Faits sur Saint-Jean

john 2 edited
Faits Apôtre Jean

Il y a Jean l'Apôtre des faits qui nous ont fait savoir qu'il a écrit plus sur l'amour que tout autre auteur du Nouveau Testament. Sa proximité avec Jésus lui a beaucoup appris sur l'amour.



Il a joué un rôle de premier plan dans l'église primitive de Jérusalem. Jean était le fils de Zébédée, un pêcheur galiléen, et de Salomé. Dans l'Évangile selon Marc, il est toujours mentionné après Jacques et était sans aucun doute le frère cadet. Sa mère faisait partie de ces femmes qui servaient le cercle des disciples

Il a été exilé sur l'île de Patmos sous Domitien, mais après sa mort, Jean a été autorisé à retourner à Éphèse où il a gouverné des églises en Asie jusqu'à sa mort vers 100 après JC.

apostle john logo
Saint John Emblem

Faits et symboles de Jean l'Apôtre

Le symbole de Jean est un serpent dans une tasse. Les sources traditionnelles prétendent que Jean était le seul apôtre à vivre une longue vie et à mourir de causes naturelles. Cela, cependant, ne veut pas dire qu'il n'a jamais été persécuté.

Les mêmes sources prétendent que les Romains ont essayé d'empoisonner Jean avec une coupe de vin. Quand cela n'a pas fonctionné, ils l'ont jeté dans une cuve d'huile bouillante. Comme il ne mourut toujours pas, ils l'exilèrent sur l'île de Patmos où il écrivit l'Apocalypse.

Jean a écrit plus de livres du Nouveau Testament que quiconque à l'exception de l'apôtre Paul. Son œuvre la plus importante était l'Évangile de Jean, qui est le plus mystique et le plus symbolique des évangiles. Il a également écrit l'Apocalypse, comme mentionné ci-dessus, et les trois lettres de Jean.

Anecdotes sur la Saint-Jean

Jean l'apôtre est souvent représenté comme un homme âgé avec une barbe blanche ou grise dans l'art byzantin ou comme un jeune imberbe dans l'art de l'Europe occidentale médiévale. Dans les peintures, les sculptures et la littérature médiévales, il est aussi souvent présenté comme une figure androgyne ou féminine.

Faits et miracles de Jean l'Apôtre

La version KJV de la Bible n'enregistre aucun miracle accompli par Jean. Cependant, dans les Actes, il est présent lorsque Pierre invoque le nom de Jésus pour guérir un boiteux. Les énormes contributions de Jean incluent l'Evangile de Jean, 1,2,3 Jean et le Livre des Révélations.

Le plus haut sommet du temps de Jean avec Jésus est discutable. Était-ce à la transfiguration de Jésus? Était-ce en étant le premier des disciples masculins à entrer dans le tombeau vide de Jésus ? Ou était-ce sa vision de la fin des temps ? Quant à moi, je et moi, je pense que le plus grand accomplissement de Jean pourrait bien avoir été confié par Jésus prendre soin de la mère de Jésus, Marie après la crucifixion du Christ.

Vie et mort tardives

Bien que l'on ne sache pas combien de temps Jean l'Apôtre est resté en Judée, lui et les autres disciples ont été dispersés dans les provinces de l'Empire romain alors qu'Hérode Agrippa commençait la persécution des chrétiens. Il s'occupa de la mère de Jésus jusqu'à l'Assomption de Marie, puis se rendit à Éphèse où il rédigea ses trois épîtres.

Selon l'écrivain chrétien Tertullien, pour avoir prêché l'évangile, les autorités romaines l'ont exilé sur l'île grecque de Patmos après l'avoir jeté dans de l'huile bouillante dont il s'est échappé indemne. Il a reçu la révélation du Christ à Patmos, où il a écrit le "Livre de l'Apocalypse".

Il est finalement retourné à Éphèse, où il est mort de vieillesse quelque temps après 98 de notre ère, et a été enterré dans l'actuelle Selçuk, en Turquie, où se trouve sa tombe. Alors que l'évêque Papias de Hiérapolis au début du IIe siècle a affirmé qu'il avait été tué par les Juifs, beaucoup doutent de l'authenticité de cette affirmation, certains affirmant qu'il s'agissait de Jean-Baptiste.

saint john the apostle
Saint John the Apostle

Commémoration liturgique

La jour de fête de la Saint Jean dans l'Église catholique romaine, qui l'appelle « Saint Jean, apôtre et évangéliste », et dans la Communion anglicane et les calendriers luthériens, qui l'appellent « Saint Jean apôtre et évangéliste », est le 27 décembre. Dans le calendrier tridentin, il était également commémoré chacun des jours suivants jusqu'au 3 janvier inclus, l'octave de la fête du 27 décembre. Cette Octave a été abolie par le Pape Pie XII en 1955. La couleur liturgique traditionnelle est le blanc.

