使徒聖彼得

peter 413x531 1
聖彼得

聖彼得,也被稱為西門彼得、西緬、西門、磯法或使徒彼得,是耶穌基督的十二使徒之一,也是早期教會的創始人之一。

聖彼得在歷史上被認為是羅馬的第一位主教或教皇,也是東方基督教習俗中安條克的第一位族長。

古代基督教會視他為羅馬教會和安提阿教會之父,但對他現代繼任者的權威存在分歧。

他是一個漁夫誰上升成為使徒的領袖儘管在很多情況下都辜負了耶穌基督。

數以千計的人因他的講道而歸信,他一生創造了數個奇蹟。

聖保羅和聖彼得的關係動盪不安,因為他們對猶太基督徒和外邦基督徒的社交能力持有不同的看法。

彼得斯早年生活/出生

西門是聖彼得的原名,直到耶穌給他起名叫彼得。根據新約,聖彼得出生於公元前一世紀,原名西門或西緬。他的名字遵循猶太人以舊約中一位著名族長的名字命名男孩的習俗。西蒙沒有受過正規教育,只會說阿拉姆語。

他是一個職業漁夫,他住在加利利海附近的伯賽大。在與耶穌一起傳播他的信息之前,他和他的兄弟安得烈以及西庇太、約翰和雅各的兒子們一起做漁網。

當他遇見並跟隨耶穌時,他已經結婚了(馬可福音 1:30);他沒有受過正規教育(使徒行傳 4:13),他和他的父親和兄弟安德魯在湖畔小鎮迦百農一起打漁。同一天,安德烈加入了耶穌門徒的隊伍。

pietro (apostolo)
Pietro (apostolo)

聖彼得的首要地位

來自不同神學背景的基督徒對彼得事工的確切意義存在分歧。例如,天主教徒將聖彼得視為第一位教皇。根據天主教會的說法,拿撒勒人耶穌在福音書中賦予彼得的事工為教皇對教會行使牧靈權威奠定了神學基礎。

在天主教中,聖彼得的首要地位被認為是羅馬主教高於教會其他主教的首要地位的基礎。

羅馬主教至上,又稱羅馬教皇至上,是佩特里內至上至教宗的延伸。根據天主教會的這一教義,羅馬教皇擁有耶穌授予的權力來統治整個教會。

東正教認為,彼得的事工指出了一種潛在的神學,即彼得的繼任者應享有高於其他教會領袖的特殊優先權,但這只是“榮譽至上”,而不是行使牧靈權柄的權利。

新教教派爭辯說,彼得在羅馬的使徒工作並不意味著與羅馬教皇的關係。

同樣,來自不同背景的歷史學家對使徒在羅馬的存在提供了不同的解釋。

st. peter preaching in jerusalem
St. Peter Preaching in Jerusalem

彼得與基督的生活

當彼得遇見耶穌時,他的生命發生了改變。在路加福音 5:1-11 中,耶穌告訴彼得在中午時分把他的船放出來捕魚。剛從一夜無果的釣魚中歸來的彼得,懷疑,但他服從了耶穌的命令。彼得釣到的魚太多了,他需要第二條船幫他把魚帶上來。

根據彼得的說法,這種豐富的體驗是上帝同在的標誌。他請求耶穌離開他,但耶穌告訴他,他會成為一個得人的漁夫。

如前所述,彼得是耶穌最早呼召的門徒之一,他經常是他們的代言人——無論好壞。他的功勞之一是對耶穌身份的獨特洞察。彼得是第一個稱耶穌為神的兒子——彌賽亞的人(馬可福音 8:29,路加福音 9:20,馬太福音 16:16-17)。

當耶穌呼召彼得時,他知道他是從神而來的,但他覺得自己不配與耶穌同在(路加福音 5:6-8)。儘管如此,耶穌並沒有拖延地告訴彼得和安得烈,他會讓他們成為“得人的漁夫”(馬可福音 1:17)。

