Der Apostel Judas

saint jude
St. Judas

Jude, Thaddeus, or Lebbeus, son of Alpheus or Cleophas and Mary. Alpheus or Cleophas and Mary’s son, Jude, Thaddeus, or Lebbeus. He was James the Younger’s younger brother.

Saint Jude lebte in Galiläa und war einer vondie weniger bekannten Apostel. Der Legende nach predigte er in Assyrien und Persien undstarb als Märtyrer in Persien.

Jude wurde von Jerome "Trinomious" genannt, was übersetzt "ein Mann mit drei Namen" bedeutet.

In Markus 3,18 wird er als Thaddäus bezeichnet. In Matthäus 10:3 wird er als Lebbeus bezeichnet. Thaddäus war sein Nachname.

Er wird als Judas, der Bruder von . bezeichnetJakobus der Kleinein Lukas 6:16 und Apostelgeschichte 1:13. Judas Thaddäus war auch als Judas der Zelot bekannt.

Er war einwilder und gewalttätiger Nationalistdie nach Weltmacht und Vorherrschaft für das auserwählte Volk strebten. Nach dem Neuen Testament (Johannes 14:22 NIV), an derDas letzte Abendmahl, fragte er Jesus,

„Aber Herr, warum willst du dich uns zeigen und nicht der Welt?“

Judas Thaddäus war bestrebt, Christus dem Rest der Welt bekannt zu machen. Allerdings nicht als leidender Heiland, sondern als regierender König. Die Antwort, die Jesus ihm gab, zeigt deutlich, dass der Weg der Liebe niemals durch den Weg der Macht ersetzt werden kann.

Es wird gesagt, dass Judas nach Edessa in der Nähe des Euphrat ging, um das Evangelium zu predigen. Er heilte dort viele Menschen und viele Menschen glaubten an den Namen des Meisters.

Judas fuhr fort, das Evangelium an anderen Orten zu predigen. Bei Ararat war ermit Pfeilen getötet. Das Schiff wurde als sein Symbol gewählt, weil er ein Missionar war, der mit einem Fischer verwechselt wurde.

święty juda tadeusz (obraz el greca)
Święty Juda Tadeusz (obraz El Greca)

Saint Jude Geburt und frühes Leben

St. Jude wurde in Paneas, einer galiläischen Stadt, die von den Römern wieder aufgebaut und in Caesarea Philippi umbenannt wurde, in eine jüdische Familie hineingeboren. Wie fast alle seine Zeitgenossen in dieser Gegend war er höchstwahrscheinlich ein Bauer, der sowohl Griechisch als auch Aramäisch sprach.

St. Jude war der Sohn von Klopas und Maria, der Cousine der Jungfrau Maria. Der Legende nach wurde Judes Vater Clopas wegen seiner aufrichtigen und ausgesprochenen Hingabe an den auferstandenen Christus ermordet.

st. thaddeus, st. sandukht and other christians in sanatruk's prison
St. Thaddeus, St. Sandukht and other Christians in Sanatruk's prison

Der heilige Judas war einer der zwölf Apostel Jesu, undsein Symbol ist ein Verein. Eine Flamme um den Kopf des heiligen Judas wird oft in Bildern von ihm dargestellt, die seine Anwesenheit an Pfingsten darstellen, als er zusammen mit den anderen Aposteln den Heiligen Geist annahm. Ein weiteres Merkmal ist der heilige Judas, der eine Darstellung von Christus im Bild von Edessa hält.

Er wird manchmal mit einem Zimmermannsherrscher oder einer Schriftrolle oder einem Buch, möglicherweise dem Judasbrief, dargestellt. Bibelwissenschaftler sind sich einig, dassSt. Jude war der Sohn von Clopas, und seine Mutter Maria war eine Cousine der Jungfrau Maria.

Nach alten Schriftstellern predigte Judas das Evangelium in Judäa, Samaria, Idumaea, Syrien, Mesopotamien und Lybien. Laut Eusebius kehrte er im Jahr 62 nach Jerusalem zurück und half bei der Wahl seines Bruders St. Simeon zum Bischof von Jerusalem.

Saint Jude ist nicht dasselbe wieJudas Iskariot, der unseren Herrn verriet und aufgrund seiner großen Sünde und seines Mangels an Glauben an die Barmherzigkeit Gottes mutlos wurde.

