The Apostles Untold Truth

La vérité indicible des 12 Disciples prouve qu'il n'est pas nécessaire d'assister régulièrement à une église chrétienne pour savoir que Jésus, que les chrétiens vénèrent comme le Fils de Dieu et le Sauveur du monde, avait 12 hommes qui l'ont suivi la plupart du temps. du temps et je l'ai écouté parler.

La vérité indicible des 12 Disciples prouve qu'il n'est pas nécessaire d'assister régulièrement à une église chrétienne pour savoir que Jésus, que les chrétiens vénèrent comme le Fils de Dieu et le Sauveur du monde, avait 12 hommes qui l'ont suivi la plupart du temps. du temps et je l'ai écouté parler.

Ils lui posaient aussi régulièrement des questions stupides pour qu'il puisse expliquer l'essence du Royaume de Dieu par de simples analogies. Ces 12 hommes sont communément appelés les disciples de Jésus, ce qui signifie simplement « étudiants », mais ils sont plus précisément appelés les Douze 12, ce qui signifie « ceux qui sont envoyés », parce qu'ils ont reçu une mission littérale de Dieu de prêcher. à tous les pays.

Alors que saint Paul est parfois considéré comme l'un des douze apôtres, il n'a jamais rencontré Jésus de son vivant. Et tandis que le traître notoire Judas Iscariot a été remplacé parmi lesles 12 apôtrespar Matthias, on n'a pas beaucoup parlé de Matthias. Donc, en regardant simplement les disciples nommés dans les évangiles, voici ce que nous savons et ce que nous ne savons pas - du canon, des apocryphes, de la tradition et d'ailleurs sur la vérité indicible des 12 Disciples de Jésus.

Simon Pierre, le Rocher

Simon, le fils de Jonas (ou Jean), mieux connu sous le surnom cool que Jésus lui a donné, Pierre, est probablement le plus célèbre des 12 apôtres, et peut-être le premier de Jésus. (Jésus l'a très probablement appelé Kapha en araméen, qui se traduit par « Pierre » en grec.)

Because both terms imply “rock,” his name is Simon “the Rock” John’s Son.) Peter is the subject of several notable episodes in the canonical Gospels, most notably the episode in which he (briefly) walks on water, the time he denied knowing Jesus three times, and the time he chopped off someone’s ear to save Jesus from being imprisoned.

Pierre était le premier chef de l'église primitive au moment où Jésus retourna au ciel ; pourCatholiques, il est le premier pape, et pour l'église orientale, il est le premier patriarche d'Antioche. Dans l'art, il est généralement représenté tenant des clés, une référence à la promesse de Jésus de lui donner les clés du Ciel et de la Terre. Dans l'art, il est communément associé à l'apôtre Paul ; vous pouvez faire la différence parce que Paul a une longue barbe de philosophe (et est généralement chauve) tandis que Peter a une courte barbe d'ouvrier.

Pour voir la fin de la vie de Pierre, vous devez vous tourner vers les Actes extracanoniques de Pierre, qui le montrent en train de mener une bataille mortelle de sorcier avec le maléfique Simon Magus avant d'être humilié par le fantôme de Jésus pour se rendre à Rome pour êtrecrucifié à l'envers, et maintenant une croix à l'envers s'appelle une croix de Saint-Pierre.

Andrew, le premier appelé

Bien que les informations sur Pierre ne manquent pas — dans les évangiles canoniques, dans les Actes des Apôtres, dans les deux lettres du Nouveau Testament qui portent son nom, et les nombreux livres extracanoniques qui portent son nom — il y a beaucoup moins à trouver sur son frère Andrew.

Les évangiles de Matthieu et Marc nous disent que Pierre et André (dont le nom vient du mot grec pour « virilité ») étaient des pêcheurs que Jésus a appelés à être des « pêcheurs d'hommes » ; l'Évangile de Jean ajoute qu'André et l'apôtre Jean étaient des disciples du cousin de Jésus Jean-Baptiste et qu'il fut le premier à reconnaître la divinité de Jésus.

saint andrew
Saint André

Pour cette raison, leL'Église orthodoxe l'appelle le premier appelé. Otherwise, apart from being mentioned by name as being present at important events, the only other major thing Andrew does in the canon is found in the kid with the loaves and fishes that Jesus uses to feed the five thousand.

En dehors du canon, cependant, les Actes d'Andrew nous disent qu'Andrew a accompli de grandes actions, notamment ressusciter des morts, vaincre par magie des armées entières par lui-même, échapper à des animaux sauvages, faire un avortement magique, convoquer un tremblement de terre et sauver un compagnon. Apôtre des cannibales. Selon la tradition, il étaitcrucified on an X-shaped cross, connue sous le nom de croix de Saint-André, comme celle que l'on trouve sur le drapeau écossais.

