Saint Jude et son histoire

Cette histoire de St Jude (1er siècle de notre ère), également connu sous le nom de Saint Judas ou Jude Thaddeus, est considérée comme l'une desDouze Apôtres. Il est celui de Jésus "frère» et l'auteur le plus probable de l'Épître de Jude.

Various Christian churches consider Jude the Apostle to be a saint. For example, the Armenian Apostolic Church honors him alongside Saint Bartholomew. Roman Catholics revere him as the patron saint of dismal situations and misdirected causes. He can no longer be concerned about Judas Iscariot or any other Apostle who eventually betrayed Jesus. Their name is a Greek form of Judah, becoming well-known. 

Qui est Saint Jude ?

Dans l'histoire de saint Jude, qui était l'un des douze apôtres et le jeune frère de Jacques le Mineur, nous trouvons qu'il est un mystère de nombreux types de discernement. Il entre et sort du récit de l'évangile d'une manière calme et historique, presque comme s'il tentait activement de noyer son personnage dans celui du Christ plutôt que d'attirer l'attention sur lui-même. Cette obscurité est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles il est resté méconnu et oublié pendant des siècles.

the story of st jude
Saint Jude Thaddeus

Néanmoins, au cours des siècles qui se sont écoulés depuis Jésus et sesVie et mort des apôtres, une énorme quantité de sous-culture et de mythologie s'est développée autour de la vie de saint Jude. Les historiens peuvent rassembler divers fragments de matériel pour fournir au moins une image compréhensible de ce saint exceptionnel. Bien que nous ayons soigneusement examiné les preuves surSaint-Jude, notre but ici n'est pas toujours d'en fournir des enregistrements précis ou cliniques.

Un autre récit évangélique indique que Marie, la mère de Jacques et de Jude, avait été témoin de Jésus lors de son ministère itinérant en Galilée. À la fin, elle avait été témoin de la crucifixion et de la mort du Sauveur (Marc 15 :40, Matt. 17 :56). Dans l'évangile de Jean, nous rencontrons une Marie positive, la femme de Clopas, qui a une relation avec la Mère Douloureuse sous la croix (Jean 19:25).

Certains ont tenté d'établir Marie de Clopas comme l'homme ou la femme identique à la mère de Jacques et de Joses dans l'une des nombreuses tentatives d'harmoniser les différents récits évangéliques (et par conséquent de Jude). Contrairement à cette idée, le Père de Jacques et de Jude est communément appelé Alphaeus, et rien dans les Évangiles n'indique son nom.

D'ailleurs, Marie devient un banal appel. Cependant, il est évident que la liste des femmes qui ont vécu la Passion du Seigneur est insuffisante et diffère de chaque sous-culture évangélique. En tout cas, nous reconnaissons que Marie, la mère de Jacques et Jude, est devenue un don sur l'ardeur et la mort du Seigneur, et que, dans l'Évangile de Jean, non seulement la Mère de Jésus mais aussi les autres dames qui ont suivi lui ont été offerts comme modèles de croyants.

Jude est appelé « Thaddée » dans les évangiles de Marc et Matthieu, peut-être pour le distinguer destraître Judas Iscariotparce que Judas et Jude sont le même nom en araméen (Yehuda) et en grec (Cloudas). Dans certaines premières copies de l'Évangile de Matthieu, Jude est parfois appelé "Lebbaeus".

Le nom "Thaddaeus" semble être dérivé de l'expression araméenne Taddal, qui signifie "l'homme à la large poitrine (bienfaisant ou courageux)", tandis que "Lebbaeus", dérivé de l'expression hébraïque Feb (cœur), signifie "coeur" ou "du cœur", ce qui implique que chaque nom peut être une manière distincte de prononcer presque la même chose. Étant le cousin de Jésus, Jude aurait dû naître et grandir près du Seigneur.

Ils résidaient tous les deux à ou autour de Nazareth (Marc 6:3). Bien que nous ne sachions pas lequel est né le premier, ils devraient avoir à peu près le même âge. Tous deux se sont probablement produits ensemble dans la maison de Joseph ou d'Alphée; tous deux allaient fréquemment aux offrandes à la synagogue avec leurs parents; chacun d'eux s'étendait à la vie, à la splendeur des champs galiléens, à la mélodie des oiseaux, aux sentiments de la puberté.

