The Apostles Untold Truth

12 門徒不為人知的真相證明,您不必經常參加基督教會,也能知道耶穌是基督徒所崇拜的上帝之子和世界救主,眾所周知,他身邊有 12 個人跟隨他最多的時間,聽他說話。

12 門徒不為人知的真相證明,您不必經常參加基督教會,也能知道耶穌是基督徒所崇拜的上帝之子和世界救主,眾所周知,他身邊有 12 個人跟隨他最多的時間,聽他說話。

他們還經常問他愚蠢的問題,以便他可以用簡單的類比來解釋上帝王國的本質。這 12 個人通常被稱為耶穌的門徒,意思是“學生”,但他們更恰當地稱為十二 12,意思是“被差遣的人”,因為他們從上帝那裡得到了一個真正的使命去傳道到所有國家。

雖然聖保羅有時被稱為十二使徒之一,但他一生從未見過耶穌。雖然臭名昭著的叛徒加略人猶大被取代十二使徒由馬蒂亞斯撰寫,關於馬蒂亞斯的說法不多。所以,只要看看福音書中提到的門徒,這裡就是我們知道的和不知道的——來自正典、偽經、傳統和其他地方關於耶穌十二門徒不為人知的真理。

西門彼得,磐石

西蒙,約拿(或約翰)的兒子,以耶穌給他的很酷的綽號彼得更為人所知,他可能是十二使徒中最著名的,也可能是耶穌的第一個。 (耶穌很可能在亞拉姆語中稱他為 Kapha,在希臘語中翻譯為“彼得”。)

Because both terms imply “rock,” his name is Simon “the Rock” John’s Son.) Peter is the subject of several notable episodes in the canonical Gospels, most notably the episode in which he (briefly) walks on water, the time he denied knowing Jesus three times, and the time he chopped off someone’s ear to save Jesus from being imprisoned.

當耶穌回到天堂時,彼得是早期教會的第一位領袖。為了天主教徒,他是第一位教皇,對於東方教會來說,他是安條克的第一任族長。在藝術中,他通常被展示為抓著鑰匙,這是指耶穌應許給他通往天堂和地球的鑰匙。在藝術上,他通常與使徒保羅配對;你可以分辨出區別,因為保羅留著哲學家般的長鬍鬚(通常是禿頭),而彼得留著工人般的短鬍鬚。

要看到彼得生命的終結,你必須轉向彼得的超規範行為,這表明他在被耶穌的鬼魂羞辱前往羅馬之前與邪惡的西蒙魔術師進行了一場致命的巫師戰鬥倒釘十字架,現在一個倒置的十字架被稱為聖彼得十字架。

安德魯,第一個被召喚的

雖然不乏關於彼得的信息——在正統福音書、使徒行傳、以他的名字命名的兩封新約書信以及以他的名字命名的眾多非正統書籍中——但要少得多。被發現關於他的兄弟安德魯。

馬太福音和馬可福音告訴我們,彼得和安得烈(他們的名字來自希臘語中的“男子氣概”一詞)是被耶穌稱為“得人的漁夫”的漁夫;約翰福音補充說,安德魯和使徒約翰是耶穌表弟施洗約翰的追隨者,他是第一個認識到耶穌神性的人。

saint andrew
聖安德魯

為此,該東正教稱他為首召者. Otherwise, apart from being mentioned by name as being present at important events, the only other major thing Andrew does in the canon is found in the kid with the loaves and fishes that Jesus uses to feed the five thousand.

然而,在正典之外,安德魯的行為告訴我們,安德魯繼續做出偉大的事蹟,包括復活死者、獨自神奇地擊敗整支軍隊、逃離野生動物、進行魔法墮胎、召喚地震和拯救同胞來自食人族的使徒。按照傳統,他是被釘在 X 形十字架上,被稱為聖安德魯十字,就像蘇格蘭國旗上的那個。

詹姆斯,雷霆之子

james the greater
Guido Reni Saint James the Greater

兄弟的彼得和安得烈並不是耶穌隨從中唯一的人。更為人所知的是西庇太的兒子詹姆斯和約翰,他們也被稱為雷霆之子,可能是因為他們的脾氣暴躁.