Judas war derjenige, der Jesus beim letzten Abendmahl fragte, warum er nach seiner Auferstehung nicht der ganzen Welt erscheinen würde. Über sein Leben ist sonst nichts bekannt.

Der Legende nach besuchte er Beirut und Edessa und wurde möglicherweise zusammen mit dem Märtyrer getötetSt. Simonin Persien.

He is the author of an epistle (letter) to the Eastern Churches, particularly Jewish converts, addressing the heresies of the Simonians, Nicolaites, and Gnostics. Though Saint Gregory the Illuminator is known as the “Apostle to the Armenians,” the Apostles Jude and Bartholomew are credited with bringing Christianity to Armenia, where Jude was later martyred.

buste reliquaire - saint jude
Buste reliquaire - Saint Jude

St. Jude Reisen und Missionar

St. Jude Thaddäus begleitetSt. Simonauf seiner Reise durch Libyen, die Türkei, Persien und Mesopotamien. Sie arbeiteten zusammen, um das Evangelium zu verbreiten und viele Menschen zum Christentum zu bekehren. Ihm wird zugeschrieben, dass er beim Aufbau der Armenischen Kirche und anderer Gemeinden außerhalb des Römischen Reiches geholfen hat.

Der heilige Jude schrieb einen Brief an neu bekehrte Christen in der Ostkirche, die 60 n. Chr. verfolgt wurden. In seinem Brief warnte er sie davor, sich vor modernen Irrlehrern zu hüten, die falsche Lehren über das Christentum verbreiten. Er ermutigte sie, angesichts der harten Realitäten, mit denen sie konfrontiert waren, durchzuhalten und fest im Glauben zu bleiben.

saint jude new phototastic collage
Saint Jude Neue Phototastic Collage

What is the Legacy of Saint Jude?

Er predigte das Evangelium mit Eifer, oft unter schwierigsten Umständen. Er machte einen bedeutenden Unterschied im Leben der Menschen, indem er ihnen das Wort Gottes durch die Kraft des Heiligen Geistes anbot. Nach dem Evangelium war St. Judas ein Bruder von St. James the Less, der auch ein Apostel war.

Hingabe an den Heiligen Judas heute

Jude is now regarded as a saint by Christians of various denominations, particularly Roman Catholics, Orthodox, and Anglicans. Saints – God’s holy men and women both on earth and in heaven – are regarded as models of how to follow Jesus Christ and as “intercessors” in the Catholic tradition (and others) of Christianity. Because the saints in heaven live fully in God’s presence while remaining bound to those on earth by love bonds, they present our needs to God.

Gebet des Heiligen Judas

Ein beliebtes römisch-katholisches Gebet zum Heiligen Judas ist:

saint jude prayer

„O heiligster Apostel, heiliger Judas, treuer Diener und Freund Jesu, die Kirche ehrt und ruft dich überall an, als Schutzpatron der hoffnungslosen Fälle und der Dinge, an denen man fast verzweifelt ist. Betet für mich, der so elend ist.
„Benutze, ich flehe dich an, dieses besondere Privileg, das dir zusteht, sichtbare und schnelle Hilfe zu bringen, wo Hilfe fast verzweifelt war. Komm zu meiner Hilfe in dieser großen Not, damit ich den Trost und die Beistand des Himmels in all meinen Nöten, Drangsalen und Leiden, besonders (hier bitte, rufe) empfangen und Gott mit dir und allen Auserwählten in Ewigkeit loben möge .
„Ich verspreche dir, oh gesegneter Jude, dieser großen Gunst immer im Gedächtnis zu bleiben, dich immer als meinen besonderen und mächtigen Schutzpatron zu ehren und dankbar zu deiner Hingabe zu ermutigen. Amen."

Die Novene – ein neun Tage hintereinander gesprochenes Gebet – an den heiligen Judas lautet:

saint jude novena
„Apostel und Märtyrer, groß an Tugend und reich an Wundern, naher Verwandter Jesu Christi, treuer Fürsprecher für alle, die dich anrufen, besonderer Schutzpatron in der Not; zu dir wende ich mich aus tiefstem Herzen und bitte dich demütig, dem Gott so große Macht gegeben hat, mir zu Hilfe zu kommen; hilf mir jetzt in meiner dringenden Not und erfülle meine ernsthafte Bitte. Ich werde deine Gnaden und Gnaden nie vergessen, die du für mich erlangst, und ich werde mein Möglichstes tun, um dir Verehrung zu erweisen. Amen."