Nous sommes informés que Jésus a grandi dans la connaissance, la stature et le désir alors qu'il interagissait avec Dieu et ses créations (Luc 2:52). Son humanité s'est étendue au-delà de la douceur intérieure qui a conduit à un amour et une révérence massifs pour son parent céleste. Jude devrait être un témoignage de la croissance parfaitement humaine de Jésus. Comme tous les autres juifs éminents de son époque, Jude aurait dû trouver une alternative. Le peuple juif s'est toujours senti obligé d'améliorer le monde créé. De plus, les circonstances socio-économiques ont forcé la plupart des gens à travailler dur pour gagner leur vie. On ne sait plus qui est devenu le remplaçant de Jude.

Le mariage était considéré comme une exigence religieuse par les Juifs, et un homme devait se marier vers l'âge de 18 ans. Plus tard, la tradition de l'église, qui a toujours dépeint Jean commele disciple virginal, a également souligné que les autres membres des Douze Apôtres étaient tous des hommes mariés. Jésus et les parents et amis du marié étaient probablement certainement présents aux célébrations du mariage.

st jude thaddeus
St Jude Thaddeus

Disciple et ami de Jésus

Quand Jésus avait environ 30 ans, il a quitté sa famille et s'est rendu en Judée, où un prophète, Jean, connu sous le nom de Jean-Baptiste, a prédit la venue du "Jour du Seigneur" et a baptisé des personnes qui ont adopté son message de repentance. Jean a également baptisé Jésus à l'intérieur du Jourdain. Il retourna rapidement en Galilée pour commencer son ministère nomade.

Il a annoncé l'émergence du règne de Dieu - l'implication décisive de Dieu dans les archives humaines pour stocker tous les humains - et a supplié les humains de se repentir pour simplement accepter l'invitation gracieuse de Dieu. C'est devenu un message libérateur qui insistait sur la révélation de la bonté de Dieu d'une manière distincte de la prédication furieuse de Jean. Jésus a annoncé la rémission des péchés et a guéri de nombreux malades. La grâce de Dieu s'est vraiment transformée en se transformant en la vision d'eux.

Dans cette mission de communiquer l'amour de Dieu, Jésus a rapidement commencé à chercher des compagnons de route. Un groupe de Galiléens, comprenant des hommes et des femmes, a commencé à le suivre et est devenu ses partisans. Saint Jude et Marie, la mère de Jude, étaient parmi eux, qui sont venus et sont repartis, servant Jésus, le Maître. Jude a dû faire ledécision difficilede quitter sa femme et leurs deux jeunes enfants.

Jude, comme Pierre, les deux Jacques, Jean, Marie-Madeleine et diverses dames comme la veuve de Chuza, ont beaucoup appris de Jésus sur la miséricorde et la providence du Père céleste, sur la générosité, sur l'amour du prochain, et particulièrement suramour pour les pécheurs, les exclus et les malades. Non seulement Jésus est entré dans les synagogues, mais aussi dans les maisons des collecteurs d'impôts. Il a traversé les routes poussiéreuses de Galilée et de la région géographique environnante avec Jésus et s'est assis le long du lac de Génésareth. Souvent, il devait protéger son cousin des fardeaux qui pesaient sur lui. C'est devenu son temps de scolarité pour l'apostolat.

Jude était devenu un ami de Jésus d'une manière qu'il n'avait jamais été auparavant. Selon Marc, Jésus a convoqué les douze apôtres "pour être avec lui" (Marc 3:14). Il y avait un fort lien de communion entre Jésus et ces hommes qui partageaient son labeur et sa fatigue et qui attendaient avec confiance en eux et aspiraient au règne de la faveur divine.

Selon Marc, Jésus a déclaré à une occasion que son cercle légitime de parents était composé de personnes comme ses disciples, hommes et femmes qui ont accompli la volonté de Dieu - qui ont établi son message selon lequel le père souhaite nous garder (Marc 3:34- 35). Jude avait progressé d'être un parent charnel de Jésus pour amener son frère spirituel.

statue of saint jude the apostle

Statue de Saint Jude l'Apôtre

Vous cherchez une statue sainte à la fois unique et élégante ?

Ne cherchez pas plus loin que la statue de Saint Jude l'Apôtre.