為了與另一位名叫雅各的使徒區別開來,雅各通常被稱為大雅各,“大”暗示他年長(儘管他在福音書中也扮演著更重要的角色)。雅各和約翰也是耶穌在海灘上召喚的漁夫,他們似乎是耶穌在十二使徒中的主要夥伴,和彼得一樣。

例如,當耶穌化為光柱,摩西的靈出現時,只有這三個人在場。雅各和約翰認為他們很重要,可以坐在天堂裡的耶穌旁邊。 (耶穌說:“不。”)

根據使徒行傳,希律亞基帕王用刀殺死了雅各,使他成為十二使徒中的第一個被殺.結果,他沒有後經典冒險,但這並不意味著沒有非經典小說歸功於他。其中最著名的是雅各秘書,其中耶穌向雅各和彼得揭示了他復活後救贖的奧秘。

約翰,另一個雷霆之子

新約中的幾個名字是如此普遍,以至於有時很難確定誰是誰。像瑪麗、西門、雅各、猶大和約翰這樣的名字都在其中。

許多教會認為,西庇太的兒子、雅各的兄弟使徒約翰與福音傳道者約翰(他寫了約翰福音)、長老約翰(他[可能]寫了《約翰福音》中的三封書信)是同一個人。新約)、拔摩島的約翰(他寫了啟示錄),以及被稱為門徒耶穌羅的神秘人物。

saint john
Frans Hals Dutch Saint John the Evangelist

但他們可能都是不同的人。至少,我們可以肯定施洗約翰是一個獨特的個體。

據傳說,約翰是十二使徒中最年輕的,由於他的年輕和他是從未殉道,儘管多次嘗試。

根據約翰的非規範行為,有人試圖在約翰的酒中下毒,但他通過祝福他的杯子溶解了毒藥。 (這通常在藝術中表現出約翰拿著一個裝有蛇的杯子。)他的其他功績包括從死裡復活一對已婚夫婦,使用心靈子彈摧毀阿爾忒彌斯祭壇,以及神奇地迫使跳蚤離開他的墊子直到他睡完.

菲利普、屠龍者和山羊轉換器

一旦你經過十二使徒中的兩對兄弟,耶穌的其他門徒就開始消失在背景中。例如,菲利普(他的希臘名字翻譯為“喜歡馬的人”)被列為來自彼得和安德魯的家鄉,將耶穌介紹給十二使徒中的另一個,然後,在其他事情上。

saint philip
聖菲利普

他還警告耶穌,他們永遠無法購買足夠的食物來服務 5,000 人(哎呀)。這裡的所有都是它的。從那時起,追踪他的傳記就變得有點困難了,因為還有一個名叫 Philip the Evangelist 的人經常與他混淆。

幸運的是,腓力四世紀的使徒行傳有助於填補關於新約結束後腓力所發生的一些空白。在其中,菲利普與他的親生姐妹瑪麗安和精神兄弟巴塞洛繆一起前往希臘、弗里吉亞和敘利亞。

在他的旅程中,他在擊敗龍之前將一隻會說話的山羊和一隻會說話的豹子皈依了基督教。然而,他改變了錯誤的地方法官的妻子,她有菲利普和巴塞洛繆在倒置十字架上執行. (另一方面,菲利普的十字架是顛倒的。)巴塞洛繆最初被解放,但也成為了烈士。

巴塞洛繆,或者納撒尼爾

因為他只在四福音書中的三本中被提及,使徒巴塞洛繆在經典福音書中對他的信息比十二使徒中的大多數都要少。約翰福音從未提到巴塞洛繆,而是提到拿但業,許多學者認為他是同一個人。

部分原因是巴塞洛繆不是一個合法的名字——它只是意味著“塔爾邁之子”——另一個主要原因是在前三卷福音書中,巴塞洛繆通常與菲利普有關,而約翰將拿但業描述為菲利普的朋友,他介紹給耶穌。

saint bartholomew martyrdom
聖巴塞洛繆殉難

這就是我們從佳能中了解到的所有信息,但值得慶幸的是,後經典傳統再次支持我們。巴塞洛繆的問題是一部特別令人驚奇的文本,將巴特描述為十二使徒中唯一一個願意在耶穌復活後向他提出棘手問題的人,答案包括耶穌像毯子一樣剝開地面打開通往地獄的門戶和召喚撒旦讓巴塞洛繆可以踩在他的脖子上,以及上帝和瑪麗第一次約會的秘密。