Tod und Martyrium des Heiligen Judas

Trotz weit verbreiteter Christenverfolgungen zu dieser Zeit stand der heilige Jude Thaddäus fest in seinem Glauben und zahlte schließlich den Preis für seinen Glauben. Er soll um das Jahr 65 n. Chr. in Persien oder Syrien den Märtyrertod erlitten haben. In der religiösen Kunst wird er häufig mit einer Axt oder einem Knüppel dargestellt, die seinen Märtyrertod darstellen.

Nach seinem Tod wurde der Leichnam des Apostels nach Rom gebracht und in einer Krypta unter dem Petersdom beigesetzt. Seine Reliquien sind heute im linken Querschiff des Petersdoms unter dem Hauptaltar des Hl. Josef in einem Grab neben dem Apostel Simon dem Zeloten untergebracht.

Viele Gläubige besuchen die Stätte immer noch als Zeichen des Respekts und der Bewunderung. St. Jude Thaddäus ist bekannt alsder Schutzpatron der hoffnungslosen Ursachen und verzweifelten Situationenwegen seines unerschütterlichen Glaubens.

saint jude prayer card child's pencil coloring
Saint Jude Gebetskarte Kinderstift Färbung

Key Takeaway

Der heilige Judas soll das Evangelium in Judäa, Samaria, Idumaea, Syrien, Mesopotamien und Libyen gepredigt haben. Er soll auch Beirut und Edessa besucht haben, obwohl die letztere Mission Thaddeus von Edessa, einem der Siebziger, zugeschrieben wird. Er soll zusammen mit Simon dem Zeloten in Persien als Märtyrer gestorben sein. Nicephorus Callistus, ein Schriftsteller des 14. Jahrhunderts, macht Jude zum Bräutigam bei der Hochzeit in Kana.

Obwohl dem Heiligen Gregor der Erleuchter zugeschrieben wird, der „Apostel der Armenier“ zu sein, als er im Jahr 301 n. Chr. König Tiridates III Armenien und werden daher als Schutzpatron der Armenisch-Apostolischen Kirche verehrt. Mit dieser Tradition ist das Kloster Thaddäus verbunden.

To read more about Saint Jude, then please read the story of St Jude.

Summary

Saint Jude, auch bekannt als Saint Jude Thaddäus, wird weltweit als Schutzpatron der hoffnungslosen Sache verehrt. Er war ein Cousin von Jesus Christus und einer der zwölf Apostel. Er predigte das Evangelium mutig, oft unter schwierigsten Umständen.

Der heilige Judas wird häufig mit einer Darstellung von Jesus dargestellt. Der Überlieferung nach erinnert dies an ein Wunder, bei dem ein von Lepra geplagter König geheilt wurde, nachdem ihm der heilige Judas ein an das Angesicht Christi gepresstes Tuch geschenkt hatte.

Viele Menschen in großer Not haben im Laufe der Jahrhunderte zu dem heiligen Judas gebetet. Die heilige Bridget von Schweden erklärte, dass sie in einer Vision angewiesen wurde, mit tiefem Glauben und Zuversicht zum heiligen Judas zu beten.

„Bei seinem Nachnamen Thaddäus, der liebenswürdige oder liebevolle, wird sich der heilige Judas am bereitwilligsten zeigen, zu helfen.“

sie behauptete, Christus habe es ihr gesagt.

Heute ist der heilige Judas einer der beliebtesten und beliebtesten Heiligen, ein himmlischer Fürsprecher für alle, die in Zeiten von Familienkrisen, Krankheit und Schwierigkeiten Gottes Hilfe suchen, besonders wenn alle Hoffnung verloren zu sein scheint.

saint jude thaddeus window of san leonardo church, nueva ecija
Saint Jude Thaddeus window of San Leonardo Church, Nueva Ecija

Resources

Scrolle nach oben Gesichert durch miniOrange

St. Jude

Jude, Thaddeus, or Lebbeus, son of Alpheus or Cleophas and Mary. Alpheus or Cleophas and Mary’s son, Jude, Thaddeus, or Lebbeus. He was James the Younger’s younger brother.

Saint James

The Apostle Saint Jude

Saint Jude the Apostle
Saint Jude the Apostle

Saint Jude lived in Galilee and was one of the lesser-known Apostles. According to legend, he preached in Assyria and Persia and died as a martyr in Persia.

