Saint Jacques le Moins Caractéristiques

saint james the less
Caractéristiques de l'apôtre Jacques le mineur

Les caractéristiques de Saint Jacques le Moins ou Jacques le Jeune nous ont fait croire qu'il était l'un des derniers disciples appelés par Jésus.

Saint-Jacques le moins, l'auteur de la première épître catholique, était le fils d'Alphée de Cléophas.

Sa mère, Marie, était soit une sœur, soit une proche parente de la Sainte Vierge, et pour cette raison, selon la coutume juive, il était parfois appelé le frère du Seigneur.

Jacques le Moins est l'un des apôtres les plus obscurs de la Bible. Les seules choses dont nous sommes certains sont son nom et qu'il était présent dans la chambre haute de Jérusalem après que le Christ soit monté au ciel.

Dans Douze hommes ordinaires, John MacArthur suggère que son obscurité a pu être la marque distinctive de sa vie.

L'anonymat complet de James le Moins peut révéler quelque chose de profond sur son personnage parmi les caractéristiques de les 12 apôtres.

Apôtre Jacques le Moins caractéristiques

Obscurité

Il n'y a pas grand chose à dire sur Jacques, fils d'Alphée, sans supposer qu'il était aussi le frère de Jésus. Mais la Bible ne nous dit pas qu'il l'était. Cela ne nous dit rien sur lui en tant qu'individu.

La marque la plus distinctive de Jacques, le fils d'Alphée, est qu'il n'y a pas de marque distinctive ! Aucune de ses actions n'est jamais enregistrée. Et il n'y a pas une seule déclaration enregistrée qui ait jamais été faite dans aucun des évangiles.

Même si l'histoire des apôtres se poursuit dans le livre des Actes, nous ne lisons toujours rien de Jacques, le fils d'Alphée. C'était son lot d'être un disciple de fond. Et pourtant, il a toujours vu et expérimenté les miracles, les guérisons, les enseignements et la communion du Christ.

Il était peut-être inconnu, mais l'obscurité n'est pas un indicateur de l'état de la relation d'un homme avec Dieu.

characteristics of saint james the less
Characteristics of Saint James the Less

Faible foi

Malgré tout ce que Jacques a vécu en tant que disciple de Jésus, sa foi est restée faible jusqu'après la résurrection. Une fois, lorsque lui et son frère ont demandé à Jésus le privilège de s'asseoir à côté de lui dans la gloire, Jésus leur a promis seulement une part de ses souffrances (Marc 10 :35-45).

Ils apprenaient que le plus grand appel d'un serviteur de Jésus est de servir les autres. Jacques a découvert que suivre Jésus-Christ peut entraîner des difficultés, des persécutions et même la mort, mais la récompense est la vie éternelle avec lui au ciel.

Impétueux

Trois fois Jacques, Jean et Pierre ont été invités par Jésus à assister à des événements que personne d'autre n'a vus : la résurrection de la fille de Jaïrus d'entre les morts (Marc 5:37-47), la transfiguration (Matthieu 17:1-3), et l'agonie de Jésus dans le jardin de Gethsémané (Matthieu 26:36-37).

Mais James n'était pas au-dessus de faire des erreurs. Lorsqu'un village samaritain a rejeté Jésus, lui et Jean ont voulu faire descendre le feu du ciel sur l'endroit. Cela leur a valu le surnom de « Boanerges » ou « fils du tonnerre ».

La mère de Jacques et de Jean a également outrepassé ses limites, demandant à Jésus d'accorder à ses fils des positions spéciales dans son royaume.

Auteur

Selon la tradition, il a écrit l'épître de Jacques, prêcha en Palestine et en Egypte, et fut crucifié en Egypte. Jacques était l'un des disciples les moins connus. Certains érudits pensent qu'il était le frère de Matthieu, le percepteur des impôts. James était un homme au caractère fort et l'un des types les plus fougueux.

Son livre montre les difficultés qui troublaient les premiers membres de l'Église, telles que l'orgueil, la discrimination, la cupidité, la convoitise, l'hypocrisie, la mondanité et la médisance. Jacques écrit pour corriger ces maux en montrant que « la foi sans les œuvres est morte » (Jacques 2:26) ; c'est-à-dire que la simple profession de foi ne suffit pas.