Cette œuvre d'art artisanale est fabriquée à partir de pâte de bois et finie avec un beau placage de bois, ce qui la rend parfaite pour votre maison ou votre bureau.

Saint Jude est connu comme le saint patron des causes perdues, donc si vous avez besoin d'une intervention divine, c'est la statue qu'il vous faut !

C'est également un excellent cadeau pour toute personne dans votre vie qui pourrait utiliser un peu d'espoir.

Avec une hache dans une main et un livre dans l'autre, il se tient droit et prêt à vous aider quoi qu'il arrive.

La finition en bois de cette statue lui donne un look classique qui s'intégrera parfaitement à n'importe quel décor.

We may receive a commission for purchases made through the following affiliate link.

Le ministère de la grâce de Dieu

Un jour, Jésus rassembla les Douze Apôtres et les envoya dans l'arène pour annoncer la présence de la terre de Dieu et rendre ce royaume visible en guérissant les malades (Marc 6:7, Matt. 10:6-8). Ils ont avancé par voie de. Nous ne savons pas qui Jude est devenu lors de son premier ministère.

À un moment donné, dans les villes et les villages, ils ont prêché l'offre gracieuse de salut de Dieu et ont supplié leurs auditeurs de se repentir. Ils soignaient les malades et cultivaient l'hospitalité de ceux qui les recevaient. Ils ont cependant refusé d'être remboursés pour leurs services.

Ils ont spécifiquement dirigé leur message vers l'emplacement des moutons égarés d'Israël. Bien sûr, ils ont mentionné Jésus. Leur expérience aurait dû être comparable à celle des 70 disciples ; Luc seul en rend compte (Luc 10 :17-20). Ils sont revenus de leur mission épuisés mais aussi ravis ; ils avaient vu que les démons s'étaient inclinés devant eux et que les malades avaient été guéris lorsqu'ils avaient appelé le nom de Jésus.

Tradition et légende

Saint Jude a proclamé l'Évangile dans toute la Judée, la Samarie, l'Idumée, la Syrie, la Mésopotamie et la Libye, parmi plusieurs autres endroits. Il aurait également été à Beyrouth et à Édesse. D'autre part, l'émissaire de ce dernier est Thaddée d'Edesse, Addaï, l'un des soixante-dix. Nicephorus Callistus , un écrivain du XIVe siècle, accorde à Jude la position d'époux aux noces de Cana. Selon l'histoire,Saint Jude est né directement dans leur famille juive à Paneas, une ville galiléenne reconstruite sous l'Empire romain et rebaptisée Césarée de Philippe.

Comme pratiquement tous ses contemporains de cette région, ils parlaient probablement à la fois le grec et l'araméen ettravaillait comme agriculteur de métier. Selon la mythologie, saint Jude s'est transformé en fils de Clopas et de Marie de Clopas, la sœur de la Vierge Marie. Selon la légende, le père de Jude, Clopas, a été crucifié pour son engagement direct et ardent envers le Christ ressuscité.

saint jude
Saint Jude

Bien que Saint Grégoire l'Illuminateur soit crédité comme "l'Apôtre des Arméniens" parce qu'il a baptisé le Roi Tiridate III d'Arménie en 301, convertissant les Arméniens, les Apôtres Jude et Barthélemy apparaissent historiquement comme les premiers à apporter le Christianisme en Arménie et sont ainsi commémorés comme saints clients de l'Église apostolique arménienne. Cette culture est liée au monastère Saint Thaddeus (maintenant situé dans le nord de l'Iran) et auSaint-BarthélemyMonastère (maintenant situé dans le sud de la Turquie), tous deux intégrés en Arménie.

Le dernier voyage

Selon les célèbres traditions que nous avions suivies, saint Jude a persévéré à faire des voyages missionnaires pendant de nombreuses années, changeant un nombre substantiel d'humains en Mésopotamie, en Arménie, en Perse et probablement même dans le sud de la Russie.

Son cousin divin a changé d'avis lors du dernier voyage et a décidé de l'expédier. Une foule idolâtre l'a attaqué, probablement incité par Zeroes et Arfaxat, et l'a matraqué à mort avec des gourdins. Près de 20 siècles plus tard, l'apôtre est toujours représenté avec l'adhésion en souvenir de son martyre.