彼得很勇敢,但他經常犯錯。他甚至一次斥責主並說他願意為耶穌而死,儘管他在耶穌被捕和受審期間曾三次否認他(馬太福音 16:21-22)。

耶穌愛門徒,知道誰會忠於祂,誰會背叛祂(加略人猶大)。彼得目睹了耶穌的許多奇蹟,以及在變容期間與約翰和雅各一起見證了 Shekhinah 的榮耀。這是耶穌的人性被揭示以彰顯他神性的榮耀的時刻(馬太福音 17:1-9)。

peter in chora
Peter in Chora

聖彼得斯成就

有一篇專門的文章是關於彼得門徒事實但很明顯,彼得是其中之一耶穌的十二使徒.根據羅馬天主教的傳統,耶穌任命聖彼得為第一任教皇(馬太福音 16:18)。耶穌還給了他“天國的鑰匙”(馬太福音 16:19),這就是為什麼他經常在藝術和流行文化中被描繪在天堂之門。

彼得是第一個承認耶穌是彌賽亞的使徒,上帝應許他會拯救他的子民。通過成為基督的漁夫(馬太福音 4:19),他放棄了漁夫的生活,去帶領他人歸向耶穌。他目睹了變形,在此期間耶穌被揭示為上帝的兒子。

saint peter
聖彼得

他目睹了耶穌復活一個死去的孩子(路加福音 8:40-56),他目睹了耶穌在客西馬尼園的痛苦。他也是第一位奉基督的名開始行神蹟的使徒。因為聖彼得支持將好消息傳播給外邦人,教會成為真正的天主教徒,或“普世教會”,因為這信息傳播給了所有人,無論其出身如何。

天主教認為羅馬教會領導整個基督教會的信念是基於耶穌將這項工作交給彼得,彼得隨後在羅馬建立了第一個基督教會的信念。

他是教皇、羅馬和許多以他的名字命名的城市的守護神,包括聖彼得聖皮埃爾。作為一名前漁夫,他是製網者、造船者和漁民的守護神,也是鎖匠的守護神,因為他擁有“天堂的鑰匙”。

聖經中的聖彼得

Peter is a prominent figure in the gospels and Acts, and Paul mentions him several times in his letters. In many biblical accounts, Peter is the first to state the obvious and say what everyone else is thinking (or at least what he is thinking), and he takes centre stage.

儘管彼得沒有受過正規教育,但他的大膽和信念讓人們大吃一驚。彼得雄辯,但不引人注目。他們還注意到他曾與耶穌在一起,並親眼目睹了與耶穌結盟是如何使一切不同的。

saint peter
聖彼得

彼得的否認

根據新約四福音書,否認彼得是指使徒彼得三次否認耶穌。根據四福音書,耶穌預言在最後的晚餐彼得會在第二天早上“公雞叫”之前否認他的知識並與他斷絕關係。

當大祭司的一個女僕發現他並指責他與耶穌在一起時,他第一次否認了他。 “公雞叫了,”根據馬克的描述,而盧克和約翰提到他和其他人坐在火爐旁。

第二次否認發生在他遠離火光的地方。根據馬可的說法,同一個女僕,或者另一個女僕,根據馬太的說法,或者是路加和約翰所提到的一個男人,告訴人們彼得是耶穌的追隨者之一。 “公雞叫了,”約翰再次說道。

根據約翰福音,第二次否認發生在彼得還坐在火邊的時候,有人在耶穌被捕時在客西馬尼園看到他時做出了斷言。

當他的加利利口音被用來證明他是耶穌的門徒時,第三次也是最後一次否認發生了。根據馬修、馬克和盧克的說法,“公雞再次叫了”。

馬太接著說,正是他的口音使他成為加利利人。

盧克不同意第三個否認,他說這只是一個人在指責他,而不是整個人群。約翰的作品中沒有提到口音。

彼得三次否認耶穌,但第三次之後,他聽到雞叫,想起了耶穌的預言。然後他就開始不受控制地哭了起來。這被稱為“彼得的悔改”。

masaccio, crucifixion of st peter
Masaccio, Crucifixion of St Peter

彼得之死

根據約翰福音,耶穌暗指聖彼得之死。

“當你老了,你會伸出雙手,別人會給你穿衣服,帶你去你不想去的地方,”

他說(約翰福音 21:18)。

不幸的是,聖經中沒有提到彼得的死。然而,歷史學家認為他死於釘十字架公元 64 年尼祿皇帝在位期間

當面對自己的命運時,彼得要求將他倒釘十字架。據說他認為自己不配像基督那樣殉道。在聖彼得死後,聖萊納斯接替聖彼得成為天主教會的第一位羅馬教皇。

聖萊納斯的繼承線是不間斷的,可以追溯到公元 64 年 要成為天主教會的聖人,您必須滿足幾個標準,包括作為上帝僕人的生活、英雄美德的證據以及經過驗證的奇蹟。據說聖彼得在最後一次與耶穌一起在水上行走。聖彼得不僅滿足了所有這些要求,而且還是教皇、羅馬、漁夫和鎖匠的守護神。

聖彼得遊記

St. Peter travelled throughout many regions, including Jerusalem, Antioch, and Corinth, preaching the Gospel and converting people to Christianity. The final city he was to visit was Rome, where St. Peter was martyred during Emperor Nero’s persecution of Christianity in the year 64.