Jusqu'en 1960, un autre jour de fête qui figurait dans le calendrier général romain est celui de « Saint Jean avant la porte latine », le 6 mai, célébrant une tradition racontée par Jérôme selon laquelle Saint Jean a été amené à Rome sous le règne de l'empereur Domitien, et a été jeté dans une cuve d'huile bouillante, d'où il fut miraculeusement préservé indemne. Une église (San Giovanni a Porta Latina) qui lui est dédiée a été construite près de la porte latine de Rome, lieu traditionnel de cet événement.

L'Église orthodoxe et les Églises catholiques orientales qui suivent le rite byzantin commémorent le « Repos du Saint-Apôtre et évangéliste Jean le Théologien » le 26 septembre. Le 8 mai, elles célèbrent la « Fête du Saint-Apôtre et évangéliste Jean le Théologien », date à laquelle les chrétiens puisaient de sa tombe de fines cendres réputées efficaces pour la guérison des malades.

D'autres chrétiens le vénèrent hautement mais ne canonisent ni ne vénèrent les saints

Prière à Saint Jean

prayer to saint john
O Glorious Apostle, who, on account of thy virginal purity, wasn’t so beloved by Jesus as to deserve to lay thy head upon his divine breast, and to be left, in his place, as a son to his most holy Mother; I beg thee to inflame me with a most ardent love towards Jesus and Mary.
Obtain for me from our Lord that I, too, with a heart purified from earthly affections, may be made worthy to be ever united to Jesus as a faithful disciple, and to Mary as a devoted son, both here on earth and eternally in heaven. Amen.

Conclusion Jean l'Apôtre Faits

Jean l'Apôtre était l'un des les douze apôtres de Jésus, aux côtés de son frère Jacques, selon le Nouveau Testament. Il est considéré comme le plus jeune des apôtres et le seul apôtre mort de vieillesse plutôt que d'être martyrisé. Il est également connu sous le nom de Jean l'évangéliste, le disciple bien-aimé, Jean de Patmos, Jean l'Ancien et Jean le Presbytère.

On pense qu'il est l'auteur de « l'Évangile de Jean », ainsi que de quatre autres livres du Nouveau Testament : les trois « Épîtres de Jean » et le « Livre de l'Apocalypse ». Certaines sources lui attribuent également le mérite d'avoir écrit le texte apocryphe pseudépigraphique intitulé « Actes de Jean » qui, bien qu'il contienne de forts thèmes docétiques, n'est pas considéré comme gnostique dans l'érudition moderne. Le 27 décembre est célébré comme la fête de la Saint-Jean.

Ressources Jean l'Apôtre Faits

Faites défiler jusqu'à Haut Sécurisé par miniOrange

Saint James the Greater Facts

john 2 edited
Facts Apostle John

There are John the Apostle facts that made us know that he wrote more about love than any other New Testament author. His proximity to Jesus taught him much about love.



He played a leading role in the early church in Jerusalem. John was the son of Zebedee, a Galilean fisherman, and Salome. In the Gospel According to Mark, he is always mentioned after James and was no doubt the younger brother. His mother was among those women who ministered to the circle of disciples

  • He was exiled to the island of Patmos under Domitian, but after his death, John was allowed to return to Ephesus where he governed churches in Asia until his death at about A.D. 100.

apostle john logo
Saint John

John the Apostle Facts and Symbols

John’s symbol is a snake in a cup. Traditional sources claim that John was the only apostle to live a long life and die of natural causes. That, however, doesn’t mean that he never faced persecution.

The same sources claim that the Romans tried to poison John with a cup of wine. When that didn’t work, they threw him into a vat of boiling oil. When he still didn’t die, they exiled him to the island of Patmos where he wrote Revelation.

John wrote more books of the New Testament than anyone except the apostle Paul. His most important work was the Gospel of John, which is the most mystical and symbolic of the gospels. He also wrote Revelation, as mentioned above, and the three letters of John.