Jacques, le fils du tonnerre

james the greater
Guido Reni Saint James the Greater

Les frères Pierre et André n'étaient pas les seuls dans l'entourage de Jésus. James et John, les fils de Zébédée, qui sont également connus sous le nom de Sons of Thunder, sont encore plus connus en tant que couple, probablement en raison de leurtempérament rapide.

Pour se distinguer de l'autre apôtre nommé Jacques, Jacques est communément appelé Jacques le Majeur, « plus grand » impliquant qu'il était plus âgé (bien qu'il ait également un rôle plus important dans les évangiles). Jacques et Jean étaient également des pêcheurs convoqués par Jésus sur la plage, et ils semblaient être les principaux mecs de Jésus parmi les douze apôtres, avec Pierre.

Par exemple, lorsque Jésus s'est transformé en faisceaux de lumière et que l'esprit de Moïse est apparu, ces trois-là étaient les seuls présents. Jacques et Jean pensaient qu'ils étaient suffisamment importants pour être assis à côté de Jésus au ciel. (Jésus a dit : « Non. »)

Selon les Actes des Apôtres, le roi Hérode Agrippa fit tuer Jacques avec une épée, le faisantle premier des douze apôtres à être tué. En conséquence, il n'a eu aucune aventure post-canonique, mais cela ne veut pas dire qu'il n'y a pas de romans non canoniques qui lui sont crédités. Le plus important d'entre eux est le livre secret de Jacques, dans lequel Jésus révèle les mystères de la rédemption à Jacques et à Pierre après sa résurrection.

Jean, l'autre Fils du Tonnerre

Plusieurs noms du Nouveau Testament sont si répandus qu'il peut parfois être difficile de déterminer qui est qui. Des noms comme Marie, Simon, Jacques, Judas et Jean en font partie.

De nombreuses églises croient que Jean l'Apôtre, le fils de Zébédée et frère de Jacques, est la même personne que Jean l'Evangéliste (qui a écrit l'Evangile de Jean), Jean le Presbytre (qui [probablement] a écrit les trois épîtres de Jean dans le Nouveau Testament), Jean de Patmos (qui a écrit le Livre de l'Apocalypse) et la mystérieuse figure connue sous le nom de Disciple Jesus Lo.

saint john
Frans Hals Dutch Saint John the Evangelist

Mais ils peuvent être tous des personnes distinctes. À tout le moins, nous pouvons être certains que Jean-Baptiste est un individu distinct.

Selon la légende, Jean était le plus jeune des douze apôtres et leur a survécu à tous en raison d'une combinaison de sa jeunesse et du fait qu'il étaitjamais martyrisé, malgré plusieurs tentatives.

Selon les Actes non canoniques de Jean, quelqu'un a essayé d'empoisonner le vin de Jean, mais il a dissous le poison en bénissant sa coupe. (Ceci est généralement montré dans l'art par John tenant une tasse contenant un serpent.) Ses autres exploits incluent ressusciter un couple marié d'entre les morts, utiliser des balles mentales pour détruire un autel d'Artémis et forcer magiquement les puces à quitter son tapis jusqu'à ce qu'il ait fini de dormir .

Philip, le tueur de dragons et le convertisseur de chèvre

Une fois que vous avez dépassé les deux paires de frères parmi les douze apôtres, les autres disciples de Jésus commencent à disparaître à l'arrière-plan. Par exemple, Philippe (dont le nom grec se traduit par « l'homme aime les chevaux ») est répertorié comme venant de la ville natale de Pierre et André, présentant Jésus à un autre des douze apôtres, puis, comme, étant là à d'autres choses.

saint philip
Saint Philippe

Il avertit également Jésus qu'ils ne seraient jamais en mesure d'acheter suffisamment de nourriture pour servir 5 000 personnes (oups). C'est tout ce qu'on peut en dire. À partir de là, retracer sa biographie devient un peu plus difficile, car il y a un autre homme nommé Philippe l'évangéliste qui est souvent confondu avec lui.

Heureusement, les Actes de Philippe du IVe siècle aident à combler certaines lacunes sur ce qui est arrivé à Philippe après la fin du Nouveau Testament. Dans ce document, Philip se rend en Grèce, en Phrygie et en Syrie avec sa sœur biologique, Mariamne, et son frère spirituel, Bartholomew.

