом Христом во время его пребывания на Земле, а также во время его распятия.

В то время как двое мужчин были выбраны, чтобы занять двенадцатое место в жеребьевке Апостолов, были разобраны, и Матиас был выбран двенадцатым и последним апостолом.

Кем был святой Матфий?

Согласно библейским «Деяниям Апостолов 1: 21–26», святой Матфий был учеником, избранным апостолами на замену Иуде Искариоту после того, как последний предал Иисуса Христа. Было важно, чтобы община выстояла даже после распятия.распространять христианскую верупо всему миру, и было очень важно, чтобы число апостолов оставалось 12, поскольку 12 было числом колен Израиля, и для прихода нового Израиля требовался двенадцатый апостол.

apostel mattias met speer s. mathias (titel op object) christus en de apostelen
Apostel Mattias met speer S. Mathias (titel op object) Christus en de apostelen

Сам Иисус избрал первоначальных 12 апостолов, а остальные апостолы выбрали святого Матфия после Вознесения. Они проголосовали по жребию и выбрали Матиаса.

Больше о нем нет в Новом Завете. Считается, что Матиасповерилв Иисусе Христе превыше всего и присутствовал с другими апостолами на Пятидесятнице. Он принял все учения Иисуса и пожертвовал своей жизнью ради служения Господу, даже после того, как многие его преследовали.

Он также совершил много чудес во имя Господа Иисуса, обратив многих в христианскую веру. Он покровитель плотников, портных и тех, кто болеет оспой.

mattathias and the apostate
Mattathias and the Apostate

Детство и молодость

Святой Матфий родился в I веке нашей эры в Иудее. В ранней юности он изучал Закон Божий под руководством святого Симеона. Согласно деяниям, сказано, что Матиас сопровождал Господа с момента его крещения и был среди 72 учеников, спаренных и посланных Иисусом.

Евангелие от Матьяша

Евангелие от Матиаса - это утерянный текст, который утверждает, что был написан Матиасом. У ранней церкви были смешанные мнения о ее подлинности, и мы знаем о ней только из сочинений других.

Климент Александрийский цитирует его, описывая еретическую секту христианства, известную как Николаиты, чье учение Иоанн Богослов утверждает, что Иисус ненавидел (Откровение 2: 6), и говорит нам:

«Мы должны бороться с нашей плотью, не ценить ее и не уступать ей ничего, что могло бы ей льстить, а, наоборот, увеличивать рост нашей души верой и знанием».

Евсевий утверждал, что это тоже написали еретики. Но без самого текста невозможно сказать, какую ценность он мог иметь.

saint matthias

Миссионер Святого Матфея

Как один из Двенадцати, Матиас был апостолом, а это означало, что ему было поручено проповедовать Евангелие и помогать ему распространяться по всему известному миру. Слово, которое мы переводим как апостол (Апостол), буквально означает «тот, кто послан», и все апостолы были куда-то посланы. Но куда именно пошел Матиас, зависит от того, какой традиции вы следуете.

Служение Святого Матфея

Согласно преданию, считается, что после сошествия Святого Духа Матиас служил и проповедовал Евангелие в Иерусалиме и Иудее с другими апостолами.

Из Иерусалима он отправился в сирийскую Антиохию и присутствовал в городе Титан и Синоп. Во время пребывания здесь святой Матфий был заключен в тюрьму, но чудесным образом освобожден.Святой Андрей Первозванный. После этого он отправился в город Амасея, который находился на берегу Каспийского моря.

Он сопровождал апостола Андрея в трехлетнем путешествии и был с ним в Эдессе и Севастах. Согласно традиции, он проповедовал в Понтийской Эфиопии (ныне Западной Грузии) и Македонии. Там его постоянно преследовали, но он продолжал проповедовать им Евангелие.

st matthias church richmond greater london
St Matthias Church Richmond Greater London

По одной из версий истории понтийские эфиопы считались язычниками и варварами, и они заставляли святого выпить яд. Но он остался невредимым, потому что у него была защита Господа, и он даже исцелил других заключенных, ослепленных ядом.

