Der heilige Apostel Philipp

saint philip
St. Philipp

Der Legende nach predigte der heilige Philippus in Phrygien und starb als Märtyrer in Hierapolis. Philipp kam aus Bethsaida, der gleichen Stadt wie Petrus und Andreas (Johannes 1,44).

Saint Philip war höchstwahrscheinlich aFischersowie. Obwohl sein Name in den ersten drei Evangelien (Matthäus 10:3, Markus 3:18, Lukas 6:14 und Apostelgeschichte 1:13) vorkommt, ist er in derJohannes-Evangeliumdass Philip eine lebendige Persönlichkeit wird.

Gelehrte sind mit Philip nicht einverstanden. Philip wird erwähnt alseiner der sieben ordinierten Diakonein Apostelgeschichte 6:5. Einige behaupten, dass dies ein anderer Philip ist.

Manche halten dies für den Apostel. Wenn dies derselbe Philip ist, ist seine Persönlichkeit durch seine erfolgreiche Kampagne in Samaria lebendig geworden. Er führte den äthiopischen Eunuchen zum Glauben an Christus (Apg 8,26). Er blieb auch bei Paulus in Cäsarea (Apostelgeschichte 21:8) und war eine Schlüsselfigur im Missionswerk der frühen Kirche.

Nach dem Johannesevangelium war Philippus einer der ersten Menschen, zu denen Jesus sagte:

st. philip, right side (copy)
St. Philip, right side (copy)

"Folge mir."

When Philip met Christ, he immediately sought out Nathanael and told him, “We have found him, of whom Moses… and the prophets did write.” Nathanael was sceptical.

Aber Philip widersprach ihm nicht; Stattdessen antwortete er einfach:

“Come and see.”

This story of Saint Philip reveals two important aspects, first, it demonstrates his correct approach to the sceptic as well as his simple faith in Christ. Second, it demonstrates his missionary instinct.

filippino st philip driving the dragon from the temple of hieropolis
Filippino St Philip Driving the Dragon from the Temple of Hieropolis

Geburt des Heiligen Philipp

Der heilige Philippus der Apostel (geboren, Bethsaida von Galiläa – gestorben 1. Jahrhundert; westlicher Festtag 3. Mai, östlicher Festtag 14. November), einer vonthe Twelve Apostles.

Heiliger Philipp mit Christus

Er wurde von Jesus selbst berufen und brachte Nathanael zu Christus.Philipp war beim Wunder der Brote und Fische dabei, in der er ein kurzes Gespräch mit dem Herrn führte, und er war der Apostel, den hellenistische Juden aus Bethsaida ansprachen, um sie Jesus vorzustellen.

Kurz vor der Passion antwortete Jesus auf die Bitte von Philippus, ihnen den Vater zu zeigen, aber das Neue Testament erwähnt Philipp nicht weiter als seine Aufnahme in die Apostel, die im Abendmahlssaal auf den Heiligen Geist warten.

chapel of mary magdalene - altarpiece st. philip
Chapel of Mary Magdalene - Altarpiece St. Philip

„Herr, zeige uns den Vater, und wir werden zufrieden sein“

sagte Philipp. Jesus sagte,

„Bin ich die ganze Zeit bei dir gewesen und du erkennst mich immer noch nicht, Philip?

Jeder, der mich gesehen hat, hat den Vater gesehen. ‚Zeig uns den Vater‘, wie kannst du sagen?“ (Matthäus 14.8,9) Die alten Überlieferungen über Philippus werden mit denen über Philippus, den Diakon und Evangelisten, vermischt.

Einer der beiden Philips warin Hieropolis beigesetzt, Phrygien, Kleinasien. Einige antike Schriftsteller behaupten, dass Philippus der Apostel drei Töchter hatte, aber Apostelgeschichte 21.8-9 erwähnt vier Töchter des Diakons und Evangelisten Philippus, die einer Überlieferung zufolge ebenfalls in Hieropolis begraben sein sollen.

Der Legende nach während der Predigt in Hieropolis mitHeiliger Bartholomäustötete Philip eine große Schlange in einem Tempel, der der Schlangenanbetung durch Gebet gewidmet war. Philip behandelte auch eine große Anzahl von Schlangenbissen. Wütend kreuzigten der Stadtgouverneur und sein heidnischer Priester Philipp und Bartholomäus.

saint philip
Heiliger Philipp

Ein Erdbeben warf alle zu Boden, während die beiden Jünger am Kreuz saßen, und Philippus betete für ihre Sicherheit. Als das Erdbeben nachließ, forderte das Volk die Freilassung von Philipp und Bartholomäus. Philip starb, aber Bartholomäus überlebte.