Au cours de ses voyages, il convertit une chèvre parlante et un léopard parlant au christianisme avant de vaincre un dragon. Cependant, il convertit la femme du magistrat incorrect, qui a Philip et Bartholomewexécuté sur des croix à l'envers. (La Croix de Philippe, d'autre part, est à l'envers.) Barthélemy est initialement libéré mais est également devenu un martyr.

Barthélemy, ou peut-être Nathanaël

Parce qu'il n'est mentionné que dans trois des quatre évangiles, l'apôtre Bartholomée a moins d'informations à son sujet dans les évangiles canoniques que la plupart des douze apôtres. L'évangile de Jean ne mentionne jamais un Barthélemy, mais plutôt un Nathanaël, que de nombreux universitaires croient être la même personne.

Cela s'explique en partie par le fait que Barthélemy n'est pas un nom légitime - cela signifie simplement "Fils de Talmai" - et l'autre raison principale est que dans les trois premiers évangiles, Barthélemy est généralement associé à Philippe, et Jean décrit Nathanaël comme Le copain de Philippe qu'il présente à Jésus.

saint bartholomew martyrdom
Saint Bartholomew Martyrdom

C'est à peu près tout ce que nous savons du canon, mais heureusement, la tradition post-canonique nous soutient une fois de plus. Les Questions de Barthélemy, un texte particulièrement étonnant, dépeint Bart comme le seul des douze apôtres disposé à poser à Jésus les questions difficiles après sa résurrection, et les réponses incluent Jésus épluchant le sol comme une couverture pour ouvrir un portail vers l'enfer et convoquant Satan pour que Barthélemy puisse marcher sur son cou, ainsi que le secret du premier rendez-vous de Dieu et de Marie.

Il existe plusieurs versions de sa mort, mais la plus connue est qu'il étaitécorché vifpar le roi d'Arménie, il est donc souvent représenté dans l'art tenant sa peau vide.

Thomas, le douteur et le jumeau

Thomas a survécu dans la mémoire publique beaucoup plus longtemps que la majorité des douze apôtres, grâce à un événement dans un seul évangile – Jean.

On l'appelle encore "doutant de Thomas” parce qu'il a déclaré qu'il ne croirait pas que Jésus était ressuscité s'il ne le voyait pas et ne sentait pas les trous de ses clous.

Thomas est également connu sous le nom grec Didymus; les deux noms impliquent "jumeau", donc nous pouvons supposer qu'il était un jumeau. Dont le jumeau, cependant, est inconnu.

doubting thomas
Saint-Thomas

Il existe une pléthore d'écrits apocryphes sur ou attribués à Thomas, y compris l'Évangile de Thomas, qui contient des paroles de Jésus très peu orthodoxes, et le célèbre Évangile de l'enfance de Thomas, qui décrit les expériences de Jésus dans son enfance.

Dans les Actes de Thomas,Thomas voyage en Inde(la zone avec laquelle il est le plus identifié même maintenant) et dirige mentalement un groupe de chiens et un lion pour manger un monsieur qui l'a giflé, puis affronte un dragon et de nombreux démons.

Selon la légende, c'est lui qui baptisa les Trois Rois et, après avoir converti le roi de l'Inde en ressuscitant son frère d'entre les morts, fut criblé de lances à mort. Cela semble assez fidèle pour un gars connu pour son manque de foi.

Matthieu, l'évangéliste et fisc

L'apôtre Matthieu est peut-être plus connu comme évangéliste que comme l'un des douze apôtres.

Le premier livre du Nouveau Testament porte son nom et l'Évangile de Matthieu aurait été écrit par lui.

Cependant, il ne fait pas grand-chose dans les évangiles eux-mêmes.

Selon l'évangile de Matthieu, il était untax collector(considéré comme plus salaud à l'époque qu'ils ne le sont maintenant) qui a abandonné son travail au milieu d'un quart de travail lorsque Jésus lui a demandé de sortir.

saint matthew
Saint Matthieu

Cette histoire est également racontée par Mark et Luke, mais leur percepteur d'impôts s'appelle Levi, donc la tradition veut que les deux noms se rapportent au même gars.

L'évangile de Jean ne fait aucune mention de Matthieu.

Malheureusement, Matthieu n'a pas d'expériences post-canoniques intéressantes, mais il est lié à de nombreuses œuvres non canoniques.

Parce que l'Évangile de Matthieu a été écrit pour un public juif, Matthieu est crédité de plusieurs évangiles du troisième siècle produits pour les chrétiens ethniquement juifs tels que les Nazaréens et les Ebionites.

Il y a aussi un évangile de l'enfance qui lui est attribué, bien qu'il s'agisse principalement d'un récit des évangiles de l'enfance les plus renommés de Thomas et James. On pense que Matthieu a été martyrisé, bien que personne ne sache comment ni où.