聖彼得獎章

聖彼得吊墜或獎章通常會描繪他拿著大鑰匙,這是耶穌將天國的鑰匙交給他的象徵(馬太福音 16)。在當代對彼得作為天堂之門的看門人的描述中,仍然可以找到這種參考。

confraternity medal saint peter in brass
聖彼得勳章

關鍵外賣

耶穌任命的第一任教皇聖彼得在新約中被提及的次數比任何其他使徒都要多。聖彼得是一位受基督呼召棄網而成為“得人的漁夫”的漁夫,在耶穌的大部分公開事工中都陪伴在他的身邊。

在基督被釘十字架、受死和復活之後,聖彼得帶領早期教會經歷擴張和迫害——以及他隨後升天。

公元 64 年,當聖彼得在尼祿皇帝的統治下被判處死刑時,他選擇倒釘在十字架上,聲稱他不配像彌賽亞一樣死去。他的遺物在羅馬的聖彼得大教堂受到崇敬,朝聖者來到這裡向他和他的繼任者致敬,他們是基督和他在地球上的教會的代牧。

attributed to bernardino da asola - the death of saint peter martyr
Attributed to Bernardino da Asola - the death of Saint Peter martyr

總結聖彼得

聖彼得傳統上被視為羅馬的第一任主教和耶穌十二使徒的領袖。他們第一次見面是在聽施洗者聖約翰的講道時。彼得在遇見耶穌的那一刻就認出耶穌是彌賽亞。同樣,從耶穌遇見彼得的那一刻起,他就知道自己將成為教會的磐石。

復活後,耶穌第一次拜訪聖彼得。正是在那裡,耶穌宣布自己是教會的領袖。結果,彼得成為了天主教會不間斷的領導人中的第一個,現在被稱為教皇。他像耶穌一樣,以殉道者的身份死去。新約包含大量關於聖彼得的信息,特別是在四福音書中。

聖彼得資源

滾動到頂部 由 miniOrange 保護

The Apostle Saint Peter

peter 413x531 1
St. Peter

Saint Peter, also known as Simon Peter, Simeon, Simon, Cephas, or Peter the Apostle, was one of Jesus Christ’s Twelve Apostles and one of the early Church’s founders.

Saint Peter is historically regarded as the first bishop of Rome or pope, as well as the first patriarch of Antioch by Eastern Christian custom.

The ancient Christian churches regard him as the father of the Roman Church and the Church of Antioch, but there is disagreement regarding the authority of his modern-day successors.

He was a fisherman who rose to become the Apostles’ leader despite failing Jesus Christ on many occasions.

Thousands of people were converted by his sermons, and he performed several miracles throughout his lifetime.

Saint Paul and Saint Peter had a tumultuous relationship because they held contrasting opinions on the sociability of Jewish and Gentile Christians.

Peters Early Life/Births

Simon was Saint Peter’s original name until Jesus gave him the name Peter. Saint Peter was born in the first century BC as Simon or Simeon, according to the New Testament. His name followed the Jewish custom of naming male children after a prominent patriarch from the Old Testament. Simon had no formal education and just spoke in Aramaic.

He was a fisherman by profession, and he lived in Bethsaida, near the Sea of Galilee. Before joining Jesus in spreading his message, he worked on fishing nets with his brother Andrew and the sons of Zebedee, John, and James, who were all part of Jesus’ inner circle.

He was already married (Mark 1:30) when he met and followed Jesus; he had no formal education (Acts 4:13), and he worked the fishing nets with his father and brother Andrew in the lakefront town of Capernaum. On the same day, Andrew joined the party of Jesus’ disciples.

pietro (apostolo)
Pietro (apostolo)

The Primacy of Saint Peter

Christians from various theological backgrounds disagree on the precise significance of Peter’s ministry. For example, Catholics regard Saint Peter as the first pope. According to the Catholic Church, Peter’s ministry, as bestowed upon him by Jesus of Nazareth in the gospels, establishes the theological foundation for the pope’s exercise of pastoral authority over the Church.

