使徒聖馬太

matthew 3 edited
聖馬太

Jude, Thaddeus, or Lebbeus, son of Alpheus or Cleophas and Mary. Alpheus or Cleophas and Mary’s son, Jude, Thaddeus, or Lebbeus. He was James the Younger’s younger brother.

聖馬太被廣泛認為是馬太福音的作者。當耶穌召見馬太時,他是個稅吏(或稅吏),古代猶太教中最受鄙視的職業之一。

11 月 16 日,東方天主教徒和東正教教堂紀念聖馬太,以及聖富爾維安努斯,一位據說在此後從異教皈依的王子。馬修的殉道.

馬可福音和路加福音的記載,就像馬太的一樣,描述了耶穌在馬太徵稅的意外背景下與馬太的相遇。

因為他們為佔領國工作,並且經常通過收集超過國家應有的收入來謀生,因此代表公元一世紀猶地亞的羅馬統治者徵稅的猶太稅吏受到社區的辱罵甚至憎恨。

聖馬太是一個令人驚訝的晦澀難懂的新約人物,在福音書中只有少數提到。

儘管教會長期以來一直認為他是馬太福音的作者,但關於他的其他信息卻知之甚少。

雖然馬太被人們銘記為烈士,但沒有人知道他在哪里或如何死亡。各種說法聲稱他被斬首、用石頭砸死、被燒毀或被刺傷;有人甚至聲稱他是自然死亡,約翰也是如此。

print, st. matthew (s.mathevs), 1650
Print, St. Matthew (S.Mathevs), 1650

聖馬太出生/早年

根據福音書,亞勒腓的兒子利未是 1 世紀的加利利人(大概出生在加利利,不屬於猶太或羅馬的猶太行省)。作為一名稅務員,他會說流利的阿拉姆語和希臘語。他的猶太人同胞會因為他涉嫌與羅馬占領者合作而鄙視他。

馬太受召後,邀請耶穌到他家過節。文士和法利賽人看到這一點,就責備耶穌與稅吏和罪人一起吃飯。這促使耶穌回答說:“我來不是召義人,而是召罪人悔改。”

與耶穌同在的聖馬太生活

saint matthew and the angel
Saint Matthew and the Angel 

在耶穌邀請馬太跟隨他的同一天,馬太在迦百農的家中舉辦了一場盛大的告別宴會,邀請他的朋友也來見耶穌。馬太沒有徵稅,而是開始為神的國度收集靈魂。

馬太,儘管他有罪惡的過去,卻是獨一無二的門徒。他保持著細緻的記錄,並且是一個敏銳的觀察者。他關注最小的細節。大約 20 年後,當他寫下馬太福音時,這些特徵就派上用場了。

從表面上看,耶穌選擇稅吏作為他最親密的追隨者之一似乎是可恥和冒犯的,因為猶太人普遍鄙視稅吏。

儘管如此,在四位福音書作者中,馬太將耶穌作為人們期待已久的彌賽亞呈現給猶太人,為他們的問題量身定制了他的敘述。

聖馬太成就

馬太是耶穌基督的 12 個門徒之一。作為救主的見證人,馬太在馬太福音中詳細記錄了耶穌的生平、他的出生故事、他的信息和他的許多事蹟。他還是一名傳教士,將福音傳播到其他國家。

matthew the apostle
Matthew the Apostle

聖馬太的優點和缺點

馬修保持著細緻的記錄。他了解人心和猶太人的渴望。他忠於耶穌,一旦委身,他對主的忠心從未動搖。

另一方面,馬太在遇到耶穌之前是個小偷。他認為金錢是生命中最重要的東西,違反了上帝的法律,以犧牲同胞為代價來充實自己。

聖馬太旅行

馬太在完成他的福音書後開始傳播信息。人們認為他曾訪問過敘利亞、媒體、波斯、帕提亞,甚至埃塞俄比亞。

根據穆斯林的釋經,馬太和聖安德魯是去埃塞俄比亞(不是非洲國家,而是里海以南一個叫做“埃塞俄比亞”的地區)傳講上帝信息的兩個門徒。

pareja-vocacion mateo
Pareja-vocacion mateo

馬太福音

其中一個使徒馬太的事實是馬太福音被放置在新約的開頭。它被認為是第一部寫成的福音書,但我們現在知道馬可福音早於它。因為它是最關注猶太教的福音,所以它作為基督教聖經中從舊約到新約的適當過渡。