Jude was dubbed “Trinomious” by Jerome, which translates as “a man with three names.” In Mark 3:18, he is referred to as Thaddeus. In Matthew 10:3, he is referred to as Lebbeus. Thaddeus was his surname.

Table Of Contents

He is referred to as Judas the brother of Saint James the Less in Luke 6:16 and Acts 1:13. Judas Thaddeus was also known as Judas the Zealot.

He was a ferocious and violent Nationalist who aspired to world power and dominance for the Chosen People. According to the New Testament (John 14:22 NIV), at the Last Supper, he asked Jesus, “But Lord, why do you intend to show yourself to us and not to the world?”

Judas Thaddeus was eager to make Christ known to the rest of the world. However, not as a suffering Saviour, but as a ruling King. The answer Jesus gave him clearly shows that the way of power can never be substituted for the way of love.

It is said that Jude went to Edessa, near the Euphrates River, to preach the gospel. He healed many people there, and many people believed in the name of the Master.

Jude then went on to preach the Gospel in other places. At Ararat, he was killed with arrows. The ship was chosen as his symbol because he was a missionary who was mistaken for a fisherman.

Saint Jude Birth & Early Life

St. Jude was born into a Jewish family in Paneas, a Galilean town that was rebuilt by the Romans and renamed Caesarea Philippi. Like almost all of his contemporaries in that area, he was most likely a farmer who spoke both Greek and Aramaic.

St. Jude was the son of Clopas and Mary, the Virgin Mary’s cousin. According to legend, Jude’s father, Clopas, was assassinated for his forthright and outspoken devotion to the risen Christ.

Saint Jude Facts

Saint Jude
Saint Jude

Saint Jude was one of Jesus’ 12 Apostles, and his symbol is a club. A flame around St. Jude’s head is often depicted in images of him, representing his presence at Pentecost, when he accepted the Holy Spirit alongside the other apostles. Another feature is St. Jude holding a representation of Christ in the Image of Edessa.

He is sometimes depicted with a carpenter’s ruler or a scroll or book, possibly the Epistle of Jude. Biblical scholars agree that St. Jude was the son of Clopas, and his mother Mary was a cousin of the Virgin Mary.

According to ancient writers, he preached the Gospel in Judea, Samaria, Idumaea, Syria, Mesopotamia, and Lybia. He returned to Jerusalem in the year 62, according to Eusebius, and assisted in the election of his brother, St. Simeon, as Bishop of Jerusalem.

Saint Jude is not the same as Judas Iscariot, who betrayed Our Lord and became despondent as a result of his great sin and lack of faith in God’s mercy.

Jude was the one who asked Jesus at the Last Supper why He would not appear to the entire world after His resurrection. Nothing else is known about his life.

According to legend, he visited Beirut and Edessa and may have been martyred alongside St. Simon in Persia.

He is the author of an epistle (letter) to the Eastern Churches, particularly Jewish converts, addressing the heresies of the Simonians, Nicolaites, and Gnostics. Though Saint Gregory the Illuminator is known as the “Apostle to the Armenians,” the Apostles Jude and Bartholomew are credited with bringing Christianity to Armenia, where Jude was later martyred.

St Jude Travels and Missionary

St. Jude Thaddeus accompanied St. Simon on his journey through Libya, Turkey, Persia, and Mesopotamia. They worked together to spread the gospel and convert many people to Christianity. He is widely credited with helping to establish the Armenian Church and other congregations outside of the Roman Empire.

St. Jude wrote a letter to newly converted Christians in the Eastern Church who were being persecuted in 60 A.D. In his letter, he warned them to be wary of modern-day false teachers who spread false teachings about Christianity. He encouraged them to persevere and to remain firm in their faith in the face of the harsh realities they were confronted with.

Saint Jude New Phototastic Collage
Saint Jude New Phototastic Collage

Legacy

He preached the Gospel with zeal, often in the most trying of circumstances. He made a significant difference in people’s lives by offering them the Word of God through the power of the Holy Spirit. According to the Gospel, St. Jude was a brother of St. James the Less, who was also an Apostle.

Devotion to Saint Jude today

Jude is now regarded as a saint by Christians of various denominations, particularly Roman Catholics, Orthodox, and Anglicans.
Saints – God’s holy men and women both on earth and in heaven – are regarded as models of how to follow Jesus Christ and as “intercessors” in the Catholic tradition (and others) of Christianity. Because the saints in heaven live fully in God’s presence while remaining bound to those on earth by love bonds, they present our needs to God.