James, peut-être moins, peut-être juste

Jacques est l'un des noms les plus répandus et, par conséquent, les plus déroutants du Nouveau Testament. L'apôtre Jacques, fils d'Alphée, est très probablement, mais pas toujours, le même que Jacques le Moins (le plus jeune) décrit dans Matthieu et Marc.

Il pourrait être la personne pivot dans l'église primitive connue sous le nom de Jacques le Juste, également connu sous le nom de Jacques le Frère de Jésus.

Et, selon le type de religion que vous fréquentez, la façon dont vous interprétez le mot « frère » peut être très différente. (Selon les évangiles, Jésus avait au moins quatre frères : Jacques, Jude, José et Simon ; cependant, les églises qui croient en la virginité éternelle de Marie prétendent que « frère » dans ce contexte implique « cousin ».)

james the less
James the Less

Des légendes antérieures disaient qu'ils étaient les fils de Joseph d'un mariage antérieur.) Si Jacques, fils d'Alphée, est Jacques le Juste, il a été le premier chef de l'église à Jérusalem et est l'auteur crédité d'ouvrages aussi divers que l'épître canonique de Jacques et l'incroyable Infancy Gospel of James, qui raconte l'histoire de l'enfance de Marie jusqu'à la naissance de Jésus, au cours de laquelle la main d'une sage-femme est brûlée pour vérifier si Marie est toujours vierge.

Si James le Moins n'est pas aussi James le Juste, la seule chose que nous savons de lui, c'est qu'il étaitcrucified in Egypt.

Jude, l'Obscur

Tout au long des évangiles, l'apôtre Jude reçoit de nombreux noms, dont Thaddeus dans Matthieu et Marc (certains manuscrits de Matthieu l'appellent même «Lebbaeus qui a été surnommé Thaddeus). L'évangile de Jean souligne qu'il n'est pas le même Judas que Judas Iscariote.

Cette différence est maintenue dans les temps actuels en se référant à lui comme St. Jude ou Judas Thaddée plutôt que juste Judas. Jude, comme Jacques le Moins, peut ou non être l'un des frères (ou « frères ») de Jésus. S'il l'est, il est très probablement l'auteur de l'épître canonique de Jude, qui prétend avoir été rédigée par le frère de Jacques le Juste.

saint jude
Saint Jude

En raison du malentendu entre Judas Thaddée et Judas Iscariote, saint Jude est connu comme lesaint des causes perdues. L'idée est que les chrétiens seraient réticents à prier saint Jude de peur de prier par erreur Judas Iscariote, ils devraient donc être désespérés pour faire appel à Judas.

Parce que Jude et Barthélemy seraient les premiers à amener le christianisme en Arménie, ils sont tous deux les saints patrons de ce pays. Au lieu de cela, dans les Actes apocryphes de Simon et Jude, Jude est associé à Simon le Zélote, et les deux vont en Perse, où ils sont tous deux martyrisés. Dans l'art, Jude est généralement montréclutching the axequi l'a assassiné.

Simon, le Quoi ?

Le nom de l'apôtre Simon n'apparaît qu'une seule fois dans la Bible dans diverses listes des douze apôtres, donc tout ce que nous savons de lui est son nom. Le problème est que même son nom devient confus dans la traduction. Ce Simon est connu sous le nom de Simon le Cananéen, Simon le Cananéen ou Simon le Zélote pour le distinguer de Simon Pierre.

the apostle simon the zealot
Saint Simon

Le problème était que Simon n'était ni de Canaan ni de Cana. Il s'agit d'une erreur de traduction puisqu'il est connu sous le terme hébreu « qanai », qui signifie « zélé », en référence à son autre surnom, le Zélote. La difficulté avec le nom "Zélote" est qu'il a conduit beaucoup de gens à supposer que ce Simon a vécu au premier siècle de notre ère.

Les Zélotes étaient un mouvement politique qui cherchait à inciter à la révolte contre les conquérants romains de Judée. La difficulté est que ce mouvement n'est apparu que plusieurs décennies après les événements des évangiles. Donc, très probablement, Simon le Zélote était juste vraiment, vraiment dans la Bible.

En dehors du canon, on ne sait pas grand-chose sur Simon : il est censé avoir voyagé en Perse avec Jude, où il étaitscié en deux. En conséquence, il est naturellement le patron de ceux qui ont observé les choses pour gagner leur vie.

Judas Iscariot, le traître (ou l'est-il ?)