他的死有幾個版本,但最廣為人知的是他是活剝亞美尼亞國王,因此他經常在藝術中被描繪成抱著他的空皮。

托馬斯,懷疑者和雙胞胎

多虧了一本福音書中的一個事件——約翰,托馬斯在公眾記憶中的存活時間比十二使徒中的大多數人都要長得多。

我們仍然稱他為“懷疑托馬斯”因為他說他不會相信耶穌已經復活了,除非他看到他並摸到他的釘孔。

托馬斯也以希臘名字狄迪摩斯而聞名。這兩個名字都暗示“雙胞胎”,因此我們可以假設他是雙胞胎。然而,誰是雙胞胎卻不得而知。

doubting thomas
聖托馬斯

有大量關於或歸因於多馬的偽經著作,包括多馬福音,其中包含一些非常非正統的耶穌名言,以及著名的多馬嬰兒福音,其中描述了耶穌在孩提時代的經歷。

在托馬斯的行動中,托馬斯的印度之旅(他現在最認同的區域)並精神上指揮一群獵犬和一頭獅子吃掉一個扇他耳光的紳士,然後面對一條龍和眾多的惡魔。

相傳他是為三王施洗禮的人,在使他的兄弟從死裡復活而皈依印度國王后,被長矛刺死。對於一個以缺乏信仰而聞名的人來說,這聽起來很忠誠。

馬修,福音傳道者和稅務員

使徒馬太可能更多地被稱為福音傳道者,而不是十二使徒之一。

新約第一卷書就是以他的名字命名的,據說馬太福音就是他寫的。

然而,他在福音書本身中並沒有做太多事情。

根據馬太福音,他是收稅員(當時被認為比現在更卑鄙)當耶穌讓他出去玩時,他在輪班中間放棄了他的工作。

saint matthew
聖馬太

馬克和盧克也講述了這個故事,但他們的稅吏名叫利未,因此傳統認為這兩個名字與同一個人有關。

約翰福音沒有提到馬太。

不幸的是,馬修沒有任何有趣的後經典經歷,但他與許多非經典作品有關。

因為馬太福音是為猶太讀者而寫的,馬太被認為是三世紀為猶太裔基督徒(如拿撒勒人和伊便尼派)製作的幾本福音書。

還有一本嬰兒福音書歸於他,儘管它主要是對托馬斯和詹姆斯更著名的嬰兒福音書的複述。馬修被認為是殉道的,儘管沒有人知道是如何殉道的,也沒有人知道在何處殉道。

詹姆斯,也許更少,也許只是

雅各是新約中最普遍,因此也是最令人困惑的名字之一。使徒詹姆斯,阿爾法厄斯的兒子,最有可能,雖然不總是,與馬太和馬可中描述的小詹姆斯(年輕的)相同。

他可能是早期教會中的關鍵人物,被稱為正義的雅各,也被稱為耶穌的兄弟雅各。

而且,根據您參加的宗教類型,您對“兄弟”一詞的解釋可能會有很大差異。 (根據福音書,耶穌至少有四個兄弟:雅各、猶大、何塞和西門;然而,相信馬利亞永遠童貞的教會聲稱,在這種情況下,“兄弟”意味著“表兄弟”。)

james the less
小詹姆斯

較早的傳說說他們是約瑟在前一段婚姻中的兒子。)如果阿爾法烏斯的兒子雅各是正義的雅各,那麼他就是耶路撒冷教會的第一個領袖,並且是像雅各書那樣多種多樣的著作的作者。以及令人驚嘆的《雅各布嬰兒福音》,它講述了瑪麗從童年到耶穌誕生的故事,在此期間,一名助產士的手被燒掉以測試瑪麗是否仍然是處女。

如果小詹姆斯不是正義者詹姆斯,那麼我們對他的唯一了解就是他是在埃及被釘十字架.