Die angeblichen Überreste von Philipp wurden später in die Basilika der Zwölf Apostel in Rom verlegt, die ursprünglich den Heiligen Philipp und Jakobus geweiht war (Jakob der Jüngere). Dadurch werden die beiden Heiligen nun am selben Tag gefeiert. Philip ist der Schutzpatron der Hutmacher, Konditoren, der Länder Luxemburg und Uruguay sowie zahlreicher Kirchen, Schulen und Krankenhäuser auf der ganzen Welt.

As May Day was dedicated to St. Joseph the Worker in 1955, the Roman Catholic church moved the traditional date away from 1 May. St. Philip Feast Day is now celebrated on 3 May by Roman Catholics, 14 November by Eastern churches, and 1 May or 3 May by Anglicans.

Die Leistungen Philipps des Apostels

Philippus lernte die Wahrheit über das Reich Gottes zu Füßen Jesu kennen und predigte dann das Evangelium nach Jesu Auferstehung und Himmelfahrt.

st philip
St Philip

Philips Stärken und Schwächen

Philippus suchte inbrünstig nach dem Messias und erkannte, dass Jesus der verheißene Retter war, obwohl er es erst nach der Auferstehung Jesu vollständig verstand. Wie die anderen Apostel,Philippus hat Jesus verlassen during his trial and crucifixion.

Saint Philip Travels/Missionar

Philip leitet sich vom griechischen Namen Philippos ab, was "Freund der Pferde" bedeutet. Später wurde er Missionar in Griechenland, Syrien und Phrygien. Er gelangte schließlich in die ägyptische Stadt Heliopolis, wo er um das Jahr 54 n. Chr. Gepeitscht, eingesperrt und gekreuzigt wurde. Seine Asche befindet sich in der Basilika der Heiligen Apostel in Rom.

saint philip painting

Saint Philip the Apostle Painting

Canvas print depicting saint Philip, the saint stands out alone, the colours are lively, the saint is dressed in a simple way as to show that the apostles were common men of their times, this basic dress also exalts the divine dimension of the saint.

Available in three different sizes:cm 30×40, cm 50×70, cm 70×100.

Artist: Paolo Bartoli

SHIPPING WEIGHT:1Kg
MATERIALS: Canvas print, wood
ORIGIN: Italy

The following product has an affiliate link. We may receive a commission for purchases made through this link.

Reflection

Wie bei den anderen Aposteln sehen wir in Jakobus und Philippus menschliche Männer, die wurdenGrundsteine der Kirche, und wir werden noch einmal daran erinnert, dass Heiligkeit und das damit verbundene Apostolat ganz und gar ein Geschenk Gottes sind, nicht etwas, das man verdienen kann. Alle Macht ist Gottes Macht, einschließlich der menschlichen Freiheit, seine Gaben anzunehmen.

„Ihr werdet mit Macht aus der Höhe bekleidet werden“, versprach Jesus Philippus und den anderen Jüngern. Ihre erste Aufgabe bestand darin, unreine Geister zu vertreiben, Krankheiten zu heilen und das Königreich zu verkünden. Allmählich erkannten sie, dass diese Äußerlichkeiten Sakramente eines noch größeren Wunders in sich waren – der göttlichen Macht, wie Gott zu lieben.

martyrdom of saint philip, from the series 'the little apostles' (les petits apôtres)
Martyrdom of Saint Philip, from the series 'The little apostles'
(Les petits apôtres)

Tod des Heiligen Philipp

Das ist schwer zu sagenwie der heilige Philipp starb, vor allem, weil er anfangs mit Philipp dem Evangelisten verwechselt wurde und es widersprüchliche Berichte gibt. Einer Quelle zufolge starb er eines natürlichen Todes. Einer anderen zufolge wurde er enthauptet. Alternativ könnten sie zu Tode gesteinigt werden.