Une autre symbole associé à saint Judeest la hache puisqu'après avoir été matraqué à mort, il a été décapité avec une hache. Une flamme est également fréquemment représentée volant au-dessus de la tête de saint Jude, suggérant qu'il est devenu l'un des apôtres sur lesquels le Saint-Esprit est tombé sous forme de langues de flammes; il représente également la présence des langues que les Apôtres ont reçu à l'époque.

Les restes de Simon et de Jude reposent depuis des siècles dans l'église mère de la chrétienté, Saint-Pierre à Rome. Dès 1548, nous avons un record que le pape Paul III a accordé une indulgence plénière à tous ceux qui ont visitéTombe de saint Jude le jour de sa fête, le 28 octobre.

L'historien Eusèbe, citant cette fois Hégésippe, raconte une légende sur les petits-fils de Jude. Il semble que l'empereur Domitien ait découvert qu'il y avait des parents de la famille de Jésus (et donc de la lignée davidique) résidant en Palestine. Il les a sommés de se tenir devant lui et a remis en question leur place dans la vie et leurs croyances.

C'étaient de petits agriculteurs qui subsistaient et payaient des impôts en cultivant de petites parcelles de terre. Lorsque Domitien s'est enquis du Christ et de son royaume, les descendants de Jude ont répondu que le Christ était un royaume spirituel. L'empereur les a relâchés et la persécution des chrétiens a pris fin peu de temps après. Lorsque les petits-fils de Jude retournèrent dans leur pays, ils poursuivirent leur travail de direction d'églises locales en Palestine, où ils furent reconnus et considérés comme des parents et des témoins du Seigneur.

Patronage Saint Jude

Certains catholiques romains voient Saint Jude comme le «saint patron des causes perdues.” Cette histoire découle de la croyance que peu de chrétiens l'ont convoqué parce qu'ils avaient peur de prier le traître du Christ, Judas Iscariot parce que leurs noms sont similaires. À la suite d'être ignoré, Jude est devenu assez désireux d'aider quiconque demandait son aide, allant même jusqu'à intercéder dans les pires situations. L'Église a également voulu encourager la dévotion à cet Apôtre "oublié", déclarant que Saint Jude interviendrait dans toute cause désespérée pour montrer sa bonté et son enthousiasme pour le Christ.

Le service de police de Chicago, les agents des douanes, le Clube de Regatas do Flamengo (une équipe de football à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil) et deux équipes GAA de St Jude, la première à Templeogue Dublin 6W et la seconde à Southampton et Bournemouth sont tous nommés d'après Saint Jude (Royaume-Uni). Parmi les autres bénéficiaires de ses services figurent les personnes dans le besoin et les hôpitaux. L'un de ses homonymes est le St.Jude Children's Research Hospital de Memphis, Tennessee, qui a aidé de nombreux enfants atteints de maladies en phase terminale et leurs familles depuis sa fondation en 1962.

Mort et restes

Saint Jude a été martyrisé vers 65 après JC à Beyrouth, dans la province romaine de Syrie, avec l'apôtre Simon le Zélote, avec qui il est communément identifié. Il est souvent montré tenant une hache sur les photos, reflétant la façon dont il a été tué.

Selon la Légende dorée, les actes et le martyre des saints ont été consignés dans un Actes de Simon et Jude, qui faisait partie de la collection de passions et de légendes traditionnellement associées au légendaire Abdias, évêque de Babylone, et aurait été traduit en latin. par son disciple Tropaeus Africanus.

Selon une tradition, la dépouille de saint Jude a été transférée de Beyrouth à Rome et déposée dans une tombe de la basilique Saint-Pierre, un lieu de pèlerinage populaire pour les chrétiens. Ses cendres sont déposées sous le grand autel du transept gauche de la basilique Saint-Pierre, dans le même tombeau que l'apôtre Simon le Zélote.

Ceux-ci ont été déplacés ici le 27 décembre 1665. Une autre tradition populaire affirme que jusqu'au milieu du XVe siècle, les restes de saint Jude étaient conservés dans un monastère arménien sur une île de la partie nord du lac Issyk-Kul au Kirghizistan. Des récits ultérieurs se demandent si les ruines sont toujours là ou transportées dans une forteresse considérablement plus isolée dans les montagnes du Pamir.