裘德,無名之輩

在整個福音書中,使徒猶大被賦予了許多名字,包括馬太福音和馬可福音中的撒迪厄斯(馬太福音的一些手稿甚至稱他為“姓氏的勒貝厄斯,撒迪厄斯)。約翰福音強調他與加略人猶大不同。

通過將他稱為聖猶大或猶大撒迪厄斯而不僅僅是猶大,這種差異在當今得以維持。猶大和小雅各一樣,可能是也可能不是耶穌的兄弟(或“兄弟”)之一。如果是的話,他很可能是正統猶大書信的作者,該書聲稱是正義者詹姆斯的兄弟所著。

saint jude
聖裘德

由於猶大撒迪厄斯和加略人猶大之間的誤會,聖猶大被稱為失落之聖.這個概念是基督徒不願意向聖猶大祈禱,因為害怕錯誤地向加略人猶大祈禱,因此他們不得不絕望地呼求猶大。

因為據說裘德和巴塞洛繆是第一個將基督教帶到亞美尼亞的人,所以他們都是該國的守護神。相反,在西門和裘德的偽傳中,裘德與狂熱者西門搭檔,兩人前往波斯,在那裡他們都殉道了。在藝術中,裘德通常被展示clutching the axe那殺了他。

西蒙,什麼?

使徒西蒙的名字在聖經中的十二使徒名單中只出現過一次,因此我們對他的了解只有他的名字。問題是,即使是他的名字在翻譯中也變得混亂。這位西門被稱為迦南人西門、迦南人西門或狂熱者西門,以區別於西門彼得。

the apostle simon the zealot
圣西蒙

問題是西門既不是迦南人,也不是迦拿人。這是一個翻譯錯誤,因為他以希伯來語“qanai”為人所知,意思是“熱心的”,指的是他的另一個綽號“狂熱者”。 “狂熱者”這個名字的難點在於它讓很多人認為這個西蒙生活在公元一世紀

狂熱者是一場政治運動,旨在煽動反抗猶太的羅馬征服者。困難在於,這個運動直到福音書中的事件發生幾十年後才出現。所以,最有可能的是,狂熱者西蒙真的,真的很喜歡聖經。

在經典之外,對西蒙的了解並不多:他應該和裘德一起去了波斯,他在那裡鋸成兩半.因此,他自然是那些以觀察事物為生的人的讚助人。

猶大加略人,背叛者(或者他是?)

加略人猶大(“加略人”這個名字晦澀難懂;它可能意味著“來自基里奧斯的人”,也可能與拉丁語“Sicarius”有關,意思是“刺客”)是歷史上最著名的惡棍之一,被但丁置於地獄的最內層,與背叛凱撒的兩個人一起被撒旦永恆地咀嚼。

judas kisses jesus
猶大親吻耶穌

當然,他以將耶穌交給羅馬當局而廣為人知——通過親吻他來表明他的身份——以換取 30 塊銀子,以至於“猶大”這個名字仍然在各種情況下被用來表示任何人的背叛。人、動物或事物的數量。

馬太說猶大後悔自己的背叛,上吊,而使徒行傳說他用銀子買了一塊地,在那裡他絆倒了,然後像噴血一樣爆炸了。

猶大背叛耶穌的原因仍然未知。根據路加和約翰的說法,他是在撒旦的權勢下做到的。最近的一些解釋表明,猶大對耶穌不是一個更具戰鬥性的政治彌賽亞感到不滿。

silver coins
銀幣

另一方面,最近發現的猶大福音說猶大實際上是耶穌最忠誠的門徒。據說,因為耶穌被釘十字架是走向救恩必不可少的一步,耶穌催促猶大背叛他,以完成他的使命,猶大自願接受了他性格上永恆的污點。

結語 十二門徒不為人知的真相

總結 12 門徒不為人知的真理表明 12 個人如何回應成為耶穌門徒的呼召。

他們是猶太人,不識字的平民,以及捨棄一切跟隨基督的謙卑信徒。耶穌用三年的時間訓練這些人成為領袖。耶穌打算讓門徒們最終接管並完成他開始的工作。

What we do know about Jesus is that He picked regular, unpolished individuals to be his apostles. They were the most frequent of the commons. They were farmers and fishermen from rural regions. Christ purposefully avoided the wealthy, aristocratic, and prominent individuals of society, instead favouring the dregs of society. That has always been the case in God’s economy. He exalts the humble and despises the arrogant.

