使徒圣约翰

the apostle saint john
圣约翰

根据新约,使徒圣约翰是耶稣的十二使徒之一。

他是西庇太和莎乐美的儿子,被普遍认为是最年轻的使徒。十二使徒中的另一位雅各是他的兄弟。

使徒圣约翰(活跃于公元 1 世纪),其中之一耶稣的十二使徒,传统上被认为是第四福音、启示录和三封以他的名字命名的书信或书信的作者。

在整个福音书中,约翰和雅各,以及彼得,都被描绘成所有门徒中与耶稣关系最密切的人。约翰与彼得和雅各一起见证了耶稣在他泊山与摩西和以利亚的超自然交流;耶稣死的前一天晚上,他出现在客西马尼园。

当其他人都抛弃了垂死的耶稣时,只有约翰还在,耶稣将他的母亲玛丽托付给他照顾。耶稣死后,约翰被介绍为耶稣的耶路撒冷门徒的领袖之一。

在使徒行传中,约翰与彼得和雅各一起为耶稣作见证。他和彼得前往撒玛利亚确认新的皈依者(使徒行传 8:14、25)。

saint john
圣约翰

圣约翰出生/起源

约翰,西庇太和莎乐美的儿子,很可能在公元 10 到 15 年间出生在加利利。他的父亲是渔夫,这就是约翰遇见并跟随耶稣时所做的事情(马可福音 5:37)。

他的母亲成为为耶稣的追随者服务的妇女之一(马可福音 15:40-41;16:1)。

他的兄弟雅各也跟随耶稣。两兄弟都被耶稣昵称为 Boanerges,在亚拉姆语中意为“雷霆之子”(马可福音 3:17),因为他们对耶稣的态度是火热的。

diego velázquez 018 (john the evangelist from patmos)
Full title: Saint John the Evangelist on the Island of Patmos Artist: Diego Velazquez Date made: about 1618 Source: http://www.nationalgalleryimages.co.uk/ Contact: [email protected] Copyright © The National Gallery, London

圣约翰与基督的生活

约翰,耶稣呼召的前十二使徒之一,被称为“亲爱的弟子,”非常了解和爱耶稣。他亲眼目睹了他的教导和创造奇迹。在最后的晚餐时,约翰有幸坐在耶稣旁边,靠在他的胸前(约翰福音 13:23)。

当他死在十字架上时,他是唯一留在主身边的门徒,耶稣将他的母亲托付给他(约翰福音 19:25-27)。

通过虔诚地反思耶稣的言行,约翰意识到耶稣是通往永生的道路(约翰福音 14:6)——一种先向门徒启示的生命,然后向所有人启示:“我们所看见的,所听见的,我们传现在给你,好让你也和我们有交通;因为我们与父并祂的儿子耶稣基督相交”(约翰一书 1:3 NAB)。

约翰与耶稣的旅行

在重大事件中,彼得、雅各和约翰与耶稣同行并亲近耶稣。当他使睚鲁的女儿从死里复活时,这三个人都与耶稣在一起,以及在耶稣变身期间,当他披上光袍,摩西和以利亚出现时,这三个人都与耶稣在一起。

当耶稣在客西马尼园祈祷时,这三个人也在场,在耶稣被钉十字架的前一天晚上睡了好几次,尽管耶稣指示要保持清醒和祈祷。

彼得和约翰甚至负责为耶稣和他的门徒准备最后的晚餐,这是耶稣被出卖并开始传统的重要时刻,后来被称为圣体圣事,或者我们现在所说的圣餐。

雅各和约翰对耶稣和他的信息非常热心,这常常导致仓促的行动。因此,耶稣称这些兄弟为“Boanerges”或“雷霆之子”。

他们想要向一群拒绝耶稣和他的门徒的撒玛利亚人召唤天上的火,招致弟兄们受到耶稣的斥责。由于他们对耶稣的重要性或亲近,两人甚至问他们是否可以在他的荣耀中与他一起坐在宝座上。

st john (hals)
圣约翰 (Hals)