Saint Jude Prayer

A popular Roman Catholic prayer to Saint Jude is:

saint jude prayer

“O most holy apostle, Saint Jude, faithful servant and friend of Jesus, the Church honoureth and invokes thee universally, as the patron of hopeless cases, and things almost despaired of. Pray for me, who am so miserable.
“Make use, I implore thee, of that particular privilege accorded to thee, to bring visible and speedy help where help was almost despaired of. Come to mine assistance in this great need, that I may receive the consolation and succor of Heaven in all my necessities, tribulations, and sufferings, particularly (here make your request) and that I may praise God with thee and all the elect throughout eternity.
“I promise thee, O blessed Jude, to be ever mindful of this great favor, to always honor thee as my special and powerful patron, and to gratefully encourage devotion to thee. Amen.”

The Novena – a prayer said nine days in a row – to Saint Jude is:

Saint Jude Novena
“Apostle and Martyr, great in virtue and rich in miracles, near kinsman of Jesus Christ, faithful intercessor for all who invoke thee, special patron in time of need; to thee, I have recourse from the depth of my heart, and humbly beg thee, to whom God hath given such great power, to come to my assistance; help me now in my urgent need and grant my earnest petition. I will never forget thy graces and the favors thou dost obtain for me and I will do my utmost to spread devotion to thee. Amen.”

Saint Jude Death & Martyrdom

Despite widespread persecutions of Christians at the time, St. Jude Thaddeus stood firm in his beliefs and eventually paid the price for his faith. He is thought to have been martyred in Persia or Syria around the year 65 A.D. In religious art, he is frequently depicted holding an axe or a club, which represents how he was martyred.

After his death, the apostle’s body was brought to Rome and interred in a crypt beneath St. Peter’s Basilica. His relics are now housed in the left transept of St. Peter’s Basilica, beneath the main altar of St. Joseph, in a tomb alongside the apostle Simon the Zealot.

Many devotees still visit the site as a mark of respect and admiration. St. Jude Thaddeus is known as the patron saint of hopeless causes and desperate situations because of his unwavering faith.

Saint Jude prayer card child's pencil coloring
Saint Jude prayer card child's pencil coloring

Key Takeaway

Saint Jude is said to have preached the Gospel in Judea, Samaria, Idumaea, Syria, Mesopotamia, and Libya. He is also said to have visited Beirut and Edessa, though the latter mission is credited to Thaddeus of Edessa, one of the Seventy. He is said to have died as a martyr alongside Simon the Zealot in Persia. Nicephorus Callistus, a fourteenth-century writer, makes Jude the bridegroom at the wedding at Cana.

Though Saint Gregory the Illuminator is credited with being the “Apostle to the Armenians” when he baptized King Tiridates III of Armenia in 301 C.E., converting the Armenians, the Apostle Jude and Apostle Bartholomew are traditionally believed to have been the first to bring Christianity to Armenia and are thus venerated as the patron saints of the Armenian Apostolic Church. The Thaddeus Monastery is associated with this tradition.

Summary

Saint Jude, also known as Saint Jude Thaddeus, is revered as the Patron Saint of Hopeless Causes around the world. He was a cousin of Jesus Christ and one of the twelve Apostles. He preached the Gospel with courage, often in the most difficult of circumstances.

Saint Jude is frequently depicted carrying a representation of Jesus. According to tradition, this recalls a miracle in which a king afflicted with leprosy was cured after Saint Jude gave him a cloth that had been pressed against the face of Christ.

Many people in desperate need have prayed to Saint Jude throughout the ages. Saint Bridget of Sweden stated that she was directed in a vision to pray to Saint Jude with deep faith and confidence.

“By his surname, Thaddeus, the amiable or loving, Saint Jude will show himself most willing to help,”

she claimed Christ told her.

Today, Saint Jude remains one of the most popular and beloved Saints, a heavenly intercessor for all who seek God’s help during times of family crisis, sickness, and trouble, especially when all hope appears to be lost.

Resources

https://www.rosaryshrineofstjude.org/who-is-st-jude/
https://www.stjudeshrine.org.uk/about/who-saint-jude
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.catholicfaithstore.com/daily-bread/the-story-of-st-jude-thaddeus/amp/
https://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=127
https://www.bibleinfo.com/en/questions/who-were-twelve-disciples#judas

Scroll to Top