In Catholicism, the primacy of Saint Peter is argued to be the foundation for the primacy of the bishop of Rome over other bishops throughout the Church.

The primacy of the Bishop of Rome, also known as the primacy of the Roman Pontiff, is the extension of Petrine primacy to popes. According to this Catholic Church doctrine, the papacy has authority delegated by Jesus to rule over the entire Church.

Eastern Orthodox believe that Peter’s ministry points to an underlying theology in which a special primacy over other Church leaders should be granted to Peter’s successors, but see this as merely a “primacy of honour,” rather than the right to exercise pastoral authority.

Protestant denominations argue that Peter’s apostolic work in Rome does not imply a relationship with the papacy.

Likewise, historians from various backgrounds offer varying interpretations of the Apostle’s presence in Rome.

st. peter preaching in jerusalem
St. Peter Preaching in Jerusalem

Peter’s Life with Christ

When Peter met Jesus, his life was transformed. Jesus tells Peter to put out his boat in the middle of the day to fish in Luke 5: 1–11. Peter, who had just returned from a fruitless night of fishing, was sceptical, but he obeyed Jesus’ command. Peter caught so many fish that he needed a second boat to help him bring them in.

This experience of abundance, according to Peter, was a sign of God’s presence. He asked Jesus to leave him, but Jesus told him he would become a fisher of men.

As previously stated, Peter was one of the first disciples called by Jesus, and he was frequently their spokesman – for better or worse. One of the things he is credited with is a unique insight into Jesus’ identity. Peter was the first to refer to Jesus as the Son of God – the Messiah (Mark 8:29, Luke 9:20, Matt. 16:16-17).

When Jesus called Peter, he knew He was from God, but he felt unworthy to be in Jesus’ presence (Luke 5:6-8). Nonetheless, Jesus did not delay in telling Peter and Andrew that He would make them “fishers of men” (Mark 1:17).

Peter was brave, but he was frequently wrong. He even rebuked the Lord once and stated that he was willing to die for Jesus, even though he denied Him three times during Jesus’ arrest and trial (Matt. 16:21-22).

Jesus loved the disciples and knew who would remain loyal to Him and who would betray Him (Judas Iscariot). Peter witnessed many of Jesus’ miracles, as well as the Shekhinah Glory with John and James during the Transfiguration. This was the point at which Jesus’ humanity was revealed to reveal the glory of His Divinity (Matt. 17:1-9).

peter in chora
Peter in Chora

Saint Peters Achievement

There is a dedicated article about Peter the disciple facts but it is clear that Peter was one of Jesus’ 12 Apostles. According to Roman Catholic tradition, Jesus appointed St. Peter as the first Pope (Matthew 16:18). Jesus also gave him “the keys of the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 16:19), which is why he is frequently depicted in art and popular culture at the gates of heaven.

Peter was the first Apostle to recognize Jesus as the Messiah, the one whom God had promised would save his people. By being a fisher of men (Matthew 4:19) for Christ, he gave up his life as a fisherman to lead others to Jesus. He witnessed the Transfiguration, during which Jesus was revealed to be God’s Son.

saint peter
Saint Peter

He witnessed Jesus resurrecting a dead child (Luke 8:40-56), and he witnessed Jesus’ agony in the Garden of Gethsemane. He was also the first of the apostles to begin performing miracles in the name of Christ. Because St. Peter supported spreading the Good News to the Gentiles, the Church became truly Catholic, or “universal,” because the message was spread to everyone, regardless of origin.

The Catholic belief that the church in Rome leads the entire Christian church is based on the belief that Jesus gave this job to Peter, who then established the first Christian church in Rome.

He is the patron saint of popes, Rome, and many cities bearing his name, including St. Peters Saint-Pierre. As a former fisherman, he is the patron saint of net makers, shipbuilders, and fishermen, and he is also the patron saint of locksmiths because he possesses the “keys of heaven.”

Saint Peter in the Bible

Peter is a prominent figure in the gospels and Acts, and Paul mentions him several times in his letters. In many biblical accounts, Peter is the first to state the obvious and say what everyone else is thinking (or at least what he is thinking), and he takes centre stage.

