使徒圣菲利普

saint philip
圣菲利普

相传弟子圣菲利普在弗里吉亚传道,在希拉波利斯殉道。腓力来自伯赛大,与彼得和安得烈同城(约翰福音 1:44)。

圣菲利普很可能是渔夫以及。尽管他的名字出现在前三卷福音书中(马太福音 10:3、马可福音 3:18、路加福音 6:14 和使徒行传 1:13),约翰福音菲利普成为一个活生生的人。

学者不同意菲利普。菲利普被称为七位按立执事之一在使徒行传 6:5。有人声称这是一个不同的菲利普。

有些人认为这是使徒。如果这就是菲利普,那么由于他在撒玛利亚的成功竞选,他的个性已经焕然一新。他带领埃塞俄比亚太监相信基督(使徒行传 8:26)。他还与保罗一起住在凯撒利亚(使徒行传 21:8),并且是早期教会传教事业的关键人物。

根据约翰福音,腓力是耶稣对他说的第一批人之一,

st. philip, right side (copy)
St. Philip, right side (copy)

“跟着我。”

When Philip met Christ, he immediately sought out Nathanael and told him, “We have found him, of whom Moses… and the prophets did write.” Nathanael was sceptical.

但菲利普没有与他争论。相反,他只是简单地回答,

“来看看。”

This story of Saint Philip reveals two important aspects, first, it demonstrates his correct approach to the sceptic as well as his simple faith in Christ. Second, it demonstrates his missionary instinct.

filippino st philip driving the dragon from the temple of hieropolis
Filippino St Philip Driving the Dragon from the Temple of Hieropolis

圣菲利普出生

使徒圣菲利普(生于加利利的伯赛达——死于 1 世纪;西方节日 5 月 3 日,东方节日 11 月 14 日),其中一位十二使徒.

圣菲利普与基督

他被耶稣亲自呼召,将拿但业带到基督面前。腓力见证了饼和鱼的奇迹期间,他与主进行了简短的交谈,他是来自伯赛大的希腊化犹太人走近,向他们介绍耶稣的使徒。

就在受难之前,耶稣回应了菲利普向他们展示父亲的请求,但新约没有进一步提及菲利普,只是将他包括在上层房间等待圣灵的使徒中。

chapel of mary magdalene - altarpiece st. philip
Chapel of Mary Magdalene - Altarpiece St. Philip

“主啊,将父显给我们看,我们就满足了,”

菲利普说。耶稣说,

“我和你在一起这么久你还是不认识我吗,菲利普?

每个见过我的人都见过父。 '将父显给我们看,'你怎么说?” (马太福音 14.8,9)关于腓力的古老传统与关于执事和传道者腓力的传统相混淆。

两个飞利浦之一是安息在希罗波利斯,弗里吉亚,小亚细亚。一些古代作家声称使徒腓力有三个女儿,但使徒行传 21.8-9 提到了执事兼传道者腓力的四个女儿,据一种传说,她们也被埋葬在希罗波利斯。

相传,在希罗波利斯传教时,圣巴塞洛缪之后,菲利普在一座专门通过祈祷崇拜蛇的寺庙中杀死了一条大蛇。菲利普还治疗了大量的蛇咬伤。愤怒的市长及其异教牧师将菲利普和巴塞洛缪钉在十字架上。

saint philip
圣菲利普

当两个门徒在十字架上时,一场地震把所有人都震倒在地,腓力为他们的安全祈祷。地震平息后,人们要求释放菲利普和巴塞洛缪。菲利普死了,巴塞洛缪却活了下来。

据称菲利普的遗体后来被转移到罗马的十二使徒大教堂,该教堂最初是献给圣菲利普和詹姆斯的(年轻的詹姆斯)。结果,这两位圣人现在在同一天庆祝。菲利普是制帽师、糕点师、卢森堡和乌拉圭国家以及世界各地众多教堂、学校和医院的守护神。

As May Day was dedicated to St. Joseph the Worker in 1955, the Roman Catholic church moved the traditional date away from 1 May. St. Philip Feast Day is now celebrated on 3 May by Roman Catholics, 14 November by Eastern churches, and 1 May or 3 May by Anglicans.