Un ossuaire simple avec l'inscription "Judas Thaddaeus" (o ) a été découvert à Kefar Barukh, dans la vallée de Jezreel, ainsi que les restes de quatre ossuaires non inscrits. Des lampes et autres faïences datent le site du début du IIe siècle.

rosary shrine st jude
Rosary Shrine St Jude

ConclusionL'histoire de saint Jude

Contrairement à Pierre et Jean, l'apôtre Jude était l'un des disciples les plus secrets et les moins connus de Jésus. Il n'a été mentionné que quelques fois dans les Évangiles synoptiques (Matthieu, Marc et Luc), l'Évangile de Jean et le livre des Actes. Les deux Judes (ou Judas) complètent le cercle des disciples de Jésus, bien qu'ils soient identifiés par leur nom de famille, Iscariote et Thaddeus.

Son identité est devenue plus compliquée lorsque certains versets l'ont nommé le frère de Jésus et de Jacques (Matthieu 13 :55 ; Marc 6 :3), tandis qu'un autre verset l'a désigné comme le fils de Jacques (Matthieu 13 :55 ; Marc 6 :3). (Luc 6:16). Selon la tradition, il a également été identifié comme le fils de Clopas et de Marie, la cousine de la Vierge Marie.

La brève épître portant son nom, écrite entre 65 et 80 après JC, a été attribuée à Jude. L'épître, écrite à des destinataires inconnus, soulignait les dangers de croire enfaux professeurset se terminait par une demande de rester fidèle à la foi chrétienne.

En dehors de cette épître, toute connaissance supplémentaire sur Jude l'Apôtre provient uniquement de la tradition. Ses missions au Levant, en Mésopotamie et en Cyrénaïque (Libye) et son retour à Jérusalem en 62 après JC pour aider son frère, saint Siméon, comme évêque de Jérusalem, en sont des exemples.

Il est mort en martyr en Syrie et un autre apôtre, Simon, le Zélote, et a été vénéré comme le saint patron des causes et des situations désespérées. Sa fête est célébrée chaque 28 octobre.

Référence L'histoire de saint Jude

Faites défiler jusqu'à Haut
Sécurisé par miniOrange

The Story of St Jude

The Story of St Jude (1st century C.E.), Saint Jude also known as St. Judas or Jude Thaddeus, is regarded as one of Jesus’ Twelve Apostles. He is Jesus’ “brother” and the most likely author of the Epistle of Jude. 

Various Christian churches consider Jude the Apostle to be a saint. For example, the Armenian Apostolic Church honors him alongside Saint Bartholomew. Roman Catholics revere him as the patron saint of dismal situations and misdirected causes. He can no longer be concerned about Judas Iscariot or any other Apostle who eventually betrayed Jesus. Their name is a Greek form of Judah, becoming well-known. 

Who is St. Jude?

Within the story of St Jude, who was one of the Twelve Apostles and the younger brother of James the Less, we find he is a mystery of numerous kinds of discernment. He enters and exits the gospel tale in a calm historical past way, almost as if he’s actively attempting to drown his character in that of Christ rather than bringing attention to himself. This obscurity is one of the reasons he has remained unknown and forgotten for centuries.

the story of st jude
Saint Jude Thaddeus

Nonetheless, during the centuries since Jesus and his Apostles’ lives and deaths, a huge amount of subculture and mythology has grown up around the Life of St. Jude. Historians may put together various shards of material to provide at the very least a comprehensible picture of this exceptional saint. Although we have carefully examined the evidence on St. Jude, our goal here isn’t always to provide precise or clinical recordings of him.

Another gospel account indicates that Mary, the mother of James and Jude, had witnessed Jesus during his traveling ministry around Galilee. In the end, she witnessed the Savior’s crucifixion and death (Mark 15:40, Mattew 17:56). In John’s Gospel, we encounter a positive Mary, Clopas’ wife, who has a relationship with the Sorrowful Mother beneath the cross (John 19:25).

Some have attempted to establish Mary of Clopas as the identical man or woman as the mother of James and Joses in one of several attempts to harmonize the various gospel tales (and consequently of Jude). In contrast to this idea, the Father of James and Jude is commonly referred to as Alphaeus, and nothing in the Gospels indicates his name.