St John Trivia

John the apostle is often depicted as an aged man with a white or grey beard in Byzantine art or as a beardless youth in the art of Medieval Western Europe. In Medieval paintings, sculptures and literature, he is also often presented as an androgynous or feminine figure.

John the Apostle facts and Miracles

The KJV of the Bible does not record any miracles done by John. However, in Acts, he is present when Peter invokes Jesus’ name to heal a lame man. John’s enormous contributions do include the Gospel of John, 1,2,3 John, and the Book of Revelations.

The highest pinnacle of John’s time with Jesus is debatable. Was it being at Jesus’ transfiguration? Was it at being the first of the male disciples to enter Jesus’ empty tomb? Or was it his vision of the End Times? As for me, I and I, me thinks John’s greatest accomplishment may well have been entrusted by Jesus to care for Jesus’ mother Mary after Christ’s crucifixion.

Later Life & Death

While it is unknown for how long John the Apostle stayed in Judea, he and the other disciples were scattered through the Roman Empire’s provinces as Herod Agrippa began the persecution of Christians. He took care of the mother of Jesus until the Assumption of Mary, and then went to Ephesus where he wrote his three epistles.

According to Christian writer Tertullian, for preaching the gospel, Roman authorities exiled him to the Greek island of Patmos after throwing him into boiling oil from which he escaped unscathed. He received the revelation from Christ in Patmos, where he wrote the ‘Book of Revelation’.

He eventually returned to Ephesus, where he died of old age sometime after 98 C.E., and was buried in modern-day Selçuk, Turkey, where his tomb is located. While early second-century bishop Papias of Hierapolis claimed that he was slain by the Jews, many doubt the authenticity of the claim, with some arguing that it was John the Baptist.

saint john the apostle
Saint John the Apostle

Liturgical commemoration

The feast day of Saint John in the Roman Catholic Church, which calls him “Saint John, Apostle and Evangelist”, and in the Anglican Communion and Lutheran Calendars, which call him “Saint John the Apostle and Evangelist”, is on 27 December. In the Tridentine Calendar, he was commemorated also on each of the following days up to and including 3 January, the Octave of the 27 December feast. This Octave was abolished by Pope Pius XII in 1955. The traditional liturgical color is white.

Until 1960, another feast day which appeared in the General Roman Calendar is that of “Saint John Before the Latin Gate” on May 6, celebrating a tradition recounted by Jerome that St John was brought to Rome during the reign of Emperor Domitian, and was thrown in a vat of boiling oil, from which he was miraculously preserved unharmed. A church (San Giovanni a Porta Latina) dedicated to him was built near the Latin gate of Rome, the traditional site of this event.

The Orthodox Church and those Eastern Catholic Churches which follow the Byzantine Rite commemorate the “Repose of the Holy Apostle and Evangelist John the Theologian” on September 26. On May 8 they celebrate the “Feast of the Holy Apostle and Evangelist John the Theologian”, on which date Christians used to draw forth from his grave fine ashes which were believed to be effective for healing the sick.

Other Christians highly revere him but do not canonize or venerate saints

Prayer to Saint John

prayer to saint john
O Glorious Apostle, who, on account of thy virginal purity, wasn’t so beloved by Jesus as to deserve to lay thy head upon his divine breast, and to be left, in his place, as a son to his most holy Mother; I beg thee to inflame me with a most ardent love towards Jesus and Mary.
Obtain for me from our Lord that I, too, with a heart purified from earthly affections, may be made worthy to be ever united to Jesus as a faithful disciple, and to Mary as a devoted son, both here on earth and eternally in heaven. Amen.

Conclusion John the Apostle Facts

John the Apostle was one of the Twelve Apostles of Jesus, alongside his brother James, according to the New Testament. He is believed to be the youngest of the apostles and the only apostle who died of old age rather than being martyred. He is also known as John the Evangelist, the Beloved Disciple, John of Patmos, John the Elder, and John the Presbyter.

He is believed to be the author of the ‘Gospel of John’, as well as four other books of the New Testament: the three ‘Epistles of John’ and the ‘Book of Revelation’. Some sources also credit him for writing the pseudepigraphical apocryphal text titled ‘Acts of John’ which, despite containing strong docetic themes, is not considered to be gnostic in modern scholarship. December 27 is observed as the feast day of Saint John.

Resources John the Apostle Facts

Scroll to Top Secured By miniOrange