使徒腓力的成就

腓力在耶稣脚下得知神国的真理,在耶稣复活升天后传福音。

st philip
St Philip

菲利普的优势和劣势

腓力热切地寻求弥赛亚并承认耶稣是应许的救主,尽管他直到耶稣复活后才完全明白。像其他使徒一样,腓力抛弃耶稣在他受审和受难期间。

圣菲利普游记/传教士

Philip 源自希腊名字 Philippos,意思是“马的朋友”。他继续在希腊、叙利亚和弗里吉亚成为传教士。他最终前往埃及城市赫利奥波利斯,在公元 54 年左右,他在那里遭到鞭打、监禁并被钉在十字架上。他的骨灰可以在罗马的圣使徒大教堂找到。

saint philip painting

Saint Philip the Apostle Painting

Canvas print depicting saint Philip, the saint stands out alone, the colours are lively, the saint is dressed in a simple way as to show that the apostles were common men of their times, this basic dress also exalts the divine dimension of the saint.

Available in three different sizes:cm 30×40, cm 50×70, cm 70×100.

Artist: Paolo Bartoli

SHIPPING WEIGHT:1Kg
MATERIALS: Canvas print, wood
ORIGIN: Italy

The following product has an affiliate link. We may receive a commission for purchases made through this link.

反射

和其他使徒一样,我们在雅各和腓力身上看到人类成为教会的基石,我们再次被提醒,圣洁和随之而来的使徒完全是上帝的礼物,不是可以赚取的。所有的力量都是上帝的力量,包括人类接受他的礼物的自由。

“你们将披戴上天的能力,”耶稣应许腓力和其他门徒。他们的首要任务是驱逐污鬼、医治疾病和宣扬天国。他们逐渐意识到,这些外在是内在更大奇迹的圣礼——像上帝一样去爱的神圣力量。

martyrdom of saint philip, from the series 'the little apostles' (les petits apôtres)
Martyrdom of Saint Philip, from the series 'The little apostles'
(Les petits apôtres)

圣菲利普之死

很难说圣菲利普是怎么死的,特别是因为他最初与福音传道者菲利普混淆,并且存在相互矛盾的说法。据一位消息人士称,他死于自然原因。另据报道,他被斩首。或者,他们可能会被石头砸死。

或者被钉在十字架的错误一侧。大多数最早的传统都指向他在希拉波利斯殉道。以弗所的波利克拉提斯写信给教皇维克多,

“我说的是菲利普,十二使徒之一,他安息在希拉波利斯……”

Caius the Presbyter(三世纪的基督教作家)说,

“此后,在亚细亚的希拉波利斯,有四个女先知,都是腓力的女儿。”

他们的坟墓就在那里,就像他们父亲的坟墓一样。

菲利普的行为包含对他殉难的最早和最详细的描述,但很难知道我们能相信多少。据称,他让一位总督的妻子皈依,这激怒了总督,以至于将他和巴塞洛缪倒钉在十字架上。当他们还被绞死的时候,腓力传道,群众被感动要释放他们。他指示他们释放巴塞洛缪,但不要杀死他。

腓力于公元一世纪去世,可能在公元 80 年左右。

rubens apostel philippus
鲁本斯使徒菲利普斯

圣菲利普钥匙外卖

腓力和雅各都是使徒,被耶稣拣选跟随他,继续他建立上帝王国的工作。天主教徒在同一天庆祝他们的盛宴,因为尽管他们在不同的时间和地点死亡,但他们的尸体被转移并一起埋葬在罗马的十二使徒教堂。

圣菲利普,耶稣召唤的第三个人

“跟着我,”

也是一个渔夫(约翰福音 1:43)。我们知道腓力立刻认出耶稣是上帝的使者。作为耶稣的最新门徒,他做的第一件事就是邀请他的朋友拿但业来见主。从一开始,他就想把耶稣的好消息传给别人!

圣菲利普也是一个好奇的人,他想知道关于耶稣和他的教义的一切。

“师父,将父显给我们看,这就足够了,”

腓力在最后的晚餐对耶稣说(约翰福音 14:8)。

腓利的请求让耶稣大吃一惊。他回应说,

“我和你在一起这么久了,你还不知道我是谁吗,菲利普?”

凡看见我的,就是看见了父”(约翰福音 14:9)。菲利普的问题和耶稣的回答帮助我们明白,我们被呼召每天在信仰上成长。

据说圣菲利普在五旬节接受圣灵后前往小亚细亚,现在称为土耳其,向其他人讲述耶稣的生平和教义。他作为我们(天主教)信仰的烈士而死。

圣菲利普总结

菲利普和彼得和安德鲁一样,来自贝塞斯达。在约翰福音中,他以活人的形式出现。他是耶稣吩咐跟随他的第一个人,他相信他就是摩西所描述的先知。他有一颗温暖的心,一颗悲观的心,他拼命想帮助别人,却又不知道怎么做。他被处以绞刑,临终时,他要求像耶稣那样用纸莎草纸而不是亚麻布包裹他的尸体。

saint philip - basilica of st. john lateran - rome
Saint Philip - Basilica of St. John Lateran - Rome