Judas Iscariot (le nom « Iscariote » est obscur ; cela pourrait signifier « homme de Kerioth » ou il pourrait être lié au mot latin « Sicarius », qui signifie « assassin ») est l'un des méchants les plus célèbres de l'histoire, placé par Dante dans Le cercle intime de l'enfer, éternellement mâché par Satan aux côtés des deux hommes qui ont trahi César.

judas kisses jesus
Judas embrasse Jésus

Il est, bien sûr, si largement connu pour avoir livré Jésus aux autorités romaines - indiquant son identité en l'embrassant - en échange de 30 pièces d'argent que le nom "Judas" est encore utilisé dans diverses situations pour désigner la trahison de tout nombre de personnes, d'animaux ou de choses.

Matthieu dit que Judas a regretté sa trahison ets'est pendu, tandis que les Actes des Apôtres disent qu'il a utilisé l'argent pour acheter un champ où il a trébuché puis a explosé comme un sang jaillissant.

Les raisons de la trahison de Jésus par Judas restent inconnues. Selon Luc et Jean, il l'a fait sous le pouvoir de Satan ; certaines interprétations récentes suggèrent que Judas n'était pas satisfait que Jésus ne soit pas un messie politique plus militant.

silver coins
silver coins

L'évangile de Judas récemment découvert, d'autre part, dit que Judas était, en réalité, le disciple le plus dévoué de Jésus. On dit que parce que la crucifixion de Jésus était une étape essentielle vers le salut, Jésus a exhorté Judas à le trahir afin que sa mission puisse être accomplie, et Judas a volontairement accepté la tache éternelle sur son caractère.

Conclusion La vérité indicible des 12 disciples

La vérité indicible des 12 Disciples en résumé montre comment 12 hommes ont répondu à l'appel à être disciples de Jésus.

C'étaient des Juifs, des roturiers analphabètes et d'humbles croyants qui ont tout abandonné pour suivre le Christ. Jésus a formé ces gars à être des leaders pendant trois ans. Jésus avait l'intention que les disciples finissent par prendre la relève et terminer le travail qu'il avait commencé.

What we do know about Jesus is that He picked regular, unpolished individuals to be his apostles. They were the most frequent of the commons. They were farmers and fishermen from rural regions. Christ purposefully avoided the wealthy, aristocratic, and prominent individuals of society, instead favouring the dregs of society. That has always been the case in God’s economy. He exalts the humble and despises the arrogant.

resources the untold truth of the 12 disciples
Jesus and the disciples

Ressources La vérité indicible des 12 disciples

Faites défiler jusqu'à Haut Sécurisé par miniOrange

The Untold Truth of the Apostles

The untold truth of the 12 Disciples proves you don’t have to be a regular attendee of a Christian church to know that Jesus, whom Christians worship as the Son of God and Savior of the World, famously had 12 men who followed him around most of the time and listened to him talk.

They also regularly asked him stupid questions so he could explain the essence of God’s Kingdom in simple analogies. These 12 men are commonly referred to as Jesus’ disciples, which simply means “students,” but they are more appropriately referred to as the Twelve 12, which means “those sent forth,” because they were given a literal mission from God to preach to all countries.

While St. Paul is sometimes referred to be one of the Twelve Apostles, he never met Jesus during his lifetime. And while notorious traitor Judas Iscariot was replaced among the 12 Apostles by Matthias, much wasn’t said about Matthias. So, just looking at the disciples named in the Gospels, here’s what we know and what we don’t — from canon, Apocrypha, tradition, and elsewhere about the untold truth of 12 Disciples of Jesus.

Simon Peter, the Rock

Simon, the son of Jonah (or John), better known by the cool moniker Jesus gave him, Peter, is probably the most renowned of the 12 Apostles, and possibly Jesus’ first. (Jesus most likely called him Kapha in Aramaic, which translates as “Peter” in Greek.)

Because both terms imply “rock,” his name is Simon “the Rock” John’s Son.) Peter is the subject of several notable episodes in the canonical Gospels, most notably the episode in which he (briefly) walks on water, the time he denied knowing Jesus three times, and the time he chopped off a someone’s ear to save Jesus from being imprisoned.

Peter was the first head of the early church by the time Jesus returned to Heaven; for Catholics, he is the first pope, and for the Eastern church, he is the first Patriarch of Antioch. In art, he is usually shown clutching keys, a reference to Jesus’ promise to give him the keys to Heaven and Earth. In art, he is commonly paired with the Apostle Paul; you can tell the difference because Paul has a long philosopher’s beard (and is typically bald) while Peter has a short working man’s beard.

To see the end of Peter’s life, you have to turn to the extracanonical Acts of Peter, which shows him having a deadly wizard battle with the evil Simon Magus before being shamed by the ghost of Jesus into going to Rome to be crucified upside-down, and now an upside-down cross is called a Cross of St. Peter.