Besides, Mary becomes a commonplace call. However, it is apparent that the list of females who experienced the Lord’s Passion is insufficient and differs from each gospel subculture. In any case, we acknowledge that Mary, the mother of James and Jude, became a gift on the ardour and dying of the Lord, and that, within the Gospel of John, not only the Mother of Jesus but also the other ladies who followed her were offered as model believers. 

Jude is referred to as “Thaddaeus” in the Gospels of Mark and Matthew, possibly to distinguish him from the traitor Judas Iscariot because Judas and Jude are the same name in both Aramaic (Yehuda) and Greek (Cloudas). In certain early copies of Matthew’s Gospel, Jude is sometimes referred to as “Lebbaeus.”

The name “Thaddaeus” appears to be derived from the Aramaic phrase Taddal, which means “the broad-chested (beneficent or courageous) man,” whereas “Lebbaeus,” derived from the Hebrew phrase Feb (heart), means “hearty” or “of the heart,” implying that each name may be distinct ways of pronouncing nearly the same thing. Being Jesus’ cousin, Jude should have been born and raised near the Lord. 

They both resided in or around Nazareth (Mark 6:3). Although we don’t know which was born first, they should be around the same age. Both of them most likely performed together inside the house of Joseph or Alphaeus; both of them frequently went to synagogue offerings with their parents; each of them stretched out to life, to the splendour of the Galilean fields, to the melody of the birds, to the sentiments of puberty. 

We’re informed that Jesus grew in knowledge, stature, and desire as He interacted with God and His creations (Luke 2:52). His humanity extended beyond the internal softness that led to a massive love and reverence for his heavenly parent. Jude should be a testament to Jesus’ perfectly human growth. Like every other prominent Jew of his day, Jude should have found an alternative. The Jewish people have always felt compelled to better the created world. Furthermore, socioeconomic circumstances forced most people to work hard to make a livelihood. We no longer know who Jude’s replacement has become.

Marriage was seen as a religious requirement by Jews, and a man was expected to marry around the age of 18. Later church tradition, which always depicted John as the virginal disciple, also emphasized that the other members of the Twelve Apostles were all married men. Jesus and the groom’s relatives and friends were probably definitely present at the wedding celebrations. 

st jude thaddeus
St Jude Thaddeus

Disciple and Friend of Jesus

When Jesus was around 30 years old, he left his family and travelled to Judea, where a prophet, John, known as John the Baptist, predicted the coming “Day of the Lord” and baptized people who embraced his message of repentance. John also baptized Jesus inside the Jordan River. He promptly returned to Galilee to begin his nomadic ministry.

He announced the emergence of God’s reign—decisive God’s involvement in human records to store all humans—and pleaded with humans to repentance to simply accept God’s gracious invitation. It became a liberating message that pressed the revelation of God’s kindness in a manner distinct from John’s furious preaching. Jesus announced the remission of sins and cured many sick people. God’s grace truly transformed into turning into the seeing of their midst.

On this mission to communicate God’s love, Jesus swiftly began searching out fellow travelers. A group of Galileans, including men and women, began following him and became his followers. St. Jude and Mary, Jude’s mother, were among them, who came and departed, ministering to Jesus, the Master. Jude had to make the difficult decision to leave his wife and their two younger children.

Jude, like Peter, the two Jameses, John, Mary Magdalen, and diverse ladies like the widow of Chuza, learned a lot from Jesus about the heavenly father’s mercy and providence, about generosity, about neighborly love, and particularly about love for sinners, the outcast, and the sick. Not alone did Jesus enter synagogues, but also tax collectors’ homes. He traversed the dusty roadways of Galilee and the surrounding geographical region with Jesus and sat alongside the Lake of Gennesaret. Frequently, he had to shield his cousin from the burdens that pressed in on him. This became his schooling time for the apostleship.

Jude had become a friend of Jesus in a way he had never been before. According to Mark, Jesus summoned the Twelve Apostles “to be with him” (Mark 3:14). There was a strong bond of communion between Jesus and those men who shared his labour and tiredness and who looked forward with self-belief and yearning to the reign of divine favour. 

According to Mark, Jesus stated on one occasion that his legitimate circle of relatives comprised of people like his disciples, men, and women who have been fulfilling God’s will—who established his message that the father wishes to keep us (Mark 3:34; Mark 3:35). Jude had progressed from being a fleshly relative of Jesus to bringing his spiritual sibling. 

statue of saint jude the apostle

Statue of Saint Jude the Apostle

Looking for a saintly statue that’s both unique and stylish?