菲利普是一个心地善良但前景悲观的人。他是那种想帮助别人却又不知道怎么做的人。尽管如此,这个简单的伽利略人却付出了他所拥有的一切。作为回报,上帝使用了他。据说他是吊死的。

在他临终时,他要求用纸莎草纸而不是亚麻布包裹他的尸体,因为他不配像对待耶稣的尸体那样对待他的尸体。由于他在喂养五千人中的作用,菲利普的标志是一个篮子.他是强调十字架是基督教和胜利象征的人。

资源

滚动到顶部 由 miniOrange 保护

St. Philip

According to legend, disciple Saint Philip preached in Phrygia and died as a martyr at Hierapolis. Philip came from Bethsaida, the same town as Peter and Andrew (John 1:44).

Saint James

The Apostle Saint Philip

Saint Philip the Apostle
Saint Philip the Apostle

Saint Philip was most likely a fisherman as well. Although his name appears in the first three Gospels (Matthew 10:3, Mark 3:18, Luke 6:14, and Acts 1:13), it is in the Gospel of John that Philip becomes a living personality.

Scholars disagree with Philip. Philip is mentioned as one of the seven ordained deacons in Acts 6:5. Some claim that this is a different Philip.

Some consider this to be the Apostle. If this is the same Philip, his personality has come to life as a result of his successful campaign in Samaria. He led the Ethiopian eunuch to faith in Christ (Acts 8:26). He also stayed with Paul in Caesarea (Acts 21:8) and was a key figure in the early church’s missionary enterprise.

Table Of Contents

According to the Gospel of John, Philip was one of the first people to whom Jesus said, “Follow Me.” When Philip met Christ, he immediately sought out Nathanael and told him, “We have found him, of whom Moses… and the prophets did write.” Nathanael was sceptical.

But Philip did not argue with him; instead, he simply replied, “Come and see.” This story reveals two important aspects of Philip. First, it demonstrates his correct approach to the sceptic as well as his simple faith in Christ. Second, it demonstrates his missionary instinct.

Saint Philip Birth

Saint Philip the Apostle, (born, Bethsaida of Galilee—died 1st century; Western feast day May 3, Eastern feast day November 14), one of the Twelve Apostles.

Saint Philip with Christ

He was called by Jesus Himself and brought Nathanael to Christ. Philip was present at the miracle of the loaves and fishes, during which he had a brief conversation with the Lord, and he was the Apostle approached by Hellenistic Jews from Bethsaida to introduce them to Jesus.

Just before the Passion, Jesus responded to Philip’s request to show them the Father, but the New Testament makes no further mention of Philip other than his inclusion among the Apostles awaiting the Holy Spirit in the Upper Room.

Saint Philip Life Facts

Saint Philip the Apostle
Saint Philip the Apostle

“Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied,” Philip said. Jesus stated, “Have I been with you all this time and you still don’t recognize me, Philip? Everyone who has seen me has seen the Father. ‘Show us the Father,’ how can you say?” (Matthew 14.8,9) The ancient traditions about Philip are mixed up with those about Philip the deacon and evangelist.

One of the two Philips was laid to rest in Hieropolis, Phrygia, Asia Minor. Some ancient writers claim that Philip the apostle had three daughters, but Acts 21.8-9 mentions four daughters of Philip the deacon and evangelist, who are also said to be buried in Hieropolis, according to one tradition.

According to legend, while preaching in Hieropolis with Saint Bartholomew, Philip killed a large serpent in a temple dedicated to serpent worship through prayer. Philip also treated a large number of snake bites. Angry, the city governor and its pagan priest crucified Philip and Bartholomew.

An earthquake knocked everyone to the ground while the two disciples were on the cross, and Philip prayed for their safety. When the earthquake subsided, the people demanded the release of Philip and Bartholomew. Philip died, but Bartholomew survived.

The alleged remains of Philip were later moved to Rome’s Basilica of the Twelve Apostles, which was originally dedicated to Saints Philip and James (James the younger). As a result, the two saints are now celebrated on the same day. Philip is the patron saint of hatters, pastry chefs, the countries of Luxembourg and Uruguay, as well as numerous churches, schools, and hospitals around the world.

As May Day was dedicated to St. Joseph the Worker in 1955, the Roman Catholic church moved the traditional date away from 1 May. St. Philip is now celebrated on 3 May by Roman Catholics, 14 November by Eastern churches, and 1 May or 3 May by Anglicans.

Philip the Apostle’s Accomplishments

Philip learned the truth about the kingdom of God at the feet of Jesus, then preached the gospel after Jesus’ resurrection and ascension.