Andrew, the First-Called

While there is no shortage of information to be found about Peter — in the canonical Gospels, in the Acts of the Apostles, in the two New Testament letters that bear his name, and the numerous extracanonical books that bear his name — there is considerably less to be found about his brother Andrew.

The Gospels of Matthew and Mark tell us that Peter and Andrew (whose name comes from the Greek word for “manliness”) were fishermen that Jesus called to be “fishers of men”; the Gospel of John adds that Andrew and the Apostle John were followers of Jesus’ cousin John the Baptist and he was the first to recognize Jesus’ divinity.

Saint Andrew
Saint Andrew

For this reason, the Orthodox Church calls him the First-Called. Otherwise, apart from being mentioned by name as being present at important events, the only other major thing Andrew does in the canon is found the kid with the loaves and fishes that Jesus uses to feed the five thousand.

Outside of canon, however, the Acts of Andrew tells us that Andrew went on to perform great deeds, including raising the dead, magically defeating entire armies by himself, escaping wild animals, doing a magical abortion, summoning an earthquake, and rescuing a fellow Apostle from cannibals. According to tradition, he was crucified on an X-shaped cross, known as a St. Andrew’s Cross, like the one found on the Scottish flag.

James, the Son of Thunder

Saint James the Greater
Saint James the Greater

The brother’s Peter and Andrew were not the only ones in Jesus’ entourage. Even more well-known as a pair are James and John, Zebedee’s sons, who are also known as the Sons of Thunder, probably due to their quick tempers.

To distinguish himself from the other apostle named James, James is commonly referred to as James the Greater, with “greater” implying that he was older (though he also has a more significant role within the Gospels). James and John were also fishermen summoned by Jesus on the beach, and they appeared to be Jesus’ primary dudes among the Twelve Apostles, along with Peter.

For example, when Jesus changed into beams of light and the spirit of Moses appeared, those three were the only ones present. James and John thought they were significant enough to be seated next to Jesus in Heaven. (Jesus said, “No.”)

According to the Acts of the Apostles, King Herod Agrippa had James slain with a sword, making him the first of the Twelve Apostles to be killed. As a result, he had no post-canonical adventures, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t non-canonical novels credited to him. The most prominent of them is the Secret Book of James, in which Jesus discloses the mysteries of redemption to James and Peter after his resurrection.

John, the other Son of Thunder

the Apostle John
Saint John

Several New Testament names are so prevalent that it can be difficult to determine who’s who at times. Names like Mary, Simon, James, Judas, and John are among them.

Many churches believe that John the Apostle, the son of Zebedee and brother of James, is the same person as John the Evangelist (who wrote the Gospel of John), John the Presbyter (who [probably] wrote the three Epistles of John in the New Testament), John of Patmos (who wrote the Book of Revelation), and the mysterious figure known as the Disciple Jesus Lo.

But they may be all distinct persons. At the very least, we may be certain that John the Baptist is a distinct individual.

According to legend, John was the youngest of the Twelve Apostles and outlived all of them due to a combination of his youth and the fact that he was never martyred, despite several attempts.

According to the non-canonical Acts of John, someone tried to poison John’s wine, but he dissolved the poison by blessing his cup. (This is usually shown in art by John holding a cup containing a snake.) His other exploits include resurrecting a married couple from the dead, using mind bullets to destroy an Artemis altar, and magically forcing fleas to leave his mat until he’s finished sleeping.

Philip, the Dragonslayer, and Goat-Converter

Once you’ve passed the two pairs of brothers among the Twelve Apostles, the other disciples of Jesus begin to fade into the background. For example, Philip (whose Greek name translates as “the man likes horses”) is listed as coming from Peter and Andrew’s hometown, presenting Jesus to another of the Twelve Apostles, and then, like, being there at other things.

Saint Philip
Saint Philip

He also warns Jesus that they would never be able to purchase enough food to serve 5,000 people (whoops). That’s all there is to it. From then, tracing his biography becomes a bit more difficult, as there’s another man named Philip the Evangelist who is often confused with him.

Fortunately, the fourth-century Acts of Philip assist to fill in some gaps about what occurred to Philip after the New Testament ended. In it, Philip goes to Greece, Phrygia, and Syria with his biological sister, Mariamne, and spiritual brother, Bartholomew.

During his journeys, he converts a talking goat and a talking leopard to Christianity before defeating a dragon. However, he converts the incorrect magistrate’s wife, who has Philip and Bartholomew executed on upside-down crosses. (The Cross of Philip, on the other hand, is upside down.) Bartholomew is initially liberated but became a martyr as well.

