Апостол Святой Филипп

saint philip
Святой Филипп

Согласно легенде, святой Филипп проповедовал во Фригии и мученически скончался в Иераполе. Филипп происходил из Вифсаиды, того же города, что и Петр и Андрей (Иоанна 1:44).

Святой Филипп, скорее всего, былрыбактакже. Хотя его имя фигурирует в первых трех Евангелиях (Матфея 10: 3, Марка 3:18, Луки 6:14 и Деяния 1:13), оно присутствует вЕвангелие от Иоанначто Филипп становится живой личностью.

Ученые не согласны с Филиппом. Филип упоминается какодин из семи рукоположенных диаконовв Деяниях 6: 5. Некоторые утверждают, что это другой Филипп.

Некоторые считают, что это Апостол. Если это тот же Филипп, его личность ожила в результате его успешной кампании в Самарии. Он привел эфиопского евнуха к вере во Христа (Деяния 8:26). Он также останавливался с Павлом в Кесарии (Деяния 21: 8) и был ключевой фигурой в миссионерской деятельности ранней церкви.

Согласно Евангелию от Иоанна, Филипп был одним из первых, кому Иисус сказал:

st. philip, right side (copy)
St. Philip, right side (copy)

"Подписывайтесь на меня."

When Philip met Christ, he immediately sought out Nathanael and told him, “We have found him, of whom Moses… and the prophets did write.” Nathanael was sceptical.

Но Филипп не стал с ним спорить; вместо этого он просто ответил:

"Приди и посмотри."

This story of Saint Philip reveals two important aspects, first, it demonstrates his correct approach to the sceptic as well as his simple faith in Christ. Second, it demonstrates his missionary instinct.

filippino st philip driving the dragon from the temple of hieropolis
Filippino St Philip Driving the Dragon from the Temple of Hieropolis

Рождение Святого Филиппа

Святой Апостол Филипп (родился в Вифсаиде Галилейской - умер в I веке; западный праздник 3 мая, восточный праздник 14 ноября), один изДвенадцать апостолов.

Святой Филипп со Христом

Он был призван Самим Иисусом и привел Нафанаила ко Христу.Филипп присутствовал при чуде с хлебом и рыбой., во время которой у него была короткая беседа с Господом, и он был апостолом, к которому эллинистические евреи из Вифсаиды подошли, чтобы познакомить их с Иисусом.

Незадолго до Страстей Иисус ответил на просьбу Филиппа показать им Отца, но Новый Завет не упоминает о Филиппе, кроме его включения в число апостолов, ожидающих Святого Духа в горнице.

chapel of mary magdalene - altarpiece st. philip
Chapel of Mary Magdalene - Altarpiece St. Philip

«Господи, покажи нам Отца, и мы будем довольны»,

- сказал Филипп. Иисус сказал:

«Я был с тобой все это время, а ты все еще не узнал меня, Филипп?

Все, кто видел меня, видели Отца. «Покажи нам Отца», как ты можешь сказать? » (Матфея 14.8,9) Древние предания о Филиппе смешаны с преданиями о Филиппе, диаконе и евангелисте.

Один из двух Philips былпохоронен в Иерополисе, Фригия, Малая Азия. Некоторые древние писатели утверждают, что у апостола Филиппа было три дочери, но в Деяниях 21.8-9 упоминаются четыре дочери Филиппа, дьякона и евангелиста, которые, как говорят, также были похоронены в Иерополисе, согласно одной традиции.

Согласно легенде, проповедуя в Иерополисе сСвятой Варфоломей, Филипп убил большого змея в храме, посвященном поклонению змею через молитву. Филипп также лечил большое количество укусов змей. Разгневанный, губернатор города и его языческий священник распяли Филиппа и Варфоломея.

saint philip
Святой Филип

Землетрясение повалило всех на землю, когда два ученика были на кресте, и Филипп молился за их безопасность. Когда землетрясение утихло, люди потребовали освободить Филиппа и Варфоломея. Филипп умер, но Варфоломей выжил.