resources the untold truth of the 12 disciples
耶穌和門徒

資源 十二門徒不為人知的真相

滾動到頂部
由 miniOrange 保護

The Untold Truth of the Apostles

The untold truth of the 12 Disciples proves you don’t have to be a regular attendee of a Christian church to know that Jesus, whom Christians worship as the Son of God and Savior of the World, famously had 12 men who followed him around most of the time and listened to him talk.

They also regularly asked him stupid questions so he could explain the essence of God’s Kingdom in simple analogies. These 12 men are commonly referred to as Jesus’ disciples, which simply means “students,” but they are more appropriately referred to as the Twelve 12, which means “those sent forth,” because they were given a literal mission from God to preach to all countries.

While St. Paul is sometimes referred to be one of the Twelve Apostles, he never met Jesus during his lifetime. And while notorious traitor Judas Iscariot was replaced among the 12 Apostles by Matthias, much wasn’t said about Matthias. So, just looking at the disciples named in the Gospels, here’s what we know and what we don’t — from canon, Apocrypha, tradition, and elsewhere about the untold truth of 12 Disciples of Jesus.

Simon Peter, the Rock

Simon, the son of Jonah (or John), better known by the cool moniker Jesus gave him, Peter, is probably the most renowned of the 12 Apostles, and possibly Jesus’ first. (Jesus most likely called him Kapha in Aramaic, which translates as “Peter” in Greek.)

Because both terms imply “rock,” his name is Simon “the Rock” John’s Son.) Peter is the subject of several notable episodes in the canonical Gospels, most notably the episode in which he (briefly) walks on water, the time he denied knowing Jesus three times, and the time he chopped off a someone’s ear to save Jesus from being imprisoned.

Peter was the first head of the early church by the time Jesus returned to Heaven; for Catholics, he is the first pope, and for the Eastern church, he is the first Patriarch of Antioch. In art, he is usually shown clutching keys, a reference to Jesus’ promise to give him the keys to Heaven and Earth. In art, he is commonly paired with the Apostle Paul; you can tell the difference because Paul has a long philosopher’s beard (and is typically bald) while Peter has a short working man’s beard.

To see the end of Peter’s life, you have to turn to the extracanonical Acts of Peter, which shows him having a deadly wizard battle with the evil Simon Magus before being shamed by the ghost of Jesus into going to Rome to be crucified upside-down, and now an upside-down cross is called a Cross of St. Peter.

Andrew, the First-Called

While there is no shortage of information to be found about Peter — in the canonical Gospels, in the Acts of the Apostles, in the two New Testament letters that bear his name, and the numerous extracanonical books that bear his name — there is considerably less to be found about his brother Andrew.

The Gospels of Matthew and Mark tell us that Peter and Andrew (whose name comes from the Greek word for “manliness”) were fishermen that Jesus called to be “fishers of men”; the Gospel of John adds that Andrew and the Apostle John were followers of Jesus’ cousin John the Baptist and he was the first to recognize Jesus’ divinity.

Saint Andrew
Saint Andrew

For this reason, the Orthodox Church calls him the First-Called. Otherwise, apart from being mentioned by name as being present at important events, the only other major thing Andrew does in the canon is found the kid with the loaves and fishes that Jesus uses to feed the five thousand.

Outside of canon, however, the Acts of Andrew tells us that Andrew went on to perform great deeds, including raising the dead, magically defeating entire armies by himself, escaping wild animals, doing a magical abortion, summoning an earthquake, and rescuing a fellow Apostle from cannibals. According to tradition, he was crucified on an X-shaped cross, known as a St. Andrew’s Cross, like the one found on the Scottish flag.

James, the Son of Thunder

Saint James the Greater
Saint James the Greater

The brother’s Peter and Andrew were not the only ones in Jesus’ entourage. Even more well-known as a pair are James and John, Zebedee’s sons, who are also known as the Sons of Thunder, probably due to their quick tempers.