圣经中的圣约翰

约翰最为人所知的是约翰福音以及其他三本新约书卷,约翰书信和启示录的作者。

福音书的作者归功于“耶稣所爱的门徒”,约翰福音 21:24 声称约翰福音是基于“所爱的门徒”的见证。

然而,自 200 年以来,真正的作者身份一直存在争议。根据优西比乌斯的教会历史,约翰第一书信和约翰福音被广泛接受为约翰的。尤西比乌斯继续获得第二和第三点。

圣约翰成就

圣约翰是作家、爱情、忠诚和友谊的守护神。在艺术中,他经常被描绘成一只鹰,象征着“他在福音中上升到的高度”。其他图标描绘了他仰望天堂并向他的门徒口述他的福音。

约翰在早期教会中拥有权威地位,他与圣彼得一起访问撒玛利亚,为新皈依者按手就证明了这一点。他在圣保罗的皈依中发挥了重要作用。证据不支持约翰反对授予外邦人教会成员资格。

st john
圣约翰

耶稣派来准备最后逾越节晚餐的仅有的两个使徒,最后的晚餐,是约翰和彼得。圣约翰没有躺在沙发上,而是坐在耶稣旁边,吃饭时靠在他身上。

约翰是十二使徒中唯一一位在救主被钉十字架期间没有放弃救主的人。当救主任命他为他母亲的监护人时,他忠实地站在十字架上.

根据教会传统,约翰在玛丽升天后去了以弗所。后来,他被罗马人流放到希腊拔摩岛,据称他在那里写了启示录。

圣约翰之死

根据关于约翰之死的最可信的理论,他在以弗所被捕并面临殉难,当时他的敌人将他扔进一大盆沸腾的油中。然而,据传说,约翰奇迹般地从死亡中获救。当局随后判处约翰在拔摩岛的矿井中为奴。

约翰看到了耶稣基督的异象,并在爱琴海南部的这个岛上写下了启示录的预言书。后来,可能由于年老,使徒约翰被释放并返回现在的土耳其。公元 98 年之后的某个时候,他作为老人平静地死去,是唯一一位这样做的使徒。

约翰看到了耶稣基督的异象,并在爱琴海南部的这个岛上写下了启示录的预言书。后来,可能由于年老,使徒约翰被释放并返回现在的土耳其。公元 98 年之后的某个时候,他作为老人平静地死去,是唯一一位这样做的使徒。

另一种关于约翰之死的理论与公元 2 世纪的主教希拉波利斯的帕皮亚斯有关。根据对帕皮亚斯著作的一种解释,约翰被一群犹太人谋杀。然而,许多历史学家认为帕皮亚斯被错误引用或误读,从而对该理论的可信度产生怀疑。

还有一个传说声称约翰没有死,而是像以诺和以利亚一样直接升天。没有圣经证据支持这个故事。

最后,没有必要知道使徒约翰是如何死的。重要的是他不以基督为耻,愿意为信仰而死(见路加福音 9:26)。一个人不会为他相信的东西而死。一个人不会为他知道是谎言的东西而死。约翰知道耶稣已经复活的事实,他宁愿死也不愿放弃对救主的信仰。

st. john the apostle and evangelist
St. John the Apostle and Evangelist

圣约翰钥匙外卖

上帝发出召唤,人类回应。约翰和他的兄弟雅各,以及彼得和他的兄弟安得烈的圣召,在福音书中非常简单地说明:耶稣呼召他们;他们遵循。该帐户显示了他们的反应的绝对性。

“他们和他们的父亲西庇太在一条船上,正在修补他们的网。他召来了他们,他们立刻弃船,弃父跟随他”(马太福音 4:21b-22)。

三位前渔夫——彼得、雅各和约翰与耶稣建立了特殊的友谊,以此来回报这种信心。他们是唯一目睹变形、睚鲁女儿长大和客西马尼园痛苦的人。但约翰的友谊很特别。传统将第四福音归于他,但大多数现代圣经学者认为使徒和传福音者不是同一个人。

jan massijs - the apocalypse of saint john the evangelist (1563)
Jan Massijs - The Apocalypse of Saint John the Evangelist (1563)