馬太成為一世紀和二世紀基督徒最重要的福音書,因為它包含了早期教會的所有基本要素:耶穌神奇受孕的故事;解釋禮儀、律法、門徒訓練和教導的重要性;以及耶穌生與死的記述。馬太福音一直被認為是四福音中最重要的。

雖然 2 世紀的教會傳統認為馬太,一位前稅吏和耶穌的十二使徒也被稱為利未,寫了福音書,今天的學者堅持認為沒有明確的證據證明馬太的作者身份。

因為馬太福音在很大程度上依賴於早期的馬可福音以及一世紀後期的口述傳統,所以馬太福音的作者不太可能是基督生平的目擊者。

相反,作者很可能是一個學術社區的猶太成員,在那裡學習和教學是虔誠的虔誠形式,福音很可能寫於公元 80 至 90 年之間

聖馬太禱告

st. matthew prayer
榮耀的聖馬太啊,在您的福音書中,您將耶穌描繪成人們嚮往的彌賽亞,他實現了舊約的先知,並且是新立約教會的新立法者。
為我們獲得恩典,看到耶穌住在他的教會裡,並在我們在地上的生活中遵循他的教導,這樣我們就可以在天堂與他永遠生活在一起。

聖馬太之死

很難說馬太是怎麼死的,因為大多數使徒都是如此。他的死是許多自相矛盾的說法的主題。根據最早的文件,他曾在埃塞俄比亞(不是我們認為的埃塞俄比亞,而是里海以南的地區)、波斯、馬其頓和/或敘利亞服役。

赫拉克倫是最早的新約註釋家之一,亞歷山大的克萊門特引用赫拉克倫的話說,馬太自然死亡。

今天,大多數學者不支持這個說法。

所有其他早期帳戶馬修之死說他殉道了,但他們在這件事發生的方式和地點上存在分歧。根據早期教父的說法,由於他的宗教信仰,他被燒死、用石頭砸死、被刺傷或被斬首。

martirio di san matteo
Martirio di san Matteo

Shop for 聖馬太

Looking for a patron saint to help you with your finances? Saint Matthew might be just the ticket! No matter what your financial situation, Saint Matthew can help you get ahead. Check out our selection of Saint Matthew products and find the perfect one for you!

關鍵外賣 聖馬太

馬太這個名字的意思是上帝的禮物。在他的召喚故事中,馬克和盧克稱他為“利未”。也許這是他原來的名字,當他成為門徒時,耶穌給了他一個新名字。也有人提出他只是利未部落的成員。

守護神的定義和含義是什麼,為什麼這些人被選為事業、職業和國家的守護神?

在包括羅馬天主教在內的基督教宗教中,“贊助人”一詞是指被視為特定人群或國家的捍衛者的聖潔而有道德的男女。幾乎每一個事業、國家、職業或特殊興趣都有一個贊助人。聖馬太是會計師、銀行家、簿記員、海關官員、資金經理、股票經紀人、稅務員的讚助人。

聖馬太總結

人們對聖馬太知之甚少,只知道他是阿爾菲斯的兒子,很可能出生在加利利。他是一名稅吏,這在基督時代是一種被人鄙視的職業。

根據福音書,當基督走近馬修時,馬修正在迦百農的一個收集站工作,並說:

“跟著我。”

馬太通過這個簡單的呼召成為基督的門徒。

從馬太福音中,我們了解到基督的許多作為,以及他向所有通過他來到上帝面前的人傳播的救恩信息。學者們對馬太福音記載的真實性充滿信心,因為它講述了與其他三部福音書相同的故事。他的書是新約四福音書中的第一本。

Frequently Asked Questions about the Apostle Matthew

What was Matthew’s occupation?

Matthew was a 收稅員.
This answer is based on information found in Bible (Mark 2:14). As a tax collector, Matthew would have been responsible for collecting taxes on behalf of the Roman government from the people living in his region. Tax collectors were often despised and looked down upon by their fellow Jews because they were seen as collaborators with the Roman authorities.

What does the name Matthew mean?

The name Matthew comes from the Hebrew name Mattityahu, which means “gift of God.” The biblical figure Matthew was one of the twelve disciples and one of the four evangelists. He was also a tax collector, and his gospel is unique in that it focuses heavily on Jesus’ human side, emphasizing his teachings and miraculous acts. In recent years, the name Matthew has been quite popular in English-speaking countries. It ranked in as the #7 most popular boys’ name in 2017
So what does the name Matthew mean? It means “gift of God,” a powerful meaning for such a common name. If you’re looking for a strong yet approachable name for your son, look no further.