Предполагаемые останки Филиппа были позже перенесены в Римскую базилику Двенадцати Апостолов, которая первоначально была посвящена Святым Филиппу и Иакову (Джеймс младший). В результате два святых теперь чествуют в один и тот же день. Филипп является покровителем шляпников и кондитеров в странах Люксембурга и Уругвая, а также многочисленных церквей, школ и больниц по всему миру.

As May Day was dedicated to St. Joseph the Worker in 1955, the Roman Catholic church moved the traditional date away from 1 May. St. Philip Feast Day is now celebrated on 3 May by Roman Catholics, 14 November by Eastern churches, and 1 May or 3 May by Anglicans.

Достижения апостола Филиппа

Филипп узнал истину о Царстве Божьем у ног Иисуса, а затем проповедовал Евангелие после воскресения и вознесения Иисуса.

st philip
St Philip

Сильные и слабые стороны Филиппа

Филипп горячо искал Мессию и признал, что Иисус был обещанным Спасителем, хотя он не понимал этого полностью до воскресения Иисуса. Как и другие апостолы,Филипп покинул Иисусаво время суда и распятия.

Saint Philip Travels / Миссионерская позиция

Филипп происходит от греческого имени Филиппос, что означает «друг лошадей». Затем он стал миссионером в Греции, Сирии и Фригии. В конце концов, он добрался до египетского города Гелиополис, где его избили, заключили в тюрьму и распяли примерно в 54 году нашей эры. Его прах можно найти в базилике Святых Апостолов в Риме.

saint philip painting

Saint Philip the Apostle Painting

Canvas print depicting saint Philip, the saint stands out alone, the colours are lively, the saint is dressed in a simple way as to show that the apostles were common men of their times, this basic dress also exalts the divine dimension of the saint.

Available in three different sizes:cm 30×40, cm 50×70, cm 70×100.

Artist: Paolo Bartoli

SHIPPING WEIGHT:1Kg
MATERIALS: Canvas print, wood
ORIGIN: Italy

Следующий продукт имеет партнерскую ссылку. Мы можем получать комиссию за покупки, сделанные по этой ссылке.

Отражение

Как и в других апостолах, мы видим в Иакове и Филиппе человеческих мужчин, которые сталикамни в фундамент церкви, и нам еще раз напоминают, что святость и сопутствующее ей апостольство - это всецело дар Божий, а не то, что можно заслужить. Всякая сила - это сила Бога, включая свободу человека принимать Его дары.

«Вы будете облечены в силу свыше», - пообещал Иисус Филиппу и другим ученикам. Их первым заданием было изгнать нечистых духов, исцелить болезни и провозгласить царство. Постепенно они осознали, что эти внешние проявления были таинствами еще большего чуда внутри них - божественной силы любить, как Бог.

martyrdom of saint philip, from the series 'the little apostles' (les petits apôtres)
Martyrdom of Saint Philip, from the series 'The little apostles'
(Les petits apôtres)

Святой Филипп Смерть

Сложно сказатькак умер святой филипп, особенно потому, что его изначально путали с Филиппом Евангелистом, и существуют противоречивые сведения. Согласно одному из источников, он умер естественной смертью. По другой версии, он был обезглавлен. Как вариант, их можно было забить камнями до смерти.

Или распят на изнанке креста. Большинство самых ранних преданий указывают на то, что он был замучен в Иераполе. Поликрат Эфесский писал Папе Виктору:

«Я говорю о Филиппе, одном из двенадцати апостолов, похороненного в Иераполе…»

Пресвитер Гай (христианский писатель III века) заявил:

«И после этого были четыре пророчицы, дочери Филиппа, в Иераполе в Азии».

Их могила там, как и их отец.

Деяния Филиппа содержат самый ранний и подробный отчет о его мученической смерти, но трудно понять, насколько мы можем этому доверять. Он якобы обратил жену проконсула, что привело проконсула в такую ярость, что он и Варфоломей были распяты вверх ногами. Пока они еще висели, Филипп проповедовал, и толпа побудила их освободить. Он приказал им освободить Варфоломея, но не убивать его.