To distinguish himself from the other apostle named James, James is commonly referred to as James the Greater, with “greater” implying that he was older (though he also has a more significant role within the Gospels). James and John were also fishermen summoned by Jesus on the beach, and they appeared to be Jesus’ primary dudes among the Twelve Apostles, along with Peter.

For example, when Jesus changed into beams of light and the spirit of Moses appeared, those three were the only ones present. James and John thought they were significant enough to be seated next to Jesus in Heaven. (Jesus said, “No.”)

According to the Acts of the Apostles, King Herod Agrippa had James slain with a sword, making him the first of the Twelve Apostles to be killed. As a result, he had no post-canonical adventures, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t non-canonical novels credited to him. The most prominent of them is the Secret Book of James, in which Jesus discloses the mysteries of redemption to James and Peter after his resurrection.

John, the other Son of Thunder

the Apostle John
Saint John

Several New Testament names are so prevalent that it can be difficult to determine who’s who at times. Names like Mary, Simon, James, Judas, and John are among them.

Many churches believe that John the Apostle, the son of Zebedee and brother of James, is the same person as John the Evangelist (who wrote the Gospel of John), John the Presbyter (who [probably] wrote the three Epistles of John in the New Testament), John of Patmos (who wrote the Book of Revelation), and the mysterious figure known as the Disciple Jesus Lo.

But they may be all distinct persons. At the very least, we may be certain that John the Baptist is a distinct individual.

According to legend, John was the youngest of the Twelve Apostles and outlived all of them due to a combination of his youth and the fact that he was never martyred, despite several attempts.

According to the non-canonical Acts of John, someone tried to poison John’s wine, but he dissolved the poison by blessing his cup. (This is usually shown in art by John holding a cup containing a snake.) His other exploits include resurrecting a married couple from the dead, using mind bullets to destroy an Artemis altar, and magically forcing fleas to leave his mat until he’s finished sleeping.

Philip, the Dragonslayer, and Goat-Converter

Once you’ve passed the two pairs of brothers among the Twelve Apostles, the other disciples of Jesus begin to fade into the background. For example, Philip (whose Greek name translates as “the man likes horses”) is listed as coming from Peter and Andrew’s hometown, presenting Jesus to another of the Twelve Apostles, and then, like, being there at other things.

Saint Philip
Saint Philip

He also warns Jesus that they would never be able to purchase enough food to serve 5,000 people (whoops). That’s all there is to it. From then, tracing his biography becomes a bit more difficult, as there’s another man named Philip the Evangelist who is often confused with him.

Fortunately, the fourth-century Acts of Philip assist to fill in some gaps about what occurred to Philip after the New Testament ended. In it, Philip goes to Greece, Phrygia, and Syria with his biological sister, Mariamne, and spiritual brother, Bartholomew.

During his journeys, he converts a talking goat and a talking leopard to Christianity before defeating a dragon. However, he converts the incorrect magistrate’s wife, who has Philip and Bartholomew executed on upside-down crosses. (The Cross of Philip, on the other hand, is upside down.) Bartholomew is initially liberated but became a martyr as well.

Bartholomew, or maybe Nathanael

Because he is only mentioned in three of the four Gospels, the Apostle Bartholomew has less information about him in the canonical Gospels than most of the Twelve Apostles. The Gospel of John never mentions a Bartholomew, but rather a Nathanael, whom many academics believe to be the same person.

Part of the reason for this is that Bartholomew isn’t a legitimate name — it simply means “Son of Talmai” — and the other primary reason is that in the first three Gospels, Bartholomew is usually associated with Philip, and John describes Nathanael as Philip’s buddy whom he presents to Jesus.

Saint Bartholomew Martyrdom
Saint Bartholomew Martyrdom

That’s about all we know from canon, but thankfully, post-canonical tradition has our back once more. The Questions of Bartholomew, a particularly amazing text, depicts Bart as the only one of the Twelve Apostles willing to ask Jesus the tough questions after his resurrection, and the answers include Jesus peeling back the ground like a blanket to open a portal to Hell and summoning Satan so Bartholomew can step on his neck, as well as the secret of God and Mary’s first date.