Oder auf der falschen Seite des Kreuzes gekreuzigt. Die meisten der frühesten Überlieferungen weisen darauf hin, dass er in Hierapolis den Märtyrertod erlitt. Polykrates von Ephesus schrieb an Papst Viktor:

„Ich spreche von Philippus, einem der zwölf Apostel, der in Hierapolis beigesetzt wurde…“

Caius der Presbyter (ein christlicher Schriftsteller des dritten Jahrhunderts) sagte:

„Und danach gab es vier Prophetinnen, Töchter Philipps, in Hierapolis in Asien.“

Ihr Grab ist dort, ebenso wie das ihres Vaters.

Die Apostelgeschichte Philipps enthält den frühesten und ausführlichsten Bericht über sein Martyrium, aber es ist schwer zu sagen, wie sehr wir ihm vertrauen können. Er bekehrte angeblich die Frau eines Prokonsuls, was den Prokonsul so wütend machte, dass er und Bartholomäus verkehrt herum gekreuzigt wurden. Während sie noch hingen, predigte Philip, und die Menge war bewegt, sie freizulassen. Er wies sie an, Bartholomäus zu befreien, ihn aber nicht zu töten.

Philipp starb im ersten Jahrhundert, möglicherweise um das Jahr 80 n. Chr.

rubens apostel philippus
Rubens Apostel Philippus

Saint Philip Key zum Mitnehmen

Sowohl Philippus als auch Jakobus waren Apostel, die von Jesus auserwählt wurden, um ihm nachzufolgen und sein Werk am Aufbau des Königreichs Gottes fortzusetzen. Katholiken feiern ihr Fest am selben Tag, weil ihre Leichen, obwohl sie zu verschiedenen Zeiten und an verschiedenen Orten starben, gemeinsam in der Kirche der Zwölf Apostel in Rom begraben wurden.

Der heilige Philippus, der dritte Mann, zu dem Jesus gerufen hat

"Folge mir,"

ist auch ein Fischer (Joh 1,43). Wir wissen, dass Philippus Jesus sofort als den Gesandten Gottes erkannte. Als jüngster Jünger Jesu lud er als erstes seinen Freund Nathanael ein, den Herrn zu sehen. Von Anfang an wollte er die Gute Nachricht von Jesus an andere weitergeben!

Der heilige Philipp war auch ein neugieriger Mann, der alles über Jesus und seine Lehren wissen wollte.

„Meister, zeige uns den Vater, und das wird uns genügen“

Jesus war von der Bitte Philipps überrascht. Er hat geantwortet,

„Bin ich schon so lange bei dir und du weißt immer noch nicht, wer ich bin, Philip?“

Wer mich gesehen hat, hat den Vater gesehen“ (Joh 14,9). Die Frage von Philippus und die Antwort Jesu helfen uns zu verstehen, dass wir berufen sind, täglich in unserem Glauben zu wachsen.

Der heilige Philipp soll nach Kleinasien, dem heutigen Türkei, gereist sein, nachdem er zu Pfingsten den Heiligen Geist empfangen hatte, um anderen über das Leben und die Lehren Jesu zu erzählen. Er starb als Märtyrer für unseren (katholischen) Glauben.

Zusammenfassung des Heiligen Philipp

Philip stammte wie Peter und Andrew aus Bethesda. Im Johannesevangelium nimmt er die Gestalt einer lebenden Person an. Er war der erste Mann, den Jesus ihm sagte, und er glaubte, er sei der Prophet, den Moses beschrieb. Er hatte ein warmes Herz und einen pessimistischen Geist, und er wollte unbedingt anderen helfen, konnte aber nicht sehen, wie. Er wurde gehängt, und als er starb, bat er darum, seinen Leichnam in Papyrus und nicht in Leinen zu wickeln, wie es Jesus war.

saint philip - basilica of st. john lateran - rome
Saint Philip - Basilica of St. John Lateran - Rome

Philip war ein Mann mit einem guten Herzen, aber einer pessimistischen Einstellung. Er war die Art von Person, die anderen helfen wollte, aber nicht sah, wie das gehen könnte. Trotzdem gab dieser einfache Galiläer alles, was er hatte. Im Gegenzug hat Gott ihn gebraucht. Er soll durch Erhängen gestorben sein.

Während er im Sterben lag, bat er darum, seinen Körper in Papyrus und nicht in Leinen zu wickeln, weil er es nicht wert war, selbst seinen toten Körper so zu behandeln, wie der Körper Jesu behandelt worden war. Wegen seiner Rolle bei der Ernährung der Fünftausend,Philips Symbol ist ein Korb. Er war derjenige, der das Kreuz als Symbol des Christentums und des Sieges hervorhob.