圣约翰总结

圣约翰使徒是西庇太和莎乐美的儿子,是耶稣的十二使徒之一。我们的主在他公开事奉的第一年任命约翰为使徒。他被认为与福音传道者约翰、拔摩岛的约翰和亲爱的门徒相同。

耶稣十二使徒中的另一位圣雅各大帝是约翰的哥哥。这对兄弟被耶稣称为“Boanerges”,意思是“雷霆之子”。约翰被认为是最长寿的使徒,也是唯一一个没有殉道而死的使徒。

资源圣约翰使徒

滚动到顶部 由 miniOrange 保护

St. John

According to the New Testament, Saint John the Apostle was one of Jesus’ Twelve Apostles. He was the son of Zebedee and Salome and was generally regarded as the youngest apostle. James, another of the Twelve Apostles, was his brother.

Saint James Logo

The Apostle Saint John

Saint John
Saint John

The Apostle Saint John (active 1st century A.D.), one of Jesus’ 12 Apostles, is traditionally regarded as the author of the Fourth Gospel, the Book of Revelation, and three Letters, or Epistles, that bears his name.

Throughout the Gospels, John and James, along with Peter, are portrayed as the most closely associated with Jesus of all his disciples. John, along with Peter and James, witnesses Jesus’ supernatural communication with Moses and Elijah on Mt. Tabor; the night before Jesus’ death, he is present in the Garden of Gethsemane.

Table Of Contents

When everyone else abandons the dying Jesus, only John remains, and Jesus entrusts his mother, Mary, to his care. Following Jesus’ death, John is presented as one of the leaders of the Jerusalemite disciples of Jesus.

In the book of Acts, John, along with Peter and James, testifies about Jesus. He and Peter travel to Samaria to confirm new converts (Acts 8:14, 25).

Saint John Birth/Origins

John, the son of Zebedee and Salome, was born in Galilee, most likely between A.D. 10 and 15. His father was a fisherman, which is what John was doing when he met and followed Jesus (Mark 5:37).

His mother became one of the women who served Jesus’ followers (Mark 15:40-41; 16:1).

James, his brother, also followed Jesus. Both brothers were nicknamed Boanerges by Jesus, which means “sons of thunder” in Aramaic (Mark 3:17), about their fiery demeanour toward Jesus.

Saint John life with Christ

John, one of the first twelve apostles called by Jesus and known as the “beloved disciple,” knew and loved Jesus well. He witnessed him teach and perform miracles. John had the honor of sitting next to Jesus and leaning against his breast at the Last Supper (John 13:23).

He was the only disciple who remained with the Lord as he died on the cross, where Jesus entrusted his mother’s care to him (John 19:25-27).

Through prayerful reflection on Jesus’ words and deeds, John realized that Jesus is the way to eternal life (John 14:6)–a life revealed to the disciples first, and then to all people: “What we have seen and heard we proclaim now to you, so that you too may have fellowship with us; for our fellowship is with the Father and with his Son, Jesus Christ” (1 John 1:3 NAB).

John’s Travels With Jesus

Jesus & St. John
Jesus & St. John

During major events, Peter, James, and John travelled with and were close to Jesus. The three were with Jesus when he raised Jairus’ daughter from the dead, as well as during Jesus’ transfiguration when he became robed in light and Moses and Elijah appeared.

These three were also present when Jesus prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane, falling asleep several times the night before Jesus’ crucifixion, despite Jesus’ instructions to stay awake and pray.

Peter and John were even tasked with preparing the Last Supper for Jesus and his disciples, the momentous occasion when Jesus was betrayed and began the tradition that became known as the Eucharist, or what we now call communion.

James and John were zealous in their devotion to Jesus and his message, which often led to hasty actions. Because of this, Jesus referred to the brothers as “Boanerges” or “Sons of Thunder.”

They desired to call down the fires of heaven on a group of Samaritans who had rejected Jesus and his disciples, earning the brothers rebuke from Jesus. Because of their importance or closeness to Jesus, the two even asked if they could sit on thrones alongside him in his glory.

Saint John in the Scripture

John is best known as the author of the Gospel of John, as well as three other New Testament books, the Epistles of John and the Book of Revelation.

The authorship of the Gospel is attributed to the “disciple whom Jesus loved,” and John 21:24 claims the Gospel of John is based on the testimony of the “Beloved Disciple.”