Bartholomew, or maybe Nathanael

Because he is only mentioned in three of the four Gospels, the Apostle Bartholomew has less information about him in the canonical Gospels than most of the Twelve Apostles. The Gospel of John never mentions a Bartholomew, but rather a Nathanael, whom many academics believe to be the same person.

Part of the reason for this is that Bartholomew isn’t a legitimate name — it simply means “Son of Talmai” — and the other primary reason is that in the first three Gospels, Bartholomew is usually associated with Philip, and John describes Nathanael as Philip’s buddy whom he presents to Jesus.

Saint Bartholomew Martyrdom
Saint Bartholomew Martyrdom

That’s about all we know from canon, but thankfully, post-canonical tradition has our back once more. The Questions of Bartholomew, a particularly amazing text, depicts Bart as the only one of the Twelve Apostles willing to ask Jesus the tough questions after his resurrection, and the answers include Jesus peeling back the ground like a blanket to open a portal to Hell and summoning Satan so Bartholomew can step on his neck, as well as the secret of God and Mary’s first date.

There are several versions of his death, but the most well-known is that he was flayed alive by the King of Armenia, hence he is often portrayed in art holding his empty skin.

Thomas, the Doubter and the Twin

Saint Thomas
Saint Thomas

Thomas has survived in public memory considerably longer than the majority of the Twelve Apostles, thanks to one event in one Gospel – John.

We still refer to him as “doubting Thomas” because he stated that he would not believe Jesus had been resurrected unless he saw him and felt his nail holes.

Thomas is also known by the Greek name Didymus; both names imply “twin,” therefore we may assume he was a twin. Whose twin, however, is unknown.

There is a plethora of apocryphal writings about or attributed to Thomas, including the Gospel of Thomas, which contains some highly unorthodox Jesus sayings, and the renowned Infancy Gospel of Thomas, which describes Jesus’ experiences as a kid.

In the Acts of Thomas, Thomas journeys to India (the area with which he is most identified even now) and mentally directs a group of hounds and a lion to eat a gentleman who slapped him, then confronts a dragon and numerous demons.

According to legend, he is the one who baptized the Three Kings and, after converting the King of India by resurrecting his brother from the dead, was riddled to death with spears. Sounds pretty loyal for a guy most famous for lacking faith.

Matthew, the Evangelist and Taxman

Saint Matthew
Saint Matthew

The Apostle Matthew is perhaps more known as an evangelist than as one of the Twelve Apostles.

The first book of the New Testament is named after him, and the Gospel of Matthew is said to have been written by him.

However, he does not do much in the Gospels themselves.

According to Matthew’s Gospel, he was a tax collector (considered scummier back then than they are now) who abandoned his work in the middle of a shift when Jesus asked him to hang out.

This tale is told by Mark and Luke as well, but their tax collector is named Levi, thus tradition holds that the two names relate to the same guy.

The Gospel of John makes no mention of Matthew.

Unfortunately, Matthew does not have any interesting post-canon experiences, but he is linked with a lot of non-canonical works.

Because the Gospel of Matthew was written for a Jewish audience, Matthew is credited with several third-century gospels produced for ethnically Jewish Christians such as the Nazarenes and Ebionites.

There is also an Infancy Gospel ascribed to him, although it is mainly a retelling of Thomas and James’ more renowned Infancy Gospels. Matthew is thought to have been martyred, although no one knows how or where.

James, maybe Less, maybe Just

James the Lesser
James the Lesser

James is one of the most prevalent and, as a result, most perplexing names in the New Testament. The Apostle James, son of Alphaeus, is most likely, although not always, the same as the James the Less (younger) described in Matthew and Mark.

He might be the pivotal person in the early church known as James the Just, also known as James the Brother of Jesus.

And, depending on the type of religion you attend, how you interpret the word “brother” may differ greatly. (According to the Gospels, Jesus had at least four brothers: James, Jude, Joses, and Simon; however, churches that believe in Mary’s everlasting virginity claim that “brother” in this context implies “cousin.”)

Earlier legends said they were Joseph’s sons from a prior marriage.) If James, son of Alphaeus, is James the Just, he was the first head of the church in Jerusalem and is the credited author of works as diverse as the canonical Epistle of James and the amazing Infancy Gospel of James, which tells the story of Mary’s childhood up to the birth of Jesus, during which a midwife’s hand is burned off to test whether Mary is still a virgin.

If James the Less isn’t also James the Just, the only thing we know about him is that he was crucified in Egypt.

Jude, the Obscure

Throughout the Gospels, the Apostle Jude is given many names, including Thaddeus in Matthew and Mark (some manuscripts of Matthew even call him “Lebbaeus who was surnamed, Thaddeus). The Gospel of John emphasizes that he is not the same Judas as Judas Iscariot.