Святой Матфий вышел из темницы, и это взбесило язычников, тщетно искавших его. Они намеревались убить святого, и, согласно легенде, земля разверзлась и поглотила их.

После этого он вернулся в Иудею и продолжил просвещать своих соотечественников об учении Христа. Он также рассказал им, как он смог творить чудеса во имя Господа Иисуса и побудил многих поверить в Христа.

Это привело в ярость еврейского первосвященника Анания, ненавидевшего Христа. Он уже приказал казнить апостола Иакова в прошлом и решил арестовать Матиаса. Святой предстал перед синедрионом в Иерусалиме на суд.

Во время слушания первосвященник Анания кощунственно оклеветал Господа. Но Матфий, используя пророчества Ветхого Завета, объяснил, что Иисус Христос есть «Истинный Бог, обещанный Мессия, Сын Божий, Единосущный и Вечный с Богом Отцом».

mathias (winterhalder) - st. margarethen, waldkirch
Mathias (Winterhalder) - St. Margarethen, Waldkirch

Отражение

В чем была святость Матиаса? Очевидно, он был пригоден для апостольства благодаря опыту пребывания с Иисусом от его крещения до вознесения. Он также должен был подходить лично, иначе он не был бы номинирован на такую большую ответственность.

Не должны ли мы напоминать себе, что основная святость Матиаса заключалась в том, что он с радостью принял отношения с Отцом, предложенные ему Иисусом и завершенные Святым Духом?

Если апостолы являются основанием нашей веры своим свидетельством, они также должны напоминать, хотя бы косвенно, что святость полностью зависит от того, что дает Бог и что она предлагается всем в повседневных жизненных обстоятельствах. Мы получаем, и даже для этого Бог дает силу свободы.

Смерть и наследие

Согласно Никифору, святой Матфий былзабит камнями до смертив Эфиопии (современная Грузия). Сохранившиеся коптские «Деяния Андрея и Матиаса» подтверждают эту историю. Маркер, установленный на руинах римской крепости в Гонии, утверждает, что святой похоронен на этом месте.

The Synopsis of Dorotheus also talks about a similar story. It claims that Matthias was preaching the Gospel in the sea harbour of Hyssus and at the mouth of the river Phasis. He died at Sebastopolis and was buried near the Temple of the Sun.

stadtpfarrkirche ro oö hochaltar - apostel matthias 1710
Stadtpfarrkirche RO OÖ Hochaltar - Apostel Matthias 1710

Согласно другому преданию, святого Матфия жители Иерусалима побили камнями после того, как он разгневал Ананию. После его смерти евреи обезглавили его, чтобы скрыть свое преступление. Его убийцы заклеймили его как врага Цезаря. По словам Ипполита Римского, святой скончался от старости в Иерусалиме.

Говорят, что императрица Елена, мать императора Константина I, привезла останки святой в Италию. Часть этих реликвий была помещена в аббатство Санта-Джустина, а остальные - в аббатство святого Матьяша.

Латинская церковь отмечает праздник Святого Матфея 14 мая, а Греческая церковь празднует его 9 августа.

Ключевые выводы

Матфий, имя которого означает «дар Божий», был учеником, избранным вместо Иуды в качестве одного из двенадцати апостолов. В Деяниях Апостолов говорится, что он был также одним из 72 учеников, которых Господь Иисус послал проповедовать благую весть. Матфий был с Господом с момента Его крещения и был «свидетелем Воскресения Христа», согласно Св. Петру в Деяниях. Он оставался с Иисусом до Его Вознесения.

Согласно различным традициям, Матиас проповедовал в Каппадокии, Иерусалиме, на берегах Каспийского моря (в современной Турции) и Эфиопии. Говорят, что он встретил свою смерть распятием в Колхиде или побиванием камнями в Иерусалиме.

Некоторые из отцов ранней церкви приводят свидетельства того, что в обращении было Евангелие от Матфия, но с тех пор оно было утеряно и было объявлено апокрифом Папой Геласием.