However, true authorship has been disputed since the year 200. According to Eusebius’ Ecclesiastical History, the First Epistle of John and the Gospel of John are widely accepted as John’s. Eusebius continues with the second and third points.

Saint John Achievement

St. John is the patron saint of authors, love, loyalty, and friendship. In art, he is frequently depicted with an eagle, symbolizing “the height he rose to in his gospel.” Other icons depict him looking up into heaven and dictating his Gospel to his disciple.

John held an authoritative position in the early church, as evidenced by his visit to Samaria with St. Peter to lay hands on new converts. He played an important role in St. Paul’s conversion. The evidence does not support John’s opposition to granting Gentiles membership in the church.

Saint John Life Facts

The only two apostles sent by Jesus to prepare for the final Passover meal, the Last Supper, were John and Peter. Rather than lying on the couches, St. John sat next to Jesus, leaning on him during the meal.

John was the only one of the Twelve Apostles who did not abandon the Savior during His crucifixion. When the Savior appointed him as the guardian of His Mother, he stood faithfully at the cross.

According to Church tradition, John went to Ephesus after Mary’s Assumption. Later, he was exiled by the Romans to the Greek island of Patmos, where he allegedly wrote the Book of Revelation.

Saint John Death

St John
St John

According to the most plausible theory of John’s death, he was arrested in Ephesus and faced martyrdom when his enemies threw him into a large basin of boiling oil. However, according to legend, John was miraculously saved from death. The authorities then sentenced John to slave labour in Patmos’ mines.

John had a vision of Jesus Christ and wrote the prophetic book of Revelation on this island in the southern Aegean Sea. Later, possibly due to old age, the apostle John was released and returned to what is now Turkey. He died peacefully as an old man sometime after AD 98, the only apostle to do so.

Another theory about John’s death is linked to the Papias of Hierapolis, a second-century bishop. According to one interpretation of Papias’ writings, John was murdered by a group of Jewish men. Many historians, however, believe Papias was misquoted or misread, casting doubt on the theory’s credibility.

There is also a legend that claims John did not die but instead ascended directly to heaven, like Enoch and Elijah. There is no biblical evidence to support this story.

Finally, it is not necessary to know how the apostle John died. What matters is that he was not ashamed of Christ and was willing to die for his faith (see Luke 9:26). A man will not die for something he believes in. A man will not die for something he knows to be a lie. John knew the truth that Jesus had been resurrected, and he was willing to die rather than to renounce his faith in his Savior

Saint John Key Takeaway

God makes the call, and humans respond. The vocation of John and his brother James, as well as Peter and his brother Andrew, is stated very simply in the Gospels: Jesus called them; they followed. The account demonstrates the absoluteness of their response.

“They were in a boat, with their father Zebedee, mending their nets. He summoned them, and they immediately abandoned their boat and father to follow him” (Matthew 4:21b-22).

That faith was to be rewarded by a special friendship with Jesus for the three former fishermen—Peter, James, and John. They were the only ones who witnessed the Transfiguration, the raising of Jairus’ daughter, and the agony in Gethsemane. But John’s friendship was something special. Tradition ascribes to him the Fourth Gospel, but most modern Bible scholars believe that the apostle and the evangelist are not the same people.

Saint John Summary

St. John the Apostle, son of Zebedee and Salome, was one of Jesus’ Twelve Apostles. Our Lord appointed John as an Apostle during the first year of His public ministry. He is thought to be the same as John the Evangelist, John of Patmos, and the Beloved Disciple.

St. James the Great, another of Jesus’ Twelve Apostles, was John’s older brother. The brothers were referred to by Jesus as “Boanerges,” which means “sons of thunder.” John is thought to be the longest-living apostle and the only one who did not die as a martyr.

Resources Saint John the Apostle

https://biography.yourdictionary.com/st-john
https://www.franciscanmedia.org/saint-of-the-day/saint-john-the-apostle
https://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=228
http://www.paceminterris.org/experience-pacem/the-hermitages/st-john-the-beloved/
https://www.britannica.com/biography/Saint-John-the-Apostle
https://study.com/academy/lesson/john-the-apostle-biography-facts-death.html

Scroll to Top