There are several versions of his death, but the most well-known is that he was flayed alive by the King of Armenia, hence he is often portrayed in art holding his empty skin.

Thomas, the Doubter and the Twin

Saint Thomas
Saint Thomas

Thomas has survived in public memory considerably longer than the majority of the Twelve Apostles, thanks to one event in one Gospel – John.

We still refer to him as “doubting Thomas” because he stated that he would not believe Jesus had been resurrected unless he saw him and felt his nail holes.

Thomas is also known by the Greek name Didymus; both names imply “twin,” therefore we may assume he was a twin. Whose twin, however, is unknown.

There is a plethora of apocryphal writings about or attributed to Thomas, including the Gospel of Thomas, which contains some highly unorthodox Jesus sayings, and the renowned Infancy Gospel of Thomas, which describes Jesus’ experiences as a kid.

In the Acts of Thomas, Thomas journeys to India (the area with which he is most identified even now) and mentally directs a group of hounds and a lion to eat a gentleman who slapped him, then confronts a dragon and numerous demons.

According to legend, he is the one who baptized the Three Kings and, after converting the King of India by resurrecting his brother from the dead, was riddled to death with spears. Sounds pretty loyal for a guy most famous for lacking faith.

Matthew, the Evangelist and Taxman

Saint Matthew
Saint Matthew

The Apostle Matthew is perhaps more known as an evangelist than as one of the Twelve Apostles.

The first book of the New Testament is named after him, and the Gospel of Matthew is said to have been written by him.

However, he does not do much in the Gospels themselves.

According to Matthew’s Gospel, he was a tax collector (considered scummier back then than they are now) who abandoned his work in the middle of a shift when Jesus asked him to hang out.

This tale is told by Mark and Luke as well, but their tax collector is named Levi, thus tradition holds that the two names relate to the same guy.

The Gospel of John makes no mention of Matthew.

Unfortunately, Matthew does not have any interesting post-canon experiences, but he is linked with a lot of non-canonical works.

Because the Gospel of Matthew was written for a Jewish audience, Matthew is credited with several third-century gospels produced for ethnically Jewish Christians such as the Nazarenes and Ebionites.

There is also an Infancy Gospel ascribed to him, although it is mainly a retelling of Thomas and James’ more renowned Infancy Gospels. Matthew is thought to have been martyred, although no one knows how or where.

James, maybe Less, maybe Just

James the Lesser
James the Lesser

James is one of the most prevalent and, as a result, most perplexing names in the New Testament. The Apostle James, son of Alphaeus, is most likely, although not always, the same as the James the Less (younger) described in Matthew and Mark.

He might be the pivotal person in the early church known as James the Just, also known as James the Brother of Jesus.

And, depending on the type of religion you attend, how you interpret the word “brother” may differ greatly. (According to the Gospels, Jesus had at least four brothers: James, Jude, Joses, and Simon; however, churches that believe in Mary’s everlasting virginity claim that “brother” in this context implies “cousin.”)

Earlier legends said they were Joseph’s sons from a prior marriage.) If James, son of Alphaeus, is James the Just, he was the first head of the church in Jerusalem and is the credited author of works as diverse as the canonical Epistle of James and the amazing Infancy Gospel of James, which tells the story of Mary’s childhood up to the birth of Jesus, during which a midwife’s hand is burned off to test whether Mary is still a virgin.

If James the Less isn’t also James the Just, the only thing we know about him is that he was crucified in Egypt.

Jude, the Obscure

Throughout the Gospels, the Apostle Jude is given many names, including Thaddeus in Matthew and Mark (some manuscripts of Matthew even call him “Lebbaeus who was surnamed, Thaddeus). The Gospel of John emphasizes that he is not the same Judas as Judas Iscariot.

This difference is maintained in current times by referring to him as St. Jude or Judas Thaddeus rather than just Judas. Jude, like James the Less, may or may not be one of Jesus’ brothers (or “brothers”). If he is, he is most likely the author of the canonical Epistle of Jude, which claims to have been authored by James the Just’s brother.