К нему обращаются за помощью в борьбе с алкоголизмом и за выздоровевшими алкоголиками.

saint matthias, ca. 1317–19, workshop of simone martini italian
Saint Matthiasca. 1317–19
Workshop of Simone Martini Italian

Заключение

The Bible tells us almost nothing about Matthias. But what we do know is that he’d been following Jesus from the beginning despite not receiving a personal invitation, like the оригинальные члены Двенадцати. И был ли Матиас апостолом замыслом Бога или Петра, он стал неотъемлемым лидером церкви первого века и сыграл важную роль в распространении Евангелия по всему миру.

Ресурсы

Пролистать наверх Защищено miniOrange

St. Matthias

Matthias (also known as Saint Matthias in the Catholic church) was chosen by the remaining eleven disciples to replace the betrayer, Judas Iscariot before Jesus’ resurrection.

Saint James

Saint Matthias the Apostle

Saint Matthias
Saint Matthias the Apostle

The scriptural recommendation was for twelve disciples and so the Apostle Peter declared that they must choose another to take the place of Judas Iscariot.

Matthias was chosen as the twelfth Apostle since he was present with Jesus Christ during his time on Earth as well as through his crucifixion.

While two men were chosen to take the twelfth place in the Apostles lots were drawn and Matthias was selected as the twelfth and final Apostle.

Table Of Contents

Who was Saint Matthias?

According to the biblical “Acts of Apostles 1:21–26,” Saint Matthias was a disciple chosen by the apostles as a replacement for Judas Iscariot after the latter’s betrayal of Jesus Christ. It was important that the community endured even after the crucifixion to spread the Christian faith all around the world, and it was crucial that the number of apostles remained 12, as 12 was the number of tribes of Israel and a twelfth apostle was required for the coming of the new Israel.

Jesus himself chose the original 12 apostles, and the rest of the apostles chose Saint Matthias after the Ascension. They cast their votes through lots and selected Matthias.

There is no further information about him in the New Testament. It is believed that Matthias placed his faith in Jesus Christ above everything else and was present with the other apostles at Pentecost. He embraced all the teachings of Jesus and sacrificed his life for the service of the Lord, even after being persecuted by many.

He also worked many miracles in the name of Lord Jesus, which converted many to the Christian faith. He is a patron of carpenters, tailors, and those who are affected by smallpox.

Childhood & Early Life

Saint Matthias was born in the 1st century AD, at Judaea. In his early youth, he studied the Law of God under Saint Simeon. According to the acts, it is said that Matthias had accompanied the Lord from the time of his baptism and was among the 72 disciples paired off and dispatched by Jesus.

The Gospel of Matthias

The Gospel of Matthias is a lost text which claims to be written by Matthias. The early church had mixed opinions on its authenticity, and we only know about it from the writings of others.

Clement of Alexandria quotes it while describing a heretical sect of Christianity known as the Nicolaitanes—whose teachings John the Revelator claims Jesus hated (Revelation 2:6)—telling us it says,

“We must combat our flesh, set no value upon it, and concede to it nothing that can flatter it, but rather increase the growth of our soul by faith and knowledge”.

Eusebius claimed it was written by heretics as well. But without the text itself, it’s impossible to say what value it may have had.

Saint Matthew Missionary

As one of the Twelve, Matthias was an apostle, which meant he was charged with preaching the gospel and helping it spread throughout the known world. The word we translate as an apostle (Apostolos) literally means “one who is sent,” and all of the apostles were sent somewhere.
But where exactly Matthias went depends on which tradition you follow.

Saint Matthew Ministry

According to tradition, it is believed that, after the Descent of the Holy Spirit, Matthias ministered and preached the Gospel at Jerusalem and in Judaea with the other apostles.

From Jerusalem, he went to the Syrian Antioch and was present in the city of Titanium and Sinope. During his time here, Saint Matthias was imprisoned but was freed miraculously by Saint Andrew the First-Called. After this, he traveled to the city of Amasea, which was on the shore of the Caspian Sea.

He accompanied Apostle Andrew during a three-year journey and was with him at Edessa and Sebaste. According to a tradition, he preached at Pontine Ethiopia (presently known as Western Georgia) and Macedonia. He was constantly persecuted by the people there but kept preaching the Gospel to them.