Philip’s Strengths and Weaknesses

Philip fervently sought the Messiah and recognized that Jesus was the promised Savior, even though he did not fully understand until after Jesus’ resurrection. Like the other apostles, Philip deserted Jesus during his trial and crucifixion.

Saint Philip Travels/Missionary

Philip is derived from the Greek name Philippos, which means “friend of horses.” He went on to become a missionary in Greece, Syria, and Phrygia. He eventually made his way to the Egyptian city of Heliopolis, where he was whipped, imprisoned, and crucified around the year 54 A.D. His ashes can be found in Rome’s Holy Apostles Basilica.

Reflection

As with the other apostles, we see in James and Philip human men who became foundation stones of the Church, and we are reminded once more that holiness and its attendant apostolate are entirely a gift of God, not something that can be earned. All power is God’s power, including human freedom to accept his gifts.

“You will be clothed with power from on high,” Jesus promised Philip and the other disciples. Their first assignment had been to expel unclean spirits, heal diseases, and proclaim the kingdom. They gradually realized that these externals were sacraments of an even greater miracle within them—the divine power to love like God.

Saint Phillip Death

It’s difficult to say how Saint Philip died, especially because he was initially confused with Philip the Evangelist, and there are conflicting accounts. According to one source, he died of natural causes. According to another, he was beheaded. Alternatively, they could be stoned to death.

Or crucified on the wrong side of the cross. The majority of the earliest traditions point to him being martyred in Hierapolis. Polycrates of Ephesus wrote to Pope Victor, “I speak of Philip, one of the twelve apostles, who is laid to rest at Hierapolis…” Caius the Presbyter (a third-century Christian writer) stated, “And after this, there were four prophetesses, daughters of Philip, at Hierapolis in Asia.” Their tomb is there, as is their father’s.”

The Acts of Philip contain the earliest and most detailed account of his martyrdom, but it’s difficult to know how much we can trust it. He allegedly converted the wife of a proconsul, which enraged the proconsul enough to have him and Bartholomew crucified upside down. While they were still hanging, Philip preached, and the crowd was moved to release them. He instructed them to free Bartholomew but not to kill him.

Philip died in the first century, possibly around the year 80 AD.

Rubens Apostel Philippus
Rubens Apostel Philippus

Saint Philip Key Takeaway

Both Philip and James were Apostles, chosen by Jesus to follow him and continue his work of building God’s Kingdom. Catholics celebrate their feast on the same day because, despite dying at different times and locations, their bodies were moved and buried together in Rome’s Church of the Twelve Apostles.

Saint Philip, the third man Jesus summoned to “Follow me,” is also a fisherman (John 1:43). We know that Philip recognized Jesus as God’s messenger right away. As Jesus’ newest disciple, the first thing he did was invite his friend Nathanael to come and see the Lord. From the beginning, he desired to spread the Good News of Jesus to others!

Saint Philip was also an inquisitive man who wanted to know everything he could about Jesus and his teachings. “Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us,” Philip said to Jesus at the Last Supper (John 14:8).

Jesus was taken aback by Philip’s request. He responded, “Have I been with you for so long and you still don’t know who I am, Philip?” Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father” (John 14:9). Philip’s question and Jesus’ response help us understand that we are called to grow in our faith daily.

Saint Philip is said to have travelled to Asia Minor, now known as Turkey, after receiving the Holy Spirit at Pentecost to tell others about Jesus’ life and teachings. He died as a martyr for our (catholic) faith.

Saint Philip Summary

Philip, like Peter and Andrew, was from Bethesda. In the Gospel of John, he takes on the form of a living person. He was the first man Jesus told to follow him, and he believed He was the prophets Moses described. He had a warm heart and a pessimistic mind, and he desperately wanted to help others but couldn’t see how. He was hanged, and as he died, he requested that his body be wrapped in papyrus rather than linen, as Jesus was.

Philip was a man with a good heart but a pessimistic outlook. He was the type of person who wanted to help others but couldn’t see how it could be done. Nonetheless, this simple Galilean gave everything he had. In return, God made use of him. He was said to have died by hanging.

While he was dying, he requested that his body be wrapped in papyrus rather than linen because he was not worthy for even his dead body to be treated as Jesus’ body had been treated. Because of his role in the feeding of the five thousand, Philip’s symbol is a basket. He was the one who emphasized the cross as a symbol of Christianity and victory.

Resources

https://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=312
https://stphilipsoconnor.org.au/story/saint_philip/
https://overviewbible.com/philip-the-apostle/
https://jesus.net/12-disciples-of-jesus/
https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/who-were-the-twelve-disciples-apostles-of-jesus.html
https://www.britannica.com/biography/Saint-Philip-the-Apostle#ref36362

Scroll to Top