Resources

Scrolle nach oben Gesichert durch miniOrange

St. Philip

According to legend, disciple Saint Philip preached in Phrygia and died as a martyr at Hierapolis. Philip came from Bethsaida, the same town as Peter and Andrew (John 1:44).

Saint James

The Apostle Saint Philip

Saint Philip the Apostle
Saint Philip the Apostle

Saint Philip was most likely a fisherman as well. Although his name appears in the first three Gospels (Matthew 10:3, Mark 3:18, Luke 6:14, and Acts 1:13), it is in the Gospel of John that Philip becomes a living personality.

Scholars disagree with Philip. Philip is mentioned as one of the seven ordained deacons in Acts 6:5. Some claim that this is a different Philip.

Some consider this to be the Apostle. If this is the same Philip, his personality has come to life as a result of his successful campaign in Samaria. He led the Ethiopian eunuch to faith in Christ (Acts 8:26). He also stayed with Paul in Caesarea (Acts 21:8) and was a key figure in the early church’s missionary enterprise.

Table Of Contents

According to the Gospel of John, Philip was one of the first people to whom Jesus said, “Follow Me.” When Philip met Christ, he immediately sought out Nathanael and told him, “We have found him, of whom Moses… and the prophets did write.” Nathanael was sceptical.

But Philip did not argue with him; instead, he simply replied, “Come and see.” This story reveals two important aspects of Philip. First, it demonstrates his correct approach to the sceptic as well as his simple faith in Christ. Second, it demonstrates his missionary instinct.

Saint Philip Birth

Saint Philip the Apostle, (born, Bethsaida of Galilee—died 1st century; Western feast day May 3, Eastern feast day November 14), one of the Twelve Apostles.

Saint Philip with Christ

He was called by Jesus Himself and brought Nathanael to Christ. Philip was present at the miracle of the loaves and fishes, during which he had a brief conversation with the Lord, and he was the Apostle approached by Hellenistic Jews from Bethsaida to introduce them to Jesus.

Just before the Passion, Jesus responded to Philip’s request to show them the Father, but the New Testament makes no further mention of Philip other than his inclusion among the Apostles awaiting the Holy Spirit in the Upper Room.

Saint Philip Life Facts

Saint Philip the Apostle
Saint Philip the Apostle

“Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied,” Philip said. Jesus stated, “Have I been with you all this time and you still don’t recognize me, Philip? Everyone who has seen me has seen the Father. ‘Show us the Father,’ how can you say?” (Matthew 14.8,9) The ancient traditions about Philip are mixed up with those about Philip the deacon and evangelist.

One of the two Philips was laid to rest in Hieropolis, Phrygia, Asia Minor. Some ancient writers claim that Philip the apostle had three daughters, but Acts 21.8-9 mentions four daughters of Philip the deacon and evangelist, who are also said to be buried in Hieropolis, according to one tradition.

According to legend, while preaching in Hieropolis with Saint Bartholomew, Philip killed a large serpent in a temple dedicated to serpent worship through prayer. Philip also treated a large number of snake bites. Angry, the city governor and its pagan priest crucified Philip and Bartholomew.

An earthquake knocked everyone to the ground while the two disciples were on the cross, and Philip prayed for their safety. When the earthquake subsided, the people demanded the release of Philip and Bartholomew. Philip died, but Bartholomew survived.

The alleged remains of Philip were later moved to Rome’s Basilica of the Twelve Apostles, which was originally dedicated to Saints Philip and James (James the younger). As a result, the two saints are now celebrated on the same day. Philip is the patron saint of hatters, pastry chefs, the countries of Luxembourg and Uruguay, as well as numerous churches, schools, and hospitals around the world.

As May Day was dedicated to St. Joseph the Worker in 1955, the Roman Catholic church moved the traditional date away from 1 May. St. Philip is now celebrated on 3 May by Roman Catholics, 14 November by Eastern churches, and 1 May or 3 May by Anglicans.

Philip the Apostle’s Accomplishments

Philip learned the truth about the kingdom of God at the feet of Jesus, then preached the gospel after Jesus’ resurrection and ascension.

Philip’s Strengths and Weaknesses

Philip fervently sought the Messiah and recognized that Jesus was the promised Savior, even though he did not fully understand until after Jesus’ resurrection. Like the other apostles, Philip deserted Jesus during his trial and crucifixion.