Il réprimande les riches dans (Jacques 5:1-6), nous dit d'être patients et de prendre courage (Jacques 5:7-11), de ne pas jurer (Jacques 5:12), l'efficacité de la prière (Jacques 5:13 -18), et ramener un chrétien déchu à Christ (Jacques 5:19-20).

Fidélité

Jacques était un fidèle disciple de Jésus. Il avait des qualités personnelles exceptionnelles qui ne sont pas détaillées dans les Écritures parce que son caractère faisait de lui l'un des favoris de Jésus.

st. james the minor
St. James the Minor

Gestion

Jacques « le Moins » et Judas ont été affectés à la gestion des multitudes. C'était leur tâche de remplacer un nombre suffisant d'huissiers adjoints pour maintenir l'ordre dans les foules pendant la prédication.

Clé à emporter

Jacques, l'apôtre, était l'un des 12 apôtres originaux. Il était le fils d'un homme nommé Zébédée et le frère aîné de Jean l'Apôtre. James était pêcheur, tout comme son père et son frère.

Il fut l'un des premiers apôtres à être appelé par Jésus. Jésus a donné à Jean et Jacques le surnom de Boanerges, qui signifie « fils du tonnerre ». Avec Pierre et Jean, Jacques était un proche confident de Jésus, étant présent à de nombreux événements importants, y compris la résurrection de la fille de Jaïrus, la transfiguration de Jésus et l'agonie à Gethsémani.

Après avoir été battu à mort, une massue est presque immédiatement devenue son symbole. Cela a conduit à son patronage de foulons et de pharmaciens, qui utilisent tous deux des clubs dans leur profession. Il aurait passé tellement de temps en prière que ses genoux se sont épaissis et ressemblaient à ceux d'un chameau.

Peu de temps après la crucifixion, Jacques a dit qu'il jeûnerait jusqu'au retour du Christ ; Jésus ressuscité lui apparut et prépara un repas pour Jacques lui-même.

Résumé des caractéristiques de Saint Jacques le Moins

Ce Jacques est généralement identifié avec Jacques le Petit ou le Moins, le frère de Joseph et fils de Marie, MAT 27:56 ; 15 mars : 40. Dans chaque liste des apôtres, il est mentionné en neuvième position. On dit qu'il est le frère de Jude, JUD 1:1. Nous savons très peu de choses sur son passé, sauf que certains enseignent qu'il était connu pour son calme et son humilité.

He lived in Galilee with his brother Jude. Jude was also called to be a disciple by Jesus. Not much is known about James; little is mentioned in the Bible about him. However, he was known to be quite a fiery, boisterous person, the passion aiding him in spreading the Gospel. James preached all across Egypt and Palestine.

James, the son of Alphaeus, is not to be confused with James, the son of Zebedee. The two James are distinguished from each other by the name of their fathers. The four times that he appeared in the New Testament were in a list of the 12. He was eventually put in charge of the church of Jerusalem.

Ressources Caractéristiques de Saint James the Less

Faites défiler jusqu'à Haut Sécurisé par miniOrange

Saint James the Less Characteristics

saint james the less
Characteristics of Apostle James the Lesser

The characteristics of Saint James the Less or James the Younger made us believe he was one of the later disciples called by Jesus.

St. James the Less, the author of the first Catholic Epistle, was the son of Alphaeus of Cleophas.

His mother, Mary, was either a sister or a close relative of the Blessed Virgin, and for that reason, according to Jewish custom, he was sometimes called the brother of the Lord.

  • James the Less is one of the most obscure apostles in the Bible. The only things we know for certain are his name and that he was present in the upper room of Jerusalem after Christ ascended to heaven.

    In Twelve Ordinary Men, John MacArthur suggests that his obscurity may have been the distinguishing mark of his life.

James the Less’ complete anonymity may reveal something profound about his character among the characteristics of the 12 apostles.

Apostle James the Less characteristics

Obscurity

There’s not much we can say about James, son of Alphaeus, without assuming he was also the brother of Jesus. But the Bible doesn’t tell us he was. It doesn’t tell us anything about him as an individual.

The most distinguishing mark about James, the son of Alphaeus, is that there is no distinguishing mark! None of his actions is ever recorded. And there is not one recorded statement that ever made in any of the gospels.