Why is Matthew called Levi?

Matthew is called Levi because he was originally a tax collector. Tax collectors were not generally looked upon favorably in those days, so when Levi became a follower of Jesus, he took on the new name of Matthew, which means “gift of God.”

What was Matthew’s relationship with Jesus?

Records show that Matthew and Jesus were close friends. In fact, many believe that Matthew was the one who originally came up with the idea for Jesus’ ministry. The two were said to have a lot in common, and they enjoyed spending time together.
There is no record of any tension between the two, and it’s believed that they had mutual respect for each other. After Jesus’ death, Matthew continued to spread his teachings, and he is said to have been one of the most influential early Christians.

Who did Matthew work for before Jesus?

There’s some debate over this one, but most people believe that Matthew was a tax collector before he met Jesus. Tax collectors were basically despised by everyone because they were in cahoots with the Roman government and would often gouge the people for more money than they were supposed to. But when Jesus came around and started preaching, Matthew was one of the first people to follow Him. And unlike most of the other disciples, Matthew actually had a profession and knew how to read and write, so he was able to record Jesus’ teachings down.

資源聖馬太

滾動到頂部
由 miniOrange 保護

St. Matthew

Matthew the Apostle, also known as Saint Matthew and Levi, was one of Jesus’ twelve apostles, according to the New Testament.

Saint Matthew

The Apostle Saint Matthew

Table Of Contents

Saint Matthew
Saint Matthew

Saint Matthew is widely regarded as the author of Matthew’s Gospel. When Jesus summoned Matthew, he was a tax collector (or publican), one of the most despised professions in ancient Judaism.

On November 16, Eastern Catholics and Orthodox churches commemorate St. Matthew, as well as St. Fulvianus, a prince who is said to have converted from paganism after Matthew’s martyrdom.

The Gospel accounts of Mark and Luke, like Matthew’s, describe Jesus’ encounter with Matthew in the unexpected context of Matthew’s tax-collecting duties.

Because they worked for the occupying power and often earned their living by collecting more than the state’s due, Jewish publicans who collected taxes on behalf of the Roman rulers of first-century Judea were reviled and even hated by their communities.

Saint Matthew is a surprisingly obscure New Testament figure, with only a few mentions in the gospels.

Even though the church has long held him to be the author of the Gospel of Matthew, little else is known about him.

While Matthew is remembered as a martyr, no one knows where or how he died. Various accounts claim he was beheaded, stoned, burned, or stabbed; one even claims he died naturally, as did John.

Saint Matthew Birth/Early Life

Levi, the son of Alphaeus, was a 1st-century Galilean (presumably born in Galilee, which was not part of Judea or the Roman province of Judea), according to the Gospels. He would have been fluent in Aramaic and Greek as a tax collector. His fellow Jews would have despised him for allegedly collaborating with the Roman occupiers.

Following his summons, Matthew invited Jesus to his home for a feast. When the Scribes and Pharisees saw this, they chastised Jesus for eating with tax collectors and sinners. This prompted Jesus to respond, “I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.”

Saint Matthew Life With Jesus

Saint Matthew the Apostle
Saint Matthew the Apostle

On the same day that Jesus invited Matthew to follow him, Matthew hosted a large farewell feast in his home in Capernaum, inviting his friends to meet Jesus as well. Instead of collecting taxes, Matthew began collecting souls for the kingdom of God.

Matthew, despite his sinful past, was uniquely qualified to be a disciple. He kept meticulous records and was a keen observer of people. He paid attention to the smallest details. Those characteristics came in handy when he wrote the Gospel of Matthew some 20 years later.

On the surface, Jesus’ choice of a tax collector as one of his closest followers appeared to be scandalous and offensive, given that tax collectors were widely despised by Jews.

Nonetheless, of the four Gospel writers, Matthew presented Jesus to the Jews as the long-awaited Messiah, tailoring his account to answer their questions.

Saint Matthew Accomplishments

Matthew was one of Jesus Christ’s 12 disciples. As an eyewitness to the Savior, Matthew recorded in the Gospel of Matthew a detailed account of Jesus’ life, the story of his birth, his message, and his many deeds. He was also a missionary, spreading the gospel to other countries.

Saint Matthew Strengths and Weaknesses

Matthew kept meticulous records. He understood the human heart and the Jewish people’s longings. He was devoted to Jesus and, once committed, never wavered in his devotion to the Lord.