Saint Philip Travels/Missionary

Philip is derived from the Greek name Philippos, which means “friend of horses.” He went on to become a missionary in Greece, Syria, and Phrygia. He eventually made his way to the Egyptian city of Heliopolis, where he was whipped, imprisoned, and crucified around the year 54 A.D. His ashes can be found in Rome’s Holy Apostles Basilica.

Reflection

As with the other apostles, we see in James and Philip human men who became foundation stones of the Church, and we are reminded once more that holiness and its attendant apostolate are entirely a gift of God, not something that can be earned. All power is God’s power, including human freedom to accept his gifts.

“You will be clothed with power from on high,” Jesus promised Philip and the other disciples. Their first assignment had been to expel unclean spirits, heal diseases, and proclaim the kingdom. They gradually realized that these externals were sacraments of an even greater miracle within them—the divine power to love like God.

Saint Phillip Death

It’s difficult to say how Saint Philip died, especially because he was initially confused with Philip the Evangelist, and there are conflicting accounts. According to one source, he died of natural causes. According to another, he was beheaded. Alternatively, they could be stoned to death.

Or crucified on the wrong side of the cross. The majority of the earliest traditions point to him being martyred in Hierapolis. Polycrates of Ephesus wrote to Pope Victor, “I speak of Philip, one of the twelve apostles, who is laid to rest at Hierapolis…” Caius the Presbyter (a third-century Christian writer) stated, “And after this, there were four prophetesses, daughters of Philip, at Hierapolis in Asia.” Their tomb is there, as is their father’s.”

The Acts of Philip contain the earliest and most detailed account of his martyrdom, but it’s difficult to know how much we can trust it. He allegedly converted the wife of a proconsul, which enraged the proconsul enough to have him and Bartholomew crucified upside down. While they were still hanging, Philip preached, and the crowd was moved to release them. He instructed them to free Bartholomew but not to kill him.

Philip died in the first century, possibly around the year 80 AD.

Rubens Apostel Philippus
Rubens Apostel Philippus

Saint Philip Key Takeaway

Both Philip and James were Apostles, chosen by Jesus to follow him and continue his work of building God’s Kingdom. Catholics celebrate their feast on the same day because, despite dying at different times and locations, their bodies were moved and buried together in Rome’s Church of the Twelve Apostles.

Saint Philip, the third man Jesus summoned to “Follow me,” is also a fisherman (John 1:43). We know that Philip recognized Jesus as God’s messenger right away. As Jesus’ newest disciple, the first thing he did was invite his friend Nathanael to come and see the Lord. From the beginning, he desired to spread the Good News of Jesus to others!

Saint Philip was also an inquisitive man who wanted to know everything he could about Jesus and his teachings. “Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us,” Philip said to Jesus at the Last Supper (John 14:8).

Jesus was taken aback by Philip’s request. He responded, “Have I been with you for so long and you still don’t know who I am, Philip?” Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father” (John 14:9). Philip’s question and Jesus’ response help us understand that we are called to grow in our faith daily.

Saint Philip is said to have travelled to Asia Minor, now known as Turkey, after receiving the Holy Spirit at Pentecost to tell others about Jesus’ life and teachings. He died as a martyr for our (catholic) faith.

Saint Philip Summary

Philip, like Peter and Andrew, was from Bethesda. In the Gospel of John, he takes on the form of a living person. He was the first man Jesus told to follow him, and he believed He was the prophets Moses described. He had a warm heart and a pessimistic mind, and he desperately wanted to help others but couldn’t see how. He was hanged, and as he died, he requested that his body be wrapped in papyrus rather than linen, as Jesus was.

Philip was a man with a good heart but a pessimistic outlook. He was the type of person who wanted to help others but couldn’t see how it could be done. Nonetheless, this simple Galilean gave everything he had. In return, God made use of him. He was said to have died by hanging.

While he was dying, he requested that his body be wrapped in papyrus rather than linen because he was not worthy for even his dead body to be treated as Jesus’ body had been treated. Because of his role in the feeding of the five thousand, Philip’s symbol is a basket. He was the one who emphasized the cross as a symbol of Christianity and victory.

Resources

https://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=312
https://stphilipsoconnor.org.au/story/saint_philip/
https://overviewbible.com/philip-the-apostle/
https://jesus.net/12-disciples-of-jesus/
https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/who-were-the-twelve-disciples-apostles-of-jesus.html
https://www.britannica.com/biography/Saint-Philip-the-Apostle#ref36362

Scroll to Top