Even as the apostles’ story is continued in the Book of Acts, we still read nothing of James, the son of Alphaeus. It was his lot to be a background disciple. And yet, he still saw and experienced the miracles, the healings, the teachings, and the fellowship of Christ.

He may have been unknown, but obscurity is not an indicator of the condition of a man’s relationship with God.

characteristics of saint james the less
Characteristics of Saint James the Less

Weak Faith

Despite everything James experienced as a disciple of Jesus, his faith remained weak until after the resurrection. Once, when he and his brother asked Jesus for the privilege of sitting beside him in glory, Jesus promised them only a share in his suffering (Mark 10:35–45).

They were learning that the greatest calling of a servant of Jesus is to serve others. James discovered that following Jesus Christ can lead to hardship, persecution, and even death, but the reward is eternal life with him in heaven.

Hot-headed

Three times James, John, and Peter were invited by Jesus to witness events no one else saw: the raising of the daughter of Jairus from the dead (Mark 5:37-47), the transfiguration (Matthew 17:1-3), and Jesus’ agony in the Garden of Gethsemane (Matthew 26:36-37).

But James was not above making mistakes. When a Samaritan village rejected Jesus, he and John wanted to call down fire from heaven upon the place. This earned them the nickname “Boanerges,” or “sons of thunder.”

The mother of James and John also overstepped her bounds, asking Jesus to grant her sons special positions in his kingdom.

Author

According to tradition, he wrote the Epistle of James, preached in Palestine and Egypt, and was crucified in Egypt. James was one of the little-known disciples. Some scholars believe he was the brother of Matthew, the tax collector. James was a man of strong character and one of the fieriest types.

His book shows the difficulties that were troubling the early church people, such as pride, discrimination, greed, lust, hypocrisy, worldliness, and backbiting. James writes to correct these evils by showing that “Faith without works is dead” (James 2:26); that is, the mere profession of faith is not enough.

He rebukes the rich in (James 5:1-6), tells us to be patient and take courage (James 5:7-11), not to swear (James 5:12), the effectiveness of prayer (James 5:13-18), and turning a fallen Christian back to Christ (James 5:19-20).

Loyalty

James was a loyal disciple of Jesus. He had outstanding personal qualities that are not detailed in Scripture because his character made him one of Jesus’ favourites.

st. james the minor
St. James the Minor

Management

James “the Less” and Judas were assigned to the management of the multitudes. It was their task to deputize a sufficient number of assistant ushers to maintain order among the crowds during the preaching.

Key Takeaway

James, the apostle, was one of the 12 original apostles. He was the son of a man named Zebedee and the older brother of John the Apostle. James was a fisherman, as were his father and brother.

He was one of the first apostles to be called by Jesus. Jesus gave John and James the surname of Boanerges, which means “sons of thunder.” Together with Peter and John, James was a close confidant of Jesus, being present at many important events, including the resurrection of the daughter of Jairus, Jesus’ transfiguration, and the agony in Gethsemane.

Having been beaten to death, a club almost immediately became his symbol. This led to his patronage of fullers and pharmacists, both of whom use clubs in their professions. He is reported to have spent so much time in prayer that his knees thickened and looked like a camel’s.

Soon after the Crucifixion, James said he would fast until Christ returned; the resurrected Jesus appeared to him and fixed a meal for James Himself.

Summary Characteristics of Saint James the Less

This James is generally identified with James the Little or the Less, the brother of Joseph and son of Mary, MAT 27:56; MAR 15:40. In each list of the apostles, he is mentioned in the ninth position. He is said to be the brother of Jude, JUD 1:1. We know very little of his background except that some teach that he was known for his quietness and humility.

He lived in Galilee with his brother Jude. Jude was also called to be a disciple by Jesus. Not much is known about James; little is mentioned in the Bible about him. However, he was known to be quite a fiery, boisterous person, the passion aiding him in spreading the Gospel. James preached all across Egypt and Palestine.

James, the son of Alphaeus, is not to be confused with James, the son of Zebedee. The two James are distinguished from each other by the name of their fathers. The four times that he appeared in the New Testament were in a list of the 12. He was eventually put in charge of the church of Jerusalem.

Resources Characteristics of Saint James the Less

Scroll to Top Secured By miniOrange