This difference is maintained in current times by referring to him as St. Jude or Judas Thaddeus rather than just Judas. Jude, like James the Less, may or may not be one of Jesus’ brothers (or “brothers”). If he is, he is most likely the author of the canonical Epistle of Jude, which claims to have been authored by James the Just’s brother.

Saint Jude
Saint Jude

Because of the misunderstanding between Judas Thaddeus and Judas Iscariot, St. Jude is known as the saint of lost causes. The notion is that Christians would be reluctant to pray to St. Jude for fear of mistakenly praying to Judas Iscariot, thus they would have to be desperate to call on Judas.

Because Jude and Bartholomew are said to be the first to bring Christianity to Armenia, they are both patron saints of that country. Instead, in the apocryphal Acts of Simon and Jude, Jude is paired with Simon the Zealot, and the two go to Persia, where they are both martyred. In art, Jude is usually shown clutching the ax that murdered him.

Simon, the What?

The name of the Apostle Simon appears just once in the Bible in various lists of the Twelve Apostles, thus all we know about him is his name. The issue is that even his name becomes muddled in translation. This Simon is known as Simon the Canaanite, Simon the Canaaean, or Simon the Zealot to distinguish him from Simon Peter.

the Apostle Simon the Zealot
Saint Simon

The issue was that Simon was neither from Canaan or Cana. This is a translation mistake since he is known by the Hebrew term “qanai,” which means “zealous,” referring to his other moniker, the Zealot. The difficulty with the name “Zealot” is that it has led many people to assume that this Simon lived in the first century A.D.

The Zealots were a political movement that sought to incite revolt against the Roman conquerors of Judea. The difficulty is that this movement did not emerge until several decades after the events in the Gospels. So, most likely, Simon the Zealot was just really, really into the Bible.

Outside of canon, there’s not much known about Simon: he’s supposed to have journeyed to Persia with Jude, where he was sawed in half. As a result, he is naturally the patron of those who observed things for a living.

Judas Iscariot, the Betrayer (or is he?)

Judas Iscariot (the name “Iscariot” is obscure; it could mean “man from Kerioth” or it could be related to the Latin word “Sicarius,” which means “assassin”) is one of history’s most famous villains, placed by Dante in Hell’s innermost circle, being eternally chewed on by Satan alongside the two men who betrayed Caesar.

Judas kisses Jesus
Judas kisses Jesus

He is, of course, so widely known for giving up Jesus to the Roman authorities — indicating his identity by kissing him — in return for 30 pieces of silver that the name “Judas” is still used in various situations to denote the treachery of any number of people, animals, or things.

Matthew says Judas regretted his betrayal and hanged himself, while the Acts of the Apostles says he used the silver to buy a field where he tripped and then exploded like a blood Gusher.

The reasons for Judas’ betrayal of Jesus remain unknown. According to Luke and John, he did it under the power of Satan; some recent interpretations suggest Judas was dissatisfied that Jesus was not a more militant political messiah.

silver coins
silver coins

The recently discovered Gospel of Judas, on the other hand, says that Judas was, in reality, Jesus’ most devoted disciple. It is said that because Jesus’ crucifixion was an essential step toward salvation, Jesus urged Judas to betray him so that his mission could be completed, and Judas voluntarily accepted the eternal stain on his character.

Conclusion The Untold Truth of the 12 Disciples

The untold truth of the 12 Disciples in summary shows how 12 men responded to the call to be disciples of Jesus.

They were Jews, illiterate commoners, and humble believers who gave up all to follow Christ. Jesus trained these guys to be leaders for three years. Jesus intended for the disciples to eventually take over and finish the job He had begun.

What we do know about Jesus is that He picked regular, unpolished individuals to be his apostles. They were the most frequent of the commons. They were farmers and fishermen from rural regions. Christ purposefully avoided the wealthy, aristocratic, and prominent individuals of society, instead favoring the dregs of society. That has always been the case in God’s economy. He exalts the humble and despises the arrogant.

Resources The Untold Truth of the 12 Disciples
Jesus and the disciples

Resources The Untold Truth of the 12 Disciples

https://www.grunge.com/158946/the-untold-truth-of-the-twelve-apostles/
https://truthbook.com/blog/religious-news/real-story-of-jesus-and-the-twelve
https://youtu.be/3KnoAwh9cCs
https://www.visionvideo.com/dvd/4656D/story-of-the-twelve-apostles
https://www.christianbook.com/the-story-of-the-12-apostles/pd/646560

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top Secured By miniOrange