Филипп умер в первом веке, возможно, около 80 года нашей эры.

rubens apostel philippus
Рубенс Апостель Филипп

Saint Philip Key Takeaway

И Филипп, и Иаков были Апостолами, избранными Иисусом, чтобы они последовали за ним и продолжили его работу по созиданию Царства Бога. Католики отмечают свой праздник в один и тот же день, потому что, несмотря на смерть в разное время и в разных местах, их тела были перемещены и похоронены вместе в Римской церкви Двенадцати Апостолов.

Святой Филипп, третий человек, к которому Иисус призвал

"Подписывайтесь на меня,"

также рыбак (Иоанна 1:43). Мы знаем, что Филипп сразу признал Иисуса посланником Бога. Как новый ученик Иисуса, он первым делом пригласил своего друга Нафанаила прийти и увидеть Господа. С самого начала он хотел нести Благую Весть об Иисусе другим!

Святой Филипп был также любознательным человеком, который хотел знать все, что мог, об Иисусе и его учении.

«Учитель, покажи нам Отца, и этого нам будет достаточно»,

Иисус был поражен просьбой Филиппа. Он ответил,

«Я был с тобой так долго, а ты до сих пор не знаешь, кто я, Филип?»

Всякий, видевший Меня, видел Отца »(Иоанна 14: 9). Вопрос Филиппа и ответ Иисуса помогают нам понять, что мы призваны возрастать в нашей вере каждый день.

Говорят, что святой Филипп отправился в Малую Азию, ныне известную как Турция, после получения Святого Духа в день Пятидесятницы, чтобы рассказывать другим о жизни и учениях Иисуса. Он умер мучеником за нашу (католическую) веру.

Святой Филипп Резюме

Филипп, как Петр и Андрей, был из Вифезда. В Евангелии от Иоанна он принимает облик живого человека. Он был первым человеком, которого Иисус велел следовать за ним, и он верил, что Он был пророками, которых описал Моисей. У него было горячее сердце и пессимистический ум, и он отчаянно хотел помочь другим, но не мог понять, как это сделать. Его повесили, и когда он умер, он попросил, чтобы его тело было обернуто папирусом, а не льняной тканью, как Иисус.

saint philip - basilica of st. john lateran - rome
Saint Philip - Basilica of St. John Lateran - Rome

Филипп был человеком с добрым сердцем, но с пессимистическим взглядом на вещи. Он был из тех людей, которые хотели помочь другим, но не понимали, как это можно сделать. Тем не менее этот простой галилеянин отдал все, что имел. В свою очередь, Бог использовал его. Сообщается, что он умер через повешение.

Умирая, он попросил обернуть его тело папирусом, а не льняной тканью, потому что он не был достоин того, чтобы с ним обращались, как с телом Иисуса. Из-за его роли в кормлении пяти тысяч,Символ Филиппа - корзина. Он был тем, кто подчеркивал крест как символ христианства и победы.

Ресурсы

Пролистать наверх Защищено miniOrange

St. Philip

According to legend, disciple Saint Philip preached in Phrygia and died as a martyr at Hierapolis. Philip came from Bethsaida, the same town as Peter and Andrew (John 1:44).

Saint James

The Apostle Saint Philip

Saint Philip the Apostle
Saint Philip the Apostle

Saint Philip was most likely a fisherman as well. Although his name appears in the first three Gospels (Matthew 10:3, Mark 3:18, Luke 6:14, and Acts 1:13), it is in the Gospel of John that Philip becomes a living personality.

Scholars disagree with Philip. Philip is mentioned as one of the seven ordained deacons in Acts 6:5. Some claim that this is a different Philip.

Some consider this to be the Apostle. If this is the same Philip, his personality has come to life as a result of his successful campaign in Samaria. He led the Ethiopian eunuch to faith in Christ (Acts 8:26). He also stayed with Paul in Caesarea (Acts 21:8) and was a key figure in the early church’s missionary enterprise.