People were taken aback by Peter’s audacity and conviction despite his lack of formal education. Peter was eloquent but unremarkable. They also noticed that he had been with Jesus and saw firsthand how aligning himself with Jesus made all the difference.

saint peter
Saint Peter

Peter’s Denial

According to the four gospels of the New Testament, the Denial of Peter refers to the three times Apostle Peter denied Jesus. According to the four gospels, Jesus foretold during the Last Supper that Peter would deny his knowledge and disown him before “the rooster crowed” the next morning.

He denied him for the first time when a female servant of the high priest discovered him and accused him of being with Jesus. “The rooster crowed,” according to Mark’s account, whereas Luke and John mention him sitting by a fire with others.

The second denial occurred when he went to the gateway, away from the firelight. According to Mark, the same servant girl, or another servant girl, according to Matthew, or a man, as mentioned in Luke and John, informed the people that Peter was one of Jesus’ followers. “The rooster crowed,” John says once more.

According to the Gospel of John, the second denial occurred while Peter was still sitting beside the fire, and there was an assertion made by someone who saw him in the Garden of Gethsemane while Jesus was being arrested.

The third and final denial came when his Galilean accent was used to prove he was a disciple of Jesus. “The rooster crowed” once more, according to Matthew, Mark, and Luke.

Matthew goes on to say that it was his accent that identified him as a Galilean.

Luke disagrees with the third denial, stating that it was just one person accusing him, not an entire crowd. There is no mention of an accent in John’s writing.

Peter denied Jesus three times, but after the third time, he heard the rooster crow and remembered Jesus’ prediction. He then began to cry uncontrollably. This is known as the ‘Repentance of Peter.’

masaccio, crucifixion of st peter
Masaccio, Crucifixion of St Peter

Peter’s Death

According to the Gospel of John, Jesus alluded to St. Peter’s death.

“When you are old, you will stretch out your hands, and someone else will dress you and carry you where you do not want to go,”

he said (John 21:18).

Unfortunately, the death of Peter is not mentioned in the Bible. However, historians believe he died by crucifixion during Emperor Nero’s reign in 64 A.D.

When confronted with his fate, Peter requested that he be crucified upside down. It is said that he did not consider himself worthy of being martyred in the same way that Christ was. St. Linus succeeded St. Peter as the first Roman Pope of the Catholic Church after St. Peter’s death.

The line of succession from St. Linus is unbroken, stretching back to 64 A.D. To become a saint in the Catholic Church, you must meet several criteria, including a life lived as a servant of God, evidence of heroic virtue, and verified miracles. St. Peter is said to have walked on water with Jesus for the last of these. St. Peter not only fulfilled all of these requirements, but he is also the patron saint of popes, Rome, fishermen, and locksmiths.

St. Peter Travels

St. Peter travelled throughout many regions, including Jerusalem, Antioch, and Corinth, preaching the Gospel and converting people to Christianity. The final city he was to visit was Rome, where St. Peter was martyred during Emperor Nero’s persecution of Christianity in the year 64.

St. Peter Medals

A St. Peter pendant or medallion will typically depict him holding large keys, a symbol of Jesus handing him the keys to the kingdom of heaven (Matt 16). This reference can still be found in contemporary depictions of Peter as the gatekeeper to the pearly gates of heaven.

Key Takeaway

St. Peter, whom Jesus appoints as the first pope, is mentioned more than any other apostle in the New Testament. St. Peter, a fisherman called by Christ to abandon his nets and become a “fisher of men,” was by Jesus’ side for much of his public ministry.

St. Peter led the early church through expansion and persecution following Christ’s crucifixion, death, and resurrection – and his subsequent ascension into heaven.

When St. Peter was sentenced to death by crucifixion under Emperor Nero in 64 AD, he chose to be crucified upside-down, claiming he was unworthy to die in the same manner as the Messiah. His relics are revered in St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome, where pilgrims come to honour him and his successors as the Vicar of Christ and His Church on Earth.

attributed to bernardino da asola - the death of saint peter martyr
Attributed to Bernardino da Asola - the death of Saint Peter martyr

Frequently Asked Questions Saint Peter

Why did Jesus change Simon’s name to Peter?

According to the Bible, Jesus changed Simon’s name to Peter because he was destined to be the foundation stone of the church. (Matthew 16:18) Some scholars believe that the name change was also meant to symbolically represent Simon’s new role as the leader of Jesus’ followers.