In one version of the story, the Pontine Ethiopians were considered to be pagans and barbarians, and they forced the saint to drink poison. But he remained unharmed because he had the Lord’s protection, and he even healed other prisoners who were blinded by the poison.

Saint Matthias left the prison, and this enraged the pagans who kept searching for him in vain. They intended to kill the saint, and according to the story, the earth opened up and engulfed them.

After this, he returned to Judaea and continued enlightening his countrymen about Christ’s teachings. He also told them how he was able to perform miracles in the name of Lord Jesus and motivated many to have faith in Christ.

This enraged the Jewish High Priest Ananias, who hated Christ. He had already ordered the execution of Apostle James in the past and decided to arrest Matthias. The saint was brought for judgment before the Sanhedrin at Jerusalem.

During the hearing, High Priest Ananias slandered the Lord with a blasphemous speech. But Apostle Matthias, using the prophecies of the Old Testament, explained that Jesus Christ is “the True God, the promised Messiah, the Son of God, Consubstantial and Coeternal with God the Father.”

Reflection

What was the holiness of Matthias? Obviously, he was suited for apostleship by the experience of being with Jesus from his baptism to his ascension. He must also have been suited personally, or he would not have been nominated for so great a responsibility.

Must we not remind ourselves that the fundamental holiness of Matthias was his receiving gladly the relationship with the Father offered him by Jesus and completed by the Holy Spirit?

If the apostles are the foundations of our faith by their witness, they must also be reminders, if only implicitly, that holiness is entirely a matter of God’s giving, and it is offered to all, in the everyday circumstances of life. We receive, and even for this God supplies the power of freedom.

Death & Legacy

According to Nicephorus, Saint Matthias was stoned to death in Ethiopia (modern-day Georgia). An extant Coptic “Acts of Andrew and Matthias,” validates this story. A marker that is placed on the ruins of the Roman fortress at Gonia claims that the saint is buried at that site.

The Synopsis of Dorotheus also talks about a similar story. It claims that Matthias was preaching the Gospel in the sea harbor of Hyssus and at the mouth of the river Phasis. He died at Sebastopolis and was buried near the Temple of the Sun.

In another tradition, Saint Matthias was stoned by the people of Jerusalem after he enraged Ananias. After his death, he was beheaded by the Jews to conceal their crime. His killers then branded him as an enemy of Caesar. According to Hippolytus of Rome, the saint died of old age in Jerusalem.

It is said that Empress Helena, the mother of Emperor Constantine I, brought the saint’s remains to Italy. A part of these relics was placed in the Abbey of Santa Giustina and the remaining in the Abbey of St. Matthias.

The Latin Church celebrates the feast of Saint Matthias on 14th May, and the Greek Church celebrates it on 9th August.

Key Takeaway

Matthias, whose name means “gift of God”, was the disciple chosen to replace Judas as one of the twelve Apostles. The Acts of the Apostles state that he was also one of the 72 disciples that the Lord Jesus sent out to preach the good news. Matthias was with the Lord since His Baptism, and was “a witness to Christ’s Resurrection,” according to St. Peter in Acts. He remained with Jesus until His Ascension.

According to various traditions, Matthias preached in Cappadocia, Jerusalem, the shores of the Caspian Sea (in modern-day Turkey), and Ethiopia. He is said to have met his death by crucifixion in Colchis or by stoning in Jerusalem.

There is evidence cited in some of the early Church fathers that there was a Gospel according to Matthias in circulation, but it has since been lost and was declared apocryphal by Pope Gelasius.

He is invoked for assistance against alcoholism, and for support by recovered alcoholics.

Conclusion

The Bible tells us almost nothing about Matthias. But what we do know is that he’d been following Jesus from the beginning—despite not receiving a personal invitation, like the original members of the Twelve. And whether Matthias being an apostle was God’s design or Peter’s, he became an integral leader in the first-century church and played an important role in spreading the gospel throughout the world.

Resources

https://overviewbible.com/matthias-the-apostle/
https://www.thefamouspeople.com/profiles/saint-matthias-37245.php
https://www.franciscanmedia.org/saint-of-the-day/saint-matthias

Scroll to Top