Look no further than the Statue of Saint Jude the Apostle.

This handcrafted work of art is made from wood pulp and finished with a beautiful wood veneer, making it perfect for your home or office.

Saint Jude is known as the patron saint of lost causes, so if you’re in need of some divine intervention, this is the statue for you!

It also makes a great gift for anyone in your life who could use a little bit of hope.

With an axe in one hand and a book in the other, he’s standing tall and ready to help you out no matter what.

The wood finish on this statue gives it a classic look that will fit right in with any décor.

We may receive a commission for purchases made through the following affiliate link.

The Ministry of God’s Grace

One day, Jesus gathered the Twelve Apostles and sent them out into the arena to announce the presence of God’s land and to make that kingdom visible by healing the sick (Mark 6:7, Matt. 10:6-8). They moved forward by way of. We don’t know who Jude became during his first ministry.

At some point in towns and villages, they preached God’s gracious offer of salvation and pleaded with their listeners for repentance. They treated the ill and cultivated the hospitality of those who accepted them. They, however, refused to be reimbursed for their services. 

They specifically directed their message to the location of Israel’s strayed sheep. Of course, they mentioned Jesus. Their experience should have been comparable to that of the 70 disciples; Luke alone provides an account (Luke 10:17; Luke 10:18; Luke 10:19; Luke 10:20). They returned from their mission exhausted but also ecstatic; they’d seen that the devils had bowed to them and that the sick had been cured when they called Jesus’ name. 

Tradition and legend

Saint Jude proclaimed the Gospel throughout Judea, Samaria, Idumaea, Syria, Mesopotamia, and Libya, among several other locations. He is also claimed to have been to Beirut and Edessa. On the other hand, the latter’s emissary is Thaddeus of Edessa, Addai, one of the seventy. Nicephorus Callistus, a 14th-century writer, accords Jude to the position of the bridegroom at Cana’s wedding. According to history, St. Jude was born straight into their Jewish family in Paneas, a Galilean city reconstructed during the Roman Empire and renamed Caesarea Philippi.

Like practically all of his contemporaries in that region, they most likely spoke both Greek and Aramaic and worked as a farmer by trade. According to mythology, St. Jude transformed into the son of Clopas and Mary of Clopas, the Virgin Mary’s sister. According to legend, Jude’s father, Clopas, was crucified for his straightforward and ardent commitment to the resurrected Christ. 

saint jude
Saint Jude

Although Saint Gregory the Illuminator is credited as the “Apostle to the Armenians” because he baptized King Tiridates III of Armenia in 301, converting the Armenians, the Apostles Jude and Bartholomew historically appear as the first to bring Christianity to Armenia and are thus commemorated as client saints of the Armenian Apostolic Church. This culture is tied to the Saint Thaddeus Monastery (now located in northern Iran) and the Saint Bartholomew Monastery (now located in southern Turkey), both built-in Armenia.

The Last Journey

According to the famous traditions we had been following, St. Jude persevered to make missionary trips for many more years, changing substantial numbers of humans in Mesopotamia, Armenia, Persia, and probably even southern Russia.

His divine cousin changed his mind during the final journey and decided to ship him away. An idolatrous crowd attacked him, probably incited by Zeroes and Arfaxat, and bludgeoned him to death with clubs. Almost 20 centuries later, the Apostle is still shown with membership in remembrance of his martyrdom.

Another symbol associated with St. Jude is the axe since after being clubbed to death, he was beheaded with an axe. A flame is also frequently depicted flying over St. Jude’s head, suggesting that he became one of the Apostles on whom the Holy Spirit fell as tongues of flame; it also represents the presence of tongues that the Apostles were given at the time.

Both Simon and Jude’s remains have rested at the mother church of Christendom, St. Peter’s in Rome, for centuries. As far back as 1548, we have a record that Pope Paul III granted a plenary indulgence to all those who visited St. Jude’s tomb on his feast day, October 28.

The historian Eusebius, quoting Hegesippus this time, recounts a legend about Jude’s grandsons. It appears that Emperor Domitian discovered that there were relatives of Jesus’ family (and hence of the Davidic line) residing in Palestine. He summoned them to stand before him and questioned their place in life and their beliefs. 