Table Of Contents

According to the Gospel of John, Philip was one of the first people to whom Jesus said, “Follow Me.” When Philip met Christ, he immediately sought out Nathanael and told him, “We have found him, of whom Moses… and the prophets did write.” Nathanael was sceptical.

But Philip did not argue with him; instead, he simply replied, “Come and see.” This story reveals two important aspects of Philip. First, it demonstrates his correct approach to the sceptic as well as his simple faith in Christ. Second, it demonstrates his missionary instinct.

Saint Philip Birth

Saint Philip the Apostle, (born, Bethsaida of Galilee—died 1st century; Western feast day May 3, Eastern feast day November 14), one of the Twelve Apostles.

Saint Philip with Christ

He was called by Jesus Himself and brought Nathanael to Christ. Philip was present at the miracle of the loaves and fishes, during which he had a brief conversation with the Lord, and he was the Apostle approached by Hellenistic Jews from Bethsaida to introduce them to Jesus.

Just before the Passion, Jesus responded to Philip’s request to show them the Father, but the New Testament makes no further mention of Philip other than his inclusion among the Apostles awaiting the Holy Spirit in the Upper Room.

Saint Philip Life Facts

Saint Philip the Apostle
Saint Philip the Apostle

“Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied,” Philip said. Jesus stated, “Have I been with you all this time and you still don’t recognize me, Philip? Everyone who has seen me has seen the Father. ‘Show us the Father,’ how can you say?” (Matthew 14.8,9) The ancient traditions about Philip are mixed up with those about Philip the deacon and evangelist.

One of the two Philips was laid to rest in Hieropolis, Phrygia, Asia Minor. Some ancient writers claim that Philip the apostle had three daughters, but Acts 21.8-9 mentions four daughters of Philip the deacon and evangelist, who are also said to be buried in Hieropolis, according to one tradition.

According to legend, while preaching in Hieropolis with Saint Bartholomew, Philip killed a large serpent in a temple dedicated to serpent worship through prayer. Philip also treated a large number of snake bites. Angry, the city governor and its pagan priest crucified Philip and Bartholomew.

An earthquake knocked everyone to the ground while the two disciples were on the cross, and Philip prayed for their safety. When the earthquake subsided, the people demanded the release of Philip and Bartholomew. Philip died, but Bartholomew survived.

The alleged remains of Philip were later moved to Rome’s Basilica of the Twelve Apostles, which was originally dedicated to Saints Philip and James (James the younger). As a result, the two saints are now celebrated on the same day. Philip is the patron saint of hatters, pastry chefs, the countries of Luxembourg and Uruguay, as well as numerous churches, schools, and hospitals around the world.

As May Day was dedicated to St. Joseph the Worker in 1955, the Roman Catholic church moved the traditional date away from 1 May. St. Philip is now celebrated on 3 May by Roman Catholics, 14 November by Eastern churches, and 1 May or 3 May by Anglicans.

Philip the Apostle’s Accomplishments

Philip learned the truth about the kingdom of God at the feet of Jesus, then preached the gospel after Jesus’ resurrection and ascension.

Philip’s Strengths and Weaknesses

Philip fervently sought the Messiah and recognized that Jesus was the promised Savior, even though he did not fully understand until after Jesus’ resurrection. Like the other apostles, Philip deserted Jesus during his trial and crucifixion.

Saint Philip Travels/Missionary

Philip is derived from the Greek name Philippos, which means “friend of horses.” He went on to become a missionary in Greece, Syria, and Phrygia. He eventually made his way to the Egyptian city of Heliopolis, where he was whipped, imprisoned, and crucified around the year 54 A.D. His ashes can be found in Rome’s Holy Apostles Basilica.

Reflection

As with the other apostles, we see in James and Philip human men who became foundation stones of the Church, and we are reminded once more that holiness and its attendant apostolate are entirely a gift of God, not something that can be earned. All power is God’s power, including human freedom to accept his gifts.