Saint Jude
Saint Jude

Because of the misunderstanding between Judas Thaddeus and Judas Iscariot, St. Jude is known as the saint of lost causes. The notion is that Christians would be reluctant to pray to St. Jude for fear of mistakenly praying to Judas Iscariot, thus they would have to be desperate to call on Judas.

Because Jude and Bartholomew are said to be the first to bring Christianity to Armenia, they are both patron saints of that country. Instead, in the apocryphal Acts of Simon and Jude, Jude is paired with Simon the Zealot, and the two go to Persia, where they are both martyred. In art, Jude is usually shown clutching the ax that murdered him.

Simon, the What?

The name of the Apostle Simon appears just once in the Bible in various lists of the Twelve Apostles, thus all we know about him is his name. The issue is that even his name becomes muddled in translation. This Simon is known as Simon the Canaanite, Simon the Canaaean, or Simon the Zealot to distinguish him from Simon Peter.

the Apostle Simon the Zealot
Saint Simon

The issue was that Simon was neither from Canaan or Cana. This is a translation mistake since he is known by the Hebrew term “qanai,” which means “zealous,” referring to his other moniker, the Zealot. The difficulty with the name “Zealot” is that it has led many people to assume that this Simon lived in the first century A.D.

The Zealots were a political movement that sought to incite revolt against the Roman conquerors of Judea. The difficulty is that this movement did not emerge until several decades after the events in the Gospels. So, most likely, Simon the Zealot was just really, really into the Bible.

Outside of canon, there’s not much known about Simon: he’s supposed to have journeyed to Persia with Jude, where he was sawed in half. As a result, he is naturally the patron of those who observed things for a living.

Judas Iscariot, the Betrayer (or is he?)

Judas Iscariot (the name “Iscariot” is obscure; it could mean “man from Kerioth” or it could be related to the Latin word “Sicarius,” which means “assassin”) is one of history’s most famous villains, placed by Dante in Hell’s innermost circle, being eternally chewed on by Satan alongside the two men who betrayed Caesar.

Judas kisses Jesus
Judas kisses Jesus

He is, of course, so widely known for giving up Jesus to the Roman authorities — indicating his identity by kissing him — in return for 30 pieces of silver that the name “Judas” is still used in various situations to denote the treachery of any number of people, animals, or things.

Matthew says Judas regretted his betrayal and hanged himself, while the Acts of the Apostles says he used the silver to buy a field where he tripped and then exploded like a blood Gusher.

The reasons for Judas’ betrayal of Jesus remain unknown. According to Luke and John, he did it under the power of Satan; some recent interpretations suggest Judas was dissatisfied that Jesus was not a more militant political messiah.

silver coins
silver coins

The recently discovered Gospel of Judas, on the other hand, says that Judas was, in reality, Jesus’ most devoted disciple. It is said that because Jesus’ crucifixion was an essential step toward salvation, Jesus urged Judas to betray him so that his mission could be completed, and Judas voluntarily accepted the eternal stain on his character.

Conclusion The Untold Truth of the 12 Disciples

The untold truth of the 12 Disciples in summary shows how 12 men responded to the call to be disciples of Jesus.

They were Jews, illiterate commoners, and humble believers who gave up all to follow Christ. Jesus trained these guys to be leaders for three years. Jesus intended for the disciples to eventually take over and finish the job He had begun.

What we do know about Jesus is that He picked regular, unpolished individuals to be his apostles. They were the most frequent of the commons. They were farmers and fishermen from rural regions. Christ purposefully avoided the wealthy, aristocratic, and prominent individuals of society, instead favoring the dregs of society. That has always been the case in God’s economy. He exalts the humble and despises the arrogant.

Resources The Untold Truth of the 12 Disciples
Jesus and the disciples

Resources The Untold Truth of the 12 Disciples

https://www.grunge.com/158946/the-untold-truth-of-the-twelve-apostles/
https://truthbook.com/blog/religious-news/real-story-of-jesus-and-the-twelve
https://youtu.be/3KnoAwh9cCs
https://www.visionvideo.com/dvd/4656D/story-of-the-twelve-apostles
https://www.christianbook.com/the-story-of-the-12-apostles/pd/646560

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top Secured By miniOrange