They were little farmers who subsisted and paid taxes by farming small parcels of land. When Domitian inquired about Christ and his kingdom, Jude’s descendants responded that Christ was a spiritual kingdom. The emperor released them, and the persecution of Christians ended soon after. When the grandsons of Jude returned to their country, they continued their work of heading local churches in Palestine, where they were recognized and regarded as relatives and witnesses of the Lord.

Saint Jude Patronage

Some Roman Catholics see Saint Jude as the “patron saint of lost causes.” This story stems from the belief that few Christians summoned him because they were scared of praying to Christ’s betrayer, Judas Iscariot because their names are similar. As a result of being ignored, Jude became fairly eager to aid anybody who asked for his help, even going so far as to intercede in the direst of situations. The Church also wanted to encourage devotion to this “forgotten” Apostle, stating that Saint Jude would intervene in any hopeless cause to display his goodness and enthusiasm for Christ.

The Chicago Police Department, Customs Officers, the Clube de Regatas do Flamengo (a soccer team in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), and two St Jude’s GAA teams, the first in Templeogue Dublin 6W and the second in Southampton and Bournemouth are all named after Saint Jude (U.K.). Others who benefit from his services include individuals in need and hospitals. One of his namesakes is St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee, which has helped numerous children with terminal illnesses and their families since its foundation in 1962.

Death and remains

Saint Jude was martyred around 65 A.D. in Beirut, in the Roman province of Syria, with the Apostle Simon the Zealot, with whom he is commonly identified. He is commonly shown gripping an axe in photos, reflecting how he was slain.

According to the Golden Legend, the saints’ acts and martyrdom were recorded in an Acts of Simon and Jude, which was among the collection of passions and legends traditionally associated with the legendary Abdias, bishop of Babylon, and said to have been translated into Latin by his disciple Tropaeus Africanus. 

According to one tradition, Saint Jude’s remains was transferred from Beirut to Rome and deposited in a tomb in St. Peter’s Basilica, a popular pilgrimage site for Christians. His ashes are deposited under the grand altar in the left transept of St. Peter’s Basilica, in the same tomb as the Apostle Simon the Zealot.

These were moved here on December 27, 1665. Another popular tradition states that until the mid-15th century, the remains of St. Jude were preserved at an Armenian monastery on an island in Kyrgyzstan’s Issyk-Kul Lake’s northern portion. Later accounts argue whether the ruins are still there or transported to a considerably more isolated fortress in the Pamir Mountains.

A simple ossuary with the inscription “Judas Thaddaeus” (o ) was discovered in Kefar Barukh, Jezreel Valley, together with remains of four uninscribed ossuaries. Lamps and other earthenware dated the site to the early second century. 

rosary shrine st jude
Rosary Shrine St Jude

Conclusion The Story of St Jude

Unlike Peter and John, the Apostle Jude was one of Jesus’ most secretive and little-known disciples. He was only mentioned a few times in the Synoptic Gospels (Matthew, Mark, and Luke), the Gospel of John, and the book of Acts. The two Judes (or Judases) completed Jesus’ circle of disciples, although they were identified by their surname, Iscariot and Thaddeus. 

His identity became more complicated when some verses named him the brother of Jesus and James (Matthew 13:55; Mark 6:3), while another verse designated him as the son of James (Matthew 13:55; Mark 6:3; Luke 6:16). According to tradition, he was also identified as the son of Clopas and Mary, the Virgin Mary’s cousin.

The brief Epistle bearing his name, written between 65 and 80 A.D., was attributed to Jude. The Epistle, written to unknown recipients, highlighted the dangers of believing in false teachers and concluded with a request to remain faithful in the Christian faith. 

Apart from this Epistle, every additional knowledge about Jude the Apostle is derived only from tradition. His missions in the Levant, Mesopotamia, and Cyrenaica (Libya) and his return to Jerusalem in 62 A.D. to assist in his brother, St. Simeon, as Bishop of Jerusalem, are examples of this.

He died as a martyr in Syria and another apostle, Simon, the Zealot, and was venerated as the patron saint of desperate causes and situations. His feast day is celebrated every October 28.

Reference The Story of St Jude

Scroll to Top