“You will be clothed with power from on high,” Jesus promised Philip and the other disciples. Their first assignment had been to expel unclean spirits, heal diseases, and proclaim the kingdom. They gradually realized that these externals were sacraments of an even greater miracle within them—the divine power to love like God.

Saint Phillip Death

It’s difficult to say how Saint Philip died, especially because he was initially confused with Philip the Evangelist, and there are conflicting accounts. According to one source, he died of natural causes. According to another, he was beheaded. Alternatively, they could be stoned to death.

Or crucified on the wrong side of the cross. The majority of the earliest traditions point to him being martyred in Hierapolis. Polycrates of Ephesus wrote to Pope Victor, “I speak of Philip, one of the twelve apostles, who is laid to rest at Hierapolis…” Caius the Presbyter (a third-century Christian writer) stated, “And after this, there were four prophetesses, daughters of Philip, at Hierapolis in Asia.” Their tomb is there, as is their father’s.”

The Acts of Philip contain the earliest and most detailed account of his martyrdom, but it’s difficult to know how much we can trust it. He allegedly converted the wife of a proconsul, which enraged the proconsul enough to have him and Bartholomew crucified upside down. While they were still hanging, Philip preached, and the crowd was moved to release them. He instructed them to free Bartholomew but not to kill him.

Philip died in the first century, possibly around the year 80 AD.

Rubens Apostel Philippus
Rubens Apostel Philippus

Saint Philip Key Takeaway

Both Philip and James were Apostles, chosen by Jesus to follow him and continue his work of building God’s Kingdom. Catholics celebrate their feast on the same day because, despite dying at different times and locations, their bodies were moved and buried together in Rome’s Church of the Twelve Apostles.

Saint Philip, the third man Jesus summoned to “Follow me,” is also a fisherman (John 1:43). We know that Philip recognized Jesus as God’s messenger right away. As Jesus’ newest disciple, the first thing he did was invite his friend Nathanael to come and see the Lord. From the beginning, he desired to spread the Good News of Jesus to others!

Saint Philip was also an inquisitive man who wanted to know everything he could about Jesus and his teachings. “Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us,” Philip said to Jesus at the Last Supper (John 14:8).

Jesus was taken aback by Philip’s request. He responded, “Have I been with you for so long and you still don’t know who I am, Philip?” Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father” (John 14:9). Philip’s question and Jesus’ response help us understand that we are called to grow in our faith daily.

Saint Philip is said to have travelled to Asia Minor, now known as Turkey, after receiving the Holy Spirit at Pentecost to tell others about Jesus’ life and teachings. He died as a martyr for our (catholic) faith.

Saint Philip Summary

Philip, like Peter and Andrew, was from Bethesda. In the Gospel of John, he takes on the form of a living person. He was the first man Jesus told to follow him, and he believed He was the prophets Moses described. He had a warm heart and a pessimistic mind, and he desperately wanted to help others but couldn’t see how. He was hanged, and as he died, he requested that his body be wrapped in papyrus rather than linen, as Jesus was.

Philip was a man with a good heart but a pessimistic outlook. He was the type of person who wanted to help others but couldn’t see how it could be done. Nonetheless, this simple Galilean gave everything he had. In return, God made use of him. He was said to have died by hanging.

While he was dying, he requested that his body be wrapped in papyrus rather than linen because he was not worthy for even his dead body to be treated as Jesus’ body had been treated. Because of his role in the feeding of the five thousand, Philip’s symbol is a basket. He was the one who emphasized the cross as a symbol of Christianity and victory.

Resources

https://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=312
https://stphilipsoconnor.org.au/story/saint_philip/
https://overviewbible.com/philip-the-apostle/
https://jesus.net/12-disciples-of-jesus/
https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/who-were-the-twelve-disciples-apostles-of-jesus.html
https://www.britannica.com/biography/Saint-Philip-the-Apostle#ref36362

Scroll to Top