Matthew, on the other hand, was a thief before he met Jesus. He considered money to be the most important thing in life and violated God’s laws to enrich himself at the expense of his countrymen.

Saint Matthew Travels

Matthew set out to spread the message after completing his Gospel. He is thought to have visited Syria, Media, Persia, Parthia, and even Ethiopia.

According to Muslim exegesis, Matthew and Saint Andrew were the two disciples who went to Ethiopia (not the African country, but a region called ‘Ethiopia’ south of the Caspian Sea) to preach God’s message.

The Gospel of Matthew

Saint Matthew
Saint Matthew

One of the Matthew the Apostle Facts is that Matthew’s Gospel was placed at the very beginning of the New Testament. It was thought to be the first Gospel written, but we now know that the Gospel of Mark predates it. Because it is the Gospel most concerned with Judaism, it serves as an appropriate transition from the Old Testament to the New Testament in the Christian Bible.

Matthew became the most important Gospel text for first- and second-century Christians because it contains all of the elements essential to the early church: the story of Jesus’ miraculous conception; an explanation of the importance of liturgy, law, discipleship, and teaching; and an account of Jesus’ life and death. The Gospel of Matthew has long been considered the most important of the four Gospels.

While second-century church tradition maintains that Matthew, a former tax collector and one of Jesus’ Twelve Apostles, also known as Levi, wrote the Gospel, scholars today maintain that there is no clear proof of Matthew’s authorship.

Because the Gospel of Matthew relies heavily on the earlier Gospel of Mark, as well as a late first-century oral tradition, it is unlikely that the author of the Gospel of Matthew was an eyewitness to Christ’s life.

Instead, the author was most likely a Jewish member of a learned community where study and teaching were fervent forms of piety, and the Gospel was most likely written between 80 and 90 a.d.

St. Matthew Prayer

St. Matthew Prayer
O Glorious St. Matthew, in your Gospel, you portray Jesus as the longed-for Messiah who fulfilled the Prophets of the Old Covenant and as the new Lawgiver who founded a Church of the New Covenant.
Obtain for us the grace to see Jesus living in his Church and to follow his teachings in our lives on earth so that we may live forever with Him in heaven.

Death of Saint Matthew

It’s difficult to tell how Matthew died, as it is for most of the apostles. His death is the subject of many contradictory accounts. According to the earliest documents, he served in Ethiopia (not what we think of as Ethiopia, but an area south of the Caspian Sea), Persia, Macedonia, and/or Syria.

Heracleon, one of the earliest New Testament commentators, is quoted by Clement of Alexandria as saying that Matthew died naturally.
Today, most scholars do not support this account.

All of the other early accounts of Matthew’s death say that he was martyred, but they differ about how or where this occurred. According to the early church fathers, he was burnt, stoned, stabbed, or beheaded because of his religion.

Key Takeaway Saint Matthew

The name “Matthew” means “God’s gift.” In the story of his calling, Mark and Luke call him “Levi.” Perhaps this was his original name, and when he became a disciple, Jesus gave him a new name. It has also been proposed that he was simply a member of the Levite tribe.
What is the definition and meaning of Patron Saints, and why were these individuals chosen to be patrons of causes, professions, and countries?

In Christian religions, including the Roman Catholic religion, the term “Patron” refers to holy and virtuous men and women who are regarded as defenders of a specific group of people or a country. There is a patron for virtually every cause, country, profession, or special interest. St. Matthew is the patron of accountants, bankers, bookkeepers, customs officers, money managers, stockbrokers, tax collectors.

Saint Matthew Summary

Little is known about St. Matthew, except that he was the son of Alpheus and was most likely born in Galilee. He worked as a tax collector, which was a despised occupation during Christ’s time.

According to the Gospel, Matthew was working at a collection booth in Capernaum when Christ approached him and said, “Follow me.” Matthew became a disciple of Christ through this simple call.

From Matthew, we learn about Christ’s many deeds and the message of salvation that He spread to all who come to God through Him. Scholars are confident in the authenticity of Matthew’s Gospel account because it tells the same story as the other three Gospels. His book is the first of the four Gospels in the New Testament.

Resources St. Matthew

https://overviewbible.com/matthew-the-apostle/
https://medium.com/@Troy_Beecham_Episcopal/matthew-the-apostle-evangelist-and-martyr-also-known-as-saint-matthew-and-as-levi-was-52cceb74585b
https://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=84
https://www.learnreligions.com/matthew-tax-collector-and-apostle-701067
https://stmargaretmary.org/st-matthew-the-apostle/

Scroll to Top