Why was Saint Peter crucified upside down?

Saint Peter was crucified upside down because he felt unworthy to die in the same way that Jesus died. He also asked to be crucified upside down out of respect for Jesus.

Why was Peter given the keys to heaven?

There are a few reasons why Saint Peter might have been given the keys to heaven. One is that, as the first pope and leader of the early Christian church, he was seen as a kind of gatekeeper between God and humanity. In addition, his role in Jesus’ crucifixion and subsequent resurrection made him a key figure in Christianity. Finally, it’s said that when Saint Peter died, he went to heaven and was given a tour by an angel. When they got to the gates of heaven, the angel told Saint Peter that he could now enter – and gave him the keys to make sure no one else got in!

What is Saint Peter known for?

Saint Peter is best known as the first Pope of the Catholic Church and as the author of two New Testament books: the Gospel of Mark and the Epistle to the Romans. Prior to becoming Pope, Saint Peter was an apostle of Jesus Christ, and it is revealed in the Bible that he was also known as Simon Peter or Cephas. Along with St. Paul, St. Peter is considered one of the most important early Christian missionaries.

What is St. Peter’s symbol?

Saint Peter’s symbol is an inverted cross with three horizontal bars. It is also sometimes called the Petrine Cross. The inverted cross represents St. Peter’s recognition of his own failures and his willingness to be crucified upside down, as Jesus was. The three horizontal bars represent the Holy Trinity.

Did Saint Peter have a child?

No, he did not. Saint Peter was celibate and never married. He didn’t even have any close relationships with women, as far as we know. So it’s safe to say that he didn’t have any children.

Saint Peter is the patron of?

While many people think of Saint Peter as the patron saint of fishermen, he is actually the patron saint of a whole host of things. He is the patron saint of prisoners, seemly because he was once one himself, and also of bank tellers and politicians (particularly those in leadership positions). He is also known as the protector of papal lands and properties. So if you ever find yourself in any of these predicaments, remember to call on good old Saint Peter for help!

When was Saint Peter born?

Saint Peter, also known as Simon Peter, was born in 1st century Judea, which is now modern-day Israel. He was one of the Twelve Apostles of Jesus Christ and served as the leader of the early Christian church. Many biblical scholars believe that Saint Peter was also the author of two books of the New Testament – First and Second Peter.

How old was Saint Peter when he died?

Saint Peter was around 80 years old when he died, although the exact year is unknown. He is said to have died in Rome, so it’s possible he lived to a ripe old age!

What does Saint Peter represent?

Saint Peter is the patron saint of fishermen. He is also the patron saint of architects because he was the architect who designed Saint Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City. He is often depicted holding a key, which symbolizes his role as the gatekeeper of heaven.

Who killed Saint Peter?

The jury is still out on who killed Saint Peter. The Vatican has never released the autopsy results, and there are no eyewitnesses to the crime. All we know for sure is that Saint Peter was killed in Rome sometime around 67 AD.
There are several theories about who killed Saint Peter. One theory holds that he was killed by the Roman authorities. Another theory suggests that he was martyred by Nero, the Roman Emperor at the time. Still, another theory implicates a Jewish mob in his death.
We may never know for sure who killed Saint Peter, but his martyrdom was instrumental in spreading Christianity throughout the world. After his death, Christianity began to take root in Rome and eventually became one of the largest religions.

Is Saint Peter buried under the Vatican?

No. Saint Peter was not buried under the Vatican. He was buried in the Vatican graveyard, but his remains were moved to a basilica that is now called Saint Peter’s Basilica. The Vatican graveyard is now called the Teutonic Cemetery.

Summary Saint Peter

St. Peter is traditionally regarded as the first bishop of Rome and the leader of Jesus’ 12 Apostles. They first met while listening to a sermon by St. John the Baptist. Peter recognized Jesus as the Messiah the moment he met him. Similarly, from the moment Jesus met Peter, he knew he would be the Church’s rock.

After the Resurrection, Jesus paid his first visit to St. Peter. It was there that Jesus declared himself to be the leader of the Church. As a result, Peter became the first in an unbroken line of leaders in the Catholic Church, now known as popes. He, like Jesus, died as a martyr. The New Testament contains a wealth of information about St. Peter, particularly in the four synoptic Gospels.

Saint Peter Resources

Scroll to